We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Su Merced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de hacienda Su Merced
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We wanted a hotel close to the new Quito airport. This one was about 15-20 mins drive from the airport, turning off before the bottleneck at the bridge going into Quito. It is situated in a very quiet neighborhood. And has lots of real antigues throughout the hotel. We were picked up at the airport, and met by the owner, Pablo. He gave us a tour of the hotel, showing off the antiques. We then had a very delicious dinner prepared on sight. Breakfast the next morning was part of the price, followed by the transfer back to the airport. Wish we had more time to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rocky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Casa de hacienda Su Merced
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our travel company booked our stay at this hacienda in order to be assured of making a 7 AM outbound flight. All of the reviews are correct. Su Merched is not in Quito or close to anything except the airport. Our ride took 20 minutes on almost all four-laned freeway - and this is important. My trip into Quito took an hour and twenty minutes due to rain - and it rains frequently in Quito. When the new north route to the airport opens in July or August 2014, staying in Quito may be less risky for catching flights.
This home is amazing and it's so much fun to see what it is like behind the high fences and gates seen in the nicer neighborhoods. Expansive, well maintained gardens, OLD beautiful home and out buildings, a private chapel, eclectic furnishings, overall nice conversion of rooms for weary travelers and hospitality.
However, despite all the positives, it's important to recognize that this is not a western-style hotel. We stayed in November and the rooms were chilly (65 degrees) and some furnishings were straight-backed and uncomfortable because of their age. There were scented candles burning, but there is still the scent of age in the air. Wi Fi was slow and frequently disconnected, even in the "lobby" area. But the owner was happy to print our boarding passes and confirm our flight time on his "wired" laptop.
Overall, it was a fun, almost cultural experience to spend a few hours with Elizabeth and her family in their home.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main house. You will have more time to admire the home and you won't be c...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortlandKLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We picked Su Merced because of the proximity to Quito Airport. When we arrived we were stunned by the rich history and amazing restoration of this 300+ year old house. We had a meal in the original kitchen that was the best one we had in over 2 weeks of travel. To top it off, the 3 course meal was only $16 each.
Pablo and Antonio (the chef) are obviously very proud of the work they have done restoring the place. I recommend staying there before they realize that they could charge $250 per night.
Only thing I could probably fault is that the location is hard for a cab driver to find and there is nothing to see outside of their beautiful grounds (not that you would want to leave)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Axcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a beautiful place, by candlelight. We arrived late and still were served a wonderful dinner. We would definitely recommend having a meal here if you get the chance. Unfortunately we had to leave early to catch our flight (from the new airport, which is only 10 minutes away) and so we didn't get to enjoy the grounds. Power was out in the morning because of a nearby forest fire, but the manager was good enough to come and wake us, providing flashlights so we could pack and serving coffee by candlelight in the old hacienda's lovely kitchen turned dining area. The manager Pablo was very hospitable and helpful, even printing our boarding passes for us when flight arrangements changed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Islanderjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked Su Merced on our way back from the Galapagos since it was close to the airport and we had an early flight. It is very close and only took 17 minutes to the airport compared to the 1 hour plus trip from the Old Town area.... When we arrived my wife and I were both taken aback by how stunningly beautiful this 300 year old hacienda was. We agree other reviewers that Pablo makes you feel like house guest. Wished we could have stayed a day or two to enjoy the property and its quiet gardens and unwind from our trip....do yourself a favor and don't miss this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trashedtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This renovated hacienda is a gem! We were the only guests the night we stayed and got a full tour of the buildings and grounds. The decorations in each guest room reflect different themes and feature the paintings of a local artist who is a friend of the owners. We weren’t able to take advantage of the lawn chairs amid the garden or the game room but did have dinner on site. The meal was fantastic: three large courses of delicious food including the chef’s signature dish: chicken in mushroom sauce. It was a short drive to and from the airport, making it a very convenient location for our early morning flight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

There is a reasonable rate available for single travelers through booking.com. The property is stunning, a converted hacienda and stables (I was in the stable building, the same night as NickRock below...Hi NickRock!). I actually used this hotel twice, once for a stopover on the way to the east slope birding lodges (Cabanas San Isidro and Guango) and the second for the night before my departure. The first night we did not have the car alarm problem, but it did happen on the second. I was told it is actually on a neighbor's property. It did not disrupt my sleep. Perhaps ear plugs should be added to the rooms just in case? One of the owners, Pablo, was there for both my stays and as others have mentioned he speaks English and is a great guy. He is he one who takes you to the airport at 6 am, no worries about taxi drivers. We left at 6:15 am for my 8:40 am flight and I had over an hour to kill before boarding. However I had the instructions from the website and the street number (12), taxi drivers from Quito were able to find it. The wifi works in the lobby, not the stable rooms. Pablo printed out my boarding pass the evening before the flight. Great bathrooms with 24/7 hot water, nice towels and comfortable beds. Good security. Be sure to ask for a tour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puembo
0.8 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.7 mi away
Quito Polo Club Airport Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Quito Airport
Wyndham Quito Airport
#14 of 111 in Quito
717 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hosteria Rincon de Puembo
0.9 mi away
Zaysant Ecolodge
Zaysant Ecolodge
#2 of 8 in Puembo
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de hacienda Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de hacienda Su Merced

Address: Julio Tobar Donoso, Puembo, Quito EC, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito > Puembo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Puembo
Price Range: £87 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de hacienda Su Merced 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 minutes from Quito Ecuador Airport, and 40 minutes from Quito, is the CASA DE HACIENDA SU MERCED, a sixteenth century adobe house, with more than 400 years of history, totally restored and decorated by us and The help of our family and friends. The 10 rooms are located on the first floor, set in different periods and themes: Bronze Age, Moonlight, Roots, Memories, Pink Life, Inn, Sailboat, Honeymoon, Hummingbird and Matrimonial. All with private bath, double beds, personal cleaning supplies, hair dryer and more accessories. A varied and rich breakfast is included with the accommodation. We also have a bar-kitchen, where you can taste tasty homemade dishes, elaborated with much affection and typical products of the area and the season. There are ample common areas: games room, beautiful gallery of old objects, living room with fireplace and large courtyards and gardens where hummingbirds and honeycombs are your daily visitors. Casa de Hacienda Su Merced is the ideal place to spend a few days of tranquility and rest, ideal to explore Quito's historic center, this small space, where rest meets nature, is also a starting point and arrival To travel to the indigenous markets of the highlands, or to remote cities in the jungle, or visit the warm Pacific beaches, or fly to a meeting with the Galapagos Islands, easy accessibility and the short time the passenger requires to move from One region to another makes our stay a destination desired by the visitor. We offer Wi-Fi, luggage storage, baby cots, parking, tourist information and pick up from the airport to the hotel for FREE. You can pay by credit card or cash, we have a bar-kitchen and we organize your tours to the place you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa de hacienda Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing