We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, food not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de hacienda Su Merced
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great choice if you need something near the airport. It is very peaceful, you can see hummingbirds flying around the garden. The hacienda house is absolutely amazing. They prepare dinner for you if you require, but the food is very basic and not worth the price, specially if you want a glass of wn¿ine with dinner.

Room Tip: The rooms inside the main house are nicer, but they are all beautiful. The ones around the garden ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Su Merced for just 1 night for convenience for an early morning flight, and would definitely recommend it. It is a beautifully and quirkily restored ranch, with really friendly owners. We had an interesting tour of all the buildings and terrific home cooked food. There are games provided too so perfect for the last few hours before a flight. With so many holidays here involving flights to the Galapagos and Amazon, this is a perfect spot to avoid the long journey into Quito.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a super night here. Quirky, friendly and convenient for the new airport in Quito. If you don't want to be in Quito centre this is the place for you. Set in a street of modern private houses, this building is full of character. It was atmospheric and relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I booked this B&B because it was close to the airport, and since our flight was delayed from Galapagos, then the taxi driver got lost, we arrived quite late to Su Merced. I knew we were somewhere special when the host had arranged to have an English-speaking assistant to help with the language (our Spanish is pathetic). The host spoke English well enough, but it is that level of concern for our comfort that makes this place stand out.
Our room was beautifully decorated with antiques, the bathroom was very large and fully appointed, and the bed, well, we had the best night's sleep of the whole trip. Plus, there were snacks in the room. :)
They easily accommodated my vegetarian diet (my husband is not vegetarian) for both dinner and breakfast the next morning. The meals were generous and wholesome, and we ate everything served, it was so good.
The grounds are so photographic - who takes pictures of a hotel? You will, when you stay there. I am not including any photos so that you, too, can also be amazed to see the property, which was an old Hacienda converted to a B&B.
My husband loved relaxing in a hammock while waiting the next day to be taken to the airport. It is a quiet and relaxing location, listening to the birds chirping and admiring the lovely landscaping. There are so many flowers. Be sure to take a tour of the property; I really enjoyed seeing the old family chapel, which is also graciously available to guests.
We look forward to staying at Su Merced when traveling to Quito.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had spent a 10 days in Cuenca and wanted to be in Quito the day before our flight back to the USA from Quito. We arrived early in the day and spent the night in a lovely room with the most charming antiques. The window lock and bathroom door lock were original I am sure! Our flight out of Quito was not until midnight so we spent the day enjoying the wonderful hospitality of the staff, playing pool in their well equiped game room. There is a chess table, pool table, foosball table, darts, a large TV, pleanty to keep one occupied. They kindly stored our luggage for us all day and kept offering us coffee or tea. We had dinner there a few hours before leaving for the airport. The same gentleman who picked us up and drove us back to the airport can be hired for trips/tours into Quito so it would be a nice place to stay for more than the overnight spot close to the airport. It is beautiful and peaceful. We loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our group of 7 stayed at the Su Merced for 2 nights before our Galapagos tour. Pablo and Esteban were wonderful helping me coordinate details via email prior to the trip. They took care of our airport to hotel transportation and had dinner waiting for us. The hotel was charming. The grounds were beautiful and the staff met our every need. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have absolutely no reservation about sending folks to this lovely B&B. It's perfect for getting in and out of the Quito airport with minimal fuss. Pablo and the staff spoil you from the moment you start working with them. The staff was amazing, the property full of charm and character, breakfast was very filling, and WiFi available if needed. Pablo helped us get the transportation to and from arranged ($5 each way cash) and we had no issues at all with the driver. I was glad to have him as the place is tucked away and finding it on our own would have taken too much brainpower. This place is such a gem!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gr8grapes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puembo
0.8 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Quito Airport
Wyndham Quito Airport
#14 of 113 in Quito
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quito Polo Club Airport Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hosteria Rincon de Puembo
1.3 mi away
Quito Airport Suites
Quito Airport Suites
#1 of 14 in Tababela
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de hacienda Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de hacienda Su Merced

Address: Julio Tobar Donoso, Puembo, Quito EC, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito > Puembo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Puembo
Price Range: £89 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de hacienda Su Merced 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 minutes from Quito Ecuador Airport, and 40 minutes from Quito, is the CASA DE HACIENDA SU MERCED, a sixteenth century adobe house, with more than 400 years of history, totally restored and decorated by us and The help of our family and friends. The 10 rooms are located on the first floor, set in different periods and themes: Bronze Age, Moonlight, Roots, Memories, Pink Life, Inn, Sailboat, Honeymoon, Hummingbird and Matrimonial. All with private bath, double beds, personal cleaning supplies, hair dryer and more accessories. A varied and rich breakfast is included with the accommodation. We also have a bar-kitchen, where you can taste tasty homemade dishes, elaborated with much affection and typical products of the area and the season. There are ample common areas: games room, beautiful gallery of old objects, living room with fireplace and large courtyards and gardens where hummingbirds and honeycombs are your daily visitors. Casa de Hacienda Su Merced is the ideal place to spend a few days of tranquility and rest, ideal to explore Quito's historic center, this small space, where rest meets nature, is also a starting point and arrival To travel to the indigenous markets of the highlands, or to remote cities in the jungle, or visit the warm Pacific beaches, or fly to a meeting with the Galapagos Islands, easy accessibility and the short time the passenger requires to move from One region to another makes our stay a destination desired by the visitor. We offer Wi-Fi, luggage storage, baby cots, parking, tourist information and pick up from the airport to the hotel for FREE. You can pay by credit card or cash, we have a bar-kitchen and we organize your tours to the place you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa de hacienda Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing