We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madden's on Gull Lake
Nearby Hotels
US$166
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake(East Gull Lake)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quarterdeck Resort(Nisswa)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Baxter/brainerd Area(Baxter)(Great Value!)
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
190
73
11
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
73
11
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslawn bowlingwilson bayclassic grilltrap shootingwalleyeshuffle boardsummer vacationpontoon ridefamily reunionin great shapesunrise villaping pongfamily resortwonderful resortwater skithe main lodgegreat golf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2008

I wrote a review from last year in which I said I thought our hotel room was over-crowded and over-priced. Well, this year we stayed in a large lakeside room that was awesome! It cost more, but it was worth it. The kids (15 and 12) loved the beach toys (trampoline, rocker and climber). My husband and I golfed. We all played shuffleboard and pitched horseshoes. And we went tubing. Madden's definitely took care of us!! We have booked for next year. We will be staying lakeside again only we have moved to the second (top) floor of the Sunrise Villas where they have lofts. The kids are excited to have their own floor! Hopefully Madden's staff will talk to Mother Nature and arrange to have nice weather for us again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DeziMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2008

This was a great trip all around, except maybe for my waistline. My fiance and I decided to head up north for a weekend in June for a 3 night stay. We got a long weekend and planned it, the reservations crew was very helpful in helping us to get into the rooms that fit us the best. We ended up staying down at the Madden Lodge. This was awesome, it is very quiet and out on its own little point (Mission Point). The food was excellent, we were on thier Modified American Plan which includes Breakfast and Dinner plus all the recreation activities (croquet, badminton, volleyball, basketball, tennis, lawn bowling, golf on their 3 resort courses) as well as a discounted rate on the Classic which is their beautiful championship course, there is more I just cant remember it all!! Back to the food, not only was it excellent but the Lodge dining room was a beatiful place to eat it is surrounded by water and has a beautiful view, plus if you eat around 8pm in June you will also view the bonfire right outside which has complimentary smores (mmm). To sum it up everything was amazing from the service, room, food, activities, weather (not promised), and EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcd6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

From booking the reservations and tee-times in advance to working out allergies with the head chef, a quality time at Maddens was right in our own backyard. Living in the Brainerd area, one does not stay local on big weekends such as Memorial Day, the Fourth of July and Labor Day. We usually would pack up the family and head out in heavy traffic to spend our time out of town. This year was different. We researched local resorts and found a diamond in the rough. Maddens Resort on Gull had everything we were looking for, from a 5 star golf course to crafts and activities for the kids. Maddens is located on beautiful Gull Lake just minutes North of Baxter on Hwy 371. We decided to try Maddens on Labor Day weekend. It could not have been any better. The weather was perfect. The accommodations were spacious and accessable to the entire facitity. Ambassadors with golf carts made trips to the pub easy and safe. Golf conditions were ideal and on a busy weekend such as Labor Day you would expect slow rounds of golf. The course and staff are very professional which kept the pace moving. Delicious box lunches were available at the turn which helped keep things moving. While my wife and I played golf kids were kept occupied with multiple swimming pools, water activities, and other organized activities through Maddens. We enjoyed a shore line room that was spacious and private. Beautiful sunrises on the lake and clear on starry nights on the back patio at night. The meals from the breakfast buffet through dinner were outstanding. My wife has allergy concerns and the chefs met with her daily to discuss options. They couldn't have been more professional and accommodating. The four day weekend from Friday morning golf through our final round on Monday was out of this world. We were pampered from the time we arrived on the property until we sank that final putt on Monday. Maddens is on top of our Favorites list and we check their website often for Great Seasonal Specials. Take it from a traveler, Maddens should be a required stop on every travelers itinerary when passsing through Minnesota.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Crosbytrlvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2007

What a nice place to relax! Had a huge room with a loft, gas fireplace, two bathrooms. Great view of the sunrise on the lake. Staff was great - check-in and check-out - very fast. Grounds are beautifully manicured. The Pub was alot of fun!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank tolson7761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Our family had our reunion there last year and couldn't have been more pleased! Every detail was handled with such care and thoughtfulness. The grounds were beautiful and the activities endless. The best part of our stay however was the staff and level of service they provided to each and every one of our family members. No effort was spared in making this our best family reunion ever!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ahptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews