We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bridport Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound(Bridport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(West Bexington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
117
98
38
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
98
38
13
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridport armsspiral staircasethe pubfishcrabkipperssplit level roomspecials boardhoneymoon suiteoverlooking the beachlarge bathroomexcellent foodposter bedsitting areathe staff were extremely friendlytwo floorsresidents lounge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

we have stayed here a few times and actually like the hotel, my husband goes fishing and they make him breakfast which we take later to him
the rooms and bedding are clean and tidy however the water system is not good as when my husband comes in from fishing expecting a hot shower or bath the water is cold only to be told that it must be an awkward time, surely this could be resolved im sure we arent the only people that this has happened to which is very off putting when we are looking to go back
the food is very nice but some of it quite pricey
the rooms are expensive so you expect to have that reflected in the accommodation
we would stay again but would expect that someone sort the problem with the hot water as this isnt acceptable
t w

Room Tip: we have stayed in 3 different types of rooms and they are all the same noise level really and all have the same amount of light
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have been going to Thurlestone at this time of year for many years but decided to have a change this year by going to Dorset, a county neither of us knew very well. It really proved to be a most enjoyable 3 days. Quiet roads, interesting villages and plenty to see and do. The coast road to Weymouth from Bridport is a delight and we also enjoyed the drive from Dorchester to Bridport along the A35 - is the UK really built up?

We chose the Bridport Arms because it is a small unpretentious hotel right on the sea shore, so getting a breath of sea air was very easy! On arrival, we had no issues parking opposite the hotel entrance and once into the foyer, there was a polite notice indicating that we would find help by going to the bar. Which we did and were greeted by a young lady called Tuesday who proved to be a treasure throughout our stay.

The room we had was one of the ones with a spiral staircase facing the sea and perfectly adequate for our needs. No noise from the neighbours, a comfortable bed, very warm and with all the usual attributes of a good hotel. The breakfast menu offered plenty of choice and my wife would highly recommend the (real) kippers! We had intended to eat there on only two of the three nights but on the night that we had booked to eat at the Riverside restaurant, the rain and the wind was such that I don't think anyone ventured out in the village of West Bay!

So we ate there on all three nights and found enough on the menu (mainly fish!) to keep us happy. They respected our wish for a rest between courses, which sometimes causes consternation in the kitchen(!) and the only minor blemish (wrong wine temperature - I'm fussy!) was immediately corrected without question.

Many thanks to the owner, Jenny, her dog Maisie (she's pictured on the web site), Chelsea, the rest of the staff and in particular Tuesday for a most enjoyable three days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alunsimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridportArmsHotel, General Manager at Bridport Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad that you had a enjoyable and relaxing stay with us at the Bridport Arms Hotel and very much look forward too welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had booked 2 nights here but left after 1.

On walking into the reception there was a notice to ask guests to check in at the bar, but not before we had scrambled past the pile of dirty laundry in the corner. Nice

The room was large but looked like it had been decorated in the 1940's and had not been touched since. Unsavoury i think is a good word.

The staff had a take it or leave it attitude and the male staff member obviously couldn't care less. If you are that unhappy in your job mate, then leave, not stay and make everyone else miserable.

The 'hotel' is not a hotel, its a pub with rooms. There was scaffolding all round the building so we couldn't open the windows. We understood that after all the weather problems and obvious damage to the building. However, the 'hotel' is right on the beach but we couldn't see out of them as they were filthy, on the inside as well as the outside.

Our door card wouldn't work so we were given a mastercard which of course gave us access to any room in the hotel! Just as well were are honest!

At breakfast we asked for green tea, not available

On leaving we again scrambled past the dirty laundry piled up, it hadn't moved.......

To cap it all we left a bag behind. This was full of holiday treats, bottled water, fruit juice, chocolate biscuits, bags of chocolates, crisps and my best leather gloves i had put in at the last minute.

We went back a couple of hours later only to be told they hadn't found a bag in the room. Really?? How strange

At £145.00 a night, avoid at all costs

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gill471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridportArmsHotel, General Manager at Bridport Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

I was saddened to read about your stay with us. I think it is important to point out that our hotel Master keys are kept under lock and key, and that the key given to you was a spare key to that room not a Master key. We do apologise for not having Green tea, however, we do have a substantial choice of teas consisting of Earle Grey, Camomile, Mint, Breakfast and regular tea. The room that you stayed in consists of a King size four poster bed, 50 inch Television with DVD, a power shower and a Jacuzzi bath which the majority of our guests absolutely love and come back time and time again. However, in this instance , I realise that the scaffolding was a big issue and blighted your stay. West Bay had just been through the worst storms for 40 years as was well documented on the news, and unfortunately the scaffolding( albeit untimely) was necessary due to the Thatched roof and the damage caused by the storms. In hindsight we should have contacted you to tell you about this and maybe offered a stay for a later date. That has now been noted and in the case of any other unfortunate events that occur that are out of our control then this will be put into practice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Valentine's weekend and we just love it. We'd initially been to a hotel in Weymouth which was very disappointing (review to follow) and so we decided to head off to Bridport. We found The Bridport Arms at West Bay and decided it was the place for us. The staff are lovely and the rooms are cosy and welcoming. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms available and the other rooms overlook the harbour, win, win!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suegalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Having visited the Bridport Arms for a meal last year we decided to stay for a long weekend this year. What a great choice. We were directed to a split level room which was way beyond our expectations, so spacious and comfortable, and the sea view was a real bonus. The location, right on the shingle beach is brilliant. It was lovely to wake up to the sound of the breaking waves, and the cries of sea birds - what a great start to the day. The breakfast was excellent, with a good choice and sensibly sized portions. Service was quick and friendly. The quality of the ingredients was first class - no budget sausages here! We booked a table in the pub/restaurant on the second evening and were more than pleased with our meals. We both chose fish from the specials board and it was not disappointing. The portions were extremely generous, the food was attractively presented, perfectlyl cooked and delicious. This was, without doubt, one of the best pub meals we have ever had. The prices were good too. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Bridport Arms, which whilst not the cheapest accommodation in West Bay, has got to be the best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belvedere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews