We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbeatable location and views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
West Bay, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

pjayh2014
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and views”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A great place to stay! The steps up to the property were never an issue. The house is basically but comfortably furnished and as the weather was great most evenings were spent on the patio overlooking the beach with fantastic sunsets. The property lacked for nothing as far as equipment goes.
The property is close to the coast path and again that was not an issue. We were lucky to be there for the torchlight procession and fireworks and had a super view from the property.
You could quite easily be based here and not have to use your car. There are excellent walks in all directions. Bridport is just a mile away and there wonderful selection of places to go all within a short trip. The bus ride over to Weymouth was a wonderful 'roller coaster' ride.
Well recommended.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic location and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2014
Thank you for making the effort to write this review - and it is really gratifying when the house and the increasing number of local amenities are appreciated and evidently taken in a positive spirit. Yes - the X53 to Weymouth [and Lyme Regis/Exeter in the other direction] must be one of the best Top Deck experiences in the country and they run every hour! So glad you enjoyed your week so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
385louise...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ITS ALL ABOUT THE VIEW .......”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have been holidaying in Dorset for the last seven years, and on each visit we always take our dog down to West Bay most days of a two week holiday, but this year we found this property to rent, It certainly is an amazing view. We were very lucky with the weather, just rain one day and a busy storm one night, which knocked out the power but wonderful to watch from the large lounge window. As usual we were made welcome in the local pubs & eating places and popped over to Broadwindsor to visit friends. The first trip up the Steps with luggage was a struggle but we all soon got the hang of those !!! and maybe we had lost some weight on our return home !!!! We will definitely be back again next year, If I were to have a tiny quibble it would be about the tiny TV.. If there were six of you staying it would be a struggle to huddle around that, bigger TV Please, but all round fab place. Thank you x

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea view
Liked least: Small TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, The area
Liked least: The 36 steps up to the property
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from our bed
Liked least: 36 steps to negotiate at least twice daily is harder than it looks after all day walking !
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
02Lizzie
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location looking over the sea!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We (5 adults) spent a week in this lovely location. The house was extremely comfortable and had just about everything including absolutely spectular views over the sea. It was so relaxing to hear the waves. West Bay has great restaurants and snack bars. We would highly recommend this holiday rental and we really appreciated our warm welcome from Alison.

Date of stay: June 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the huge windows and the sound of the sea.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.