We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best eaterie in West Bay”
Review of Rachel's

Rachel's
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am till 3.30pm until further notice. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best eaterie in West Bay”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a wooden "shack" in West Bay Harbour but in the summer it serves the best food in all of Bridport. A "must visit" in good weather.

Visited September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    89
    15
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed in west Bay for three nights and having read the reviews of this place were really looking forward to sampling the food. We arrived too late on Monday as they were just clearing up. So we tried again the next day. I had the fish stew and my wife the tiger prawns, mussels and scallops. They were superb, some of the best we have eaten anywhere in the world. Cooked to perfection, there are quite a few top class chefs who could be taught a thing or two here. The next day we returned to try the salt and pepper squid and the prawns cooked in wild garlic and chilli butter. Once again we were not disappointed. Fabulous food at unbelievably low prices. Pubs and restaurants in West Bay charge three times or more the prices here for inferior food. We shall definately return! Footnote. We have been back several times and it just gets better!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing haddock chowder”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We were staying in the flats above rachaels. We went for lunch on our first day myself and mum had the haddock chowder and dad had the crab sandwich all I can say is fabulous.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fresh food in the open air”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We loved this little beach-hut style cafe where you eat a fish but very affordable fish and chips. or, better still, the other interesting items on the well-priced menu. My husband had the smoked chowder with crusty brown bread which was wonderful, our son had a great bowl of moules and our daughter enjoyed the nachos with chilli. I ate king prawn tempura with sweet chilli dip. Everything is fresh, well-prepared and absolutely delicious. It makes a change from greasy fish and chips and added a delightful and unexpected find on our half-term holiday. We loved it so much we went back the next day. Don't pay expensive restaurant prices when you can eat more healthily and great quality food at a better price in this little outdoor gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The most amazing seafood EVER!!!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We discovered Rachel's 2 years ago whilst holidaying in Lyme Regis and have been back many times since - the most recent being this weekend whereby we took a 2 night family break to West Bay with the main priority being a visit to Rachel's!! Thankfully we just made it as Rachel informed us she is closing today (Sunday 2nd Nov) until Feb/March time - it proved impossible to find out the seasonal opening times online so we took a chance and got lucky! The seafood here is absolutely incredible - how they manage to produce such fantastic dishes from a little wooden shack is beyond me - the mussels and the haddock chowder are not to be missed and are so reasonably priced (roughly £6 per dish). Our sons, aged 7 and 4, just love the fish and chips (although the kids menu caters for all tastes - not just fish). Sitting outside (there is no inside option) overlooking the harbour just adds to the whole experience. I will spend the next 8 months or so looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rachel's also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing