We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have been fresher!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rachel's

Rachel's
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could not have been fresher!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Best Cod and Chips I have had for a long time! Fresh, light batter, good chips and great tartar sauce. Service was very good, efficient and polite...wish I could say the same about the starlings!

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakkies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    81
    14
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire ENGLAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Westbay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Returned to West bay for a second year after a wonderful time the previous one, as always the food at Rachels was top class, we tried most of the sea food on the menu over our two week stay and were never disappointed, if you want awesome fresh and locally sourced sea food eat at Rachels. The owners also went the extra mile after realizing we had returned for a second year by really looking after our 4 year old son.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank REG-BLODS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“FELT LIKE I WAS ON HOLIDAY IN THE MED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had lunch here yesterday on a very hot day, and the restaurant was very busy. We ordered the large cod and chips as we were unsure whether we would get a table so it could have been a takeaway. However we managed to share a table with another couple and were told by the staff when they started cooking our fish. This turned out to be absolutely delicious and of course amazingly fresh. I was watching food go by to other tables and heard that the haddock chowder and the fish stew were fantastic. Our immediate neighbours had the crab salad and said it was out of this world. They had been making the trip from Wiltshire for years to eat at Rachel's.
I most certainly will eat here again on my next visit to West Bay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The only trouble is choosing what to have it all looks delicious
Only open between 12 and 5 but every day

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrTedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Scrummy Seafood - well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stumbled on the reviews of this place by accident. How many years have I lived here and never eaten here? - shame on me!!! So today I took a detour down to the bay for lunch. The tables were packed and they were honest enough to warn you about the waiting time of approx. 40 mins. Placed our order, and wandered off around the harbour to watch the film crew going about their business there. Wandered back 35 mins later, dropped straight into a vacant seat having announced our arrival and lunch arrived in a few moments later.
The famous smoked haddock chowder was a delight and not too heavy, and was served with two hunks of rustic bread. Then we followed that with a prawn platter. The platter had fresh prawns, crevettes in filo pastry, king prawns, tempura prawns & a mini prawn cocktail in a scallop shell, sweet chilli sauce dip & colourful side salad. It was worth the wait, it really was. I glanced at another table tucking into the fish stew which looked gorgeous colours glinting in the sunlight, and I then whispered a comment to my other half regarding another customers choice of sausage & chips - did she really have no idea of what stunningly simple tasting food she was missing ?. it was all an utter delight, and it was a glorious day to be sitting by the harbour savouring every mouthful. The portion size was ample, the plates, cutlery and boards spotlessly clean. Other customers around me were speaking highly of the quality & taste of their food when asked. My only negative comment is that the young waitress should have really noticed that our little silver table was in need of a wipe down to remove the bird poo before she placed the basket of bread down, in advance of the other food arriving. I shall look forward to many re visits and shall work my way through the menu.The next tables scallops looked and smelt divine! thank you for such a wonderful lunch. Two courses £17 - bargain. Closes at 5pm

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlowerGirls08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rachel's also viewed

 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Rachel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing