We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Week end 3rd and 4th may 2014”
Review of The George

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The George
Ranked #2 of 4 West Bay B&B and Inns
Rode, United Kingdom
1 review
“B&B Week end 3rd and 4th may 2014”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wonderful weekend we stayed in the most comfortable room, best sleep ever, shower room and it was a shower room! Food very good and priced, hosts and staff very welcoming. When asked what we would like for breakfast we asked for a full English .... Massive well presented, nothing was to much to ask for, on our second day we ask for half an English breakfast, and it was perfect. The evening meals were wonderful took awhile to chose so much choice. Mal and Keith Bertenshaw

Room Tip: If all the rooms were as good as ours which our friends was as well any of the rooms would suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    48
    23
    20
    11
See reviews for
62
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our first visit, although our friends had visited before and enjoyed the food. The place was very busy when we arrived but we had made a reservation. Ordered food at which point the person taking the order requested that we handed over a credit card for them to keep until the end of the meal. That request was declined. ( Never comply with this request, it is a gateway to fraudulent activity, although I'm sure that would not have been the case here). The food arrived an hour later. Upon arrival the food was lukewarm (other than the chips ordered by some of us). Our friends had to leave 2 hours after arrival and, because of the late arrival of the main course, missed dessert. We stayed as the grandchildren wanted ice cream. Thirty five minutes after being told that someone would come and take our order we were still waiting. It became necessary to 'have a few words' after which we received apologies and the children received their ice cream on the house. Overall the visit was very disappointing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchysfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you firstly for coming to visit us, and secondly your feedback. As you quite rightly mentioned we were in the middle of the busiest service the George has seen in a long time. We acknowledge that you had a reservation, which of course secured your table during that busy service. Unfortunately that does not guarantee your order at a specific time. When you were shown to your table it was explained to you that there were a considerable amount of tables in front of you and that there would be a considerable wait. As explained in other responses all of our food is cooked fresh to order and is not fast food, you were a party of 6 with various options, and under normal circumstances your food would have taken approximately 30 mins to prepare and cook. With every table in both bars and the restaurant full, the timings we feel although not ideal are acceptable. I am puzzled as to your comment regarding luke warm food, the fact that you were waiting so long would indicate that your food would have been delivered as soon as it was ready, and also if it was left for any period the chips would have been cold too!

With regard to the credit card, this is a completely normal practice in today's society and we have very little resistance to this from our clients. The cards are kept securely out of reach behind the bar and to be honest, you are far more likely to be cloned whilst shopping in the high street than you are in our pub. We are not a restaurant, we are a pub that serves good food and we too have to safeguard our livelihood from unscrupulous people that think it is acceptable to abscond without paying. The majority of our customers are honest but unfortunately there are a few that spoil it for the rest. Most Gastro pubs these days make you pay in advance, however we feel that our practise is a fair compromise and are sorry if this offends.

The only part of your review that we cannot defend is that of the sweets being delayed, as I explained to you at the time, the order was mislaid and this caused the delay until our attention was drawn to the fact. We apologise again for the mistake and hope that the desserts given to you with our compliments went some way to making up for your waiting time.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Chris & Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had Mothering Sunday meal at The George Hotel. Excellent carvery: homemade, freshly cooked, great vegetables and lovely touch of a box of chocolates for Mums. Great childrens selection of homemade food as well. Enjoyed it so much we went back for another meal later in the week. The landlord was very welcoming and remembered us from Sunday. Steak and Ale pie was excellent. The only thing that was not great was the gormet burger. A nice atmosphere with young children welcome and a wide selection on the menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went here for a late'ish meal on a Thursday night. It was quite busy which is always a good sign for a Thursday. I had a pint (Palmer's 200) which was really well kept and we both really enjoyed our meals. The service was really efficient and above all, friendly, which was really refreshing. I'd thoroughly recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Went into The George for lunch on a beautiful sunny sat afternoon was meet by smiling helpful staff and very welcoming atmosphere. Food was very good and did not have to wit very long even though they were busy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasgirltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were staying at Parkean for 3 nights so we just popped in for a drink on the Friday evening!! Had Dinner Fri night,Saturday night and a Sunday roast at lunch time, nice atmosphere,friendly service,decent menu and reasonable prices ,What more can you ask for !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madasafish71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My fiancee and I came in looking for a beer and protection from the weather. We had a dog with us so were really pleased to find somewhere that was dog friendly and the owner/manager's dog Beau was a real personality. The pub was relaxed with a friendly atmosphere with locals chatting at the bar. Our table was toasty warm by the radiator after a bracing walk on the beach.

We checked reviews before eating but the poor reviews seem senseless. Who would complain about cards not being accepted under £10 ... that's normal in Herts, where we're from...and 14 people turning up off the cuff should be happy to be accomodated rather than having the cheek to complain about a delay.

We had a pub style meal in the bar rather than in the restaurant area.

I had mushrooms followed by mussels and my fiancee had whitebait followed by fish and chips. The meals were piping hot and plentiful.

At this time of year the local fishermen have limited catches, if any, so the signature fresh fish dishes we initially chose were not available. Although this made us re-select our dishes, this told us that the fresh fish dishes are authentically fresh.

The dishes were tasty and well cooked. We very much enjoyed our dinners and the atmosphere.

My mushrooms came in port and stilton sauce which was spectaular.

My mussels were "mariniere" ... one of my favourites. They could only have been improved with a garnish .. finely chopped parsley or chives maybe.

I was offered more bread when I ran out with my mussels but as the portion was so good I couldn't have eaten it A spoon was brought out for me to enjoy the remaining sauce.

All in all, yum, yum...



Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KarlMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Property: The George
Address: 18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located on the Harbour in the heart of West Bay, Dorset. This striking Georgian building stands proudly on the harbourside of this popular fishing village, made famous by being the backdrop to the recent BBC Tv series "Broadchurch".The hotel has recently been taken over (01/10/2013) by Chris and Kim and they are busy welcoming guests new and old to The George. The hotel is open all day and serves fresh locally sourced home cooked from the restaurant, including daily specials using fish sourced from the fishing boats in the harbour. . The bar serves a good selection of wines and exceptional real ales from Palmers Brewery, located a mile away in Bridport.There is plenty to do in the area, with several of breathtaking coastal walks and leisurely strolls along the beach front.There are several charter boats waiting to take keen sea fishing visitors, or a Rib taxi that will take you to nearby Lyme Regis and return a couple of hours later. Whether you are looking for a adrenalin packed weekend, or simply a relaxing break by the beautiful harbour, The George Hotel is the place to stay. Chris and Kim look forward to welcoming you to The George soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George Hotel West Bay
The George West Bay, Bridport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing