We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff lacking in customer service”
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George
Ranked #2 of 4 West Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited yesterday, arrived about 2.45pm, we sat in bar area looking at menu, one of the waitresses even came past and looked at us choosing from menu, there was also another waitress behind the bar area that most probably could see us sat there looking at menu, we spent 10 mins looking at menu then went to the bar to place our order to then be told there was no food available until 5pm. Whilst I understand that you may not have the levels of business to make it necessary to serve food all day, I feel that if your staff see people looking at a menu, possibly looking to place an order, they should come over and just ask if we were looking to order food, and just mention that food if not available, not just watch people there choosing then wait for them to come to the bar to order and then say food is not available, is not acceptable especially, when that bar at that time was very quiet only about 5 other people there and the staff just wandering about waiting to clock off, as just after we had been to bar about 3 members off staff went off duty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank PJ20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review although I have to say, I find it incredible that you have given us such a low rating purely because you could not have any food! I should also like to point out that you were in the pub at gone 3.30 pm that afternoon and not at the earlier time you stated in your review.

You are visiting a seaside location out of season and are expecting a pub to serve food all day. We serve food from 11 am through to 3 pm and then from 5 pm until 9 pm. That is a total of 8 hours in a 12 hour working day that food is available. Most people have had their lunch by 3 pm and do not eat in the evening before 5 pm. Our chefs work many hours, but they like everyone else they are entitled to a break and the two hour window between shifts are an ideal time for them to take a break.

I now come to your comments re our waitresses not approaching you. Although we have a restaurant, we do not operate table service in the bars. We have people looking at our menu all the time, but that does not mean they wish to order. Our staff are not mind readers, and they certainly would not pounce on a customer looking at a menu, no matter how long they are examining the content.

I think the truth of the matter is you had somewhat left it too late to obtain food from a pub, and as a result ,you were not happy that this was the case. We have a very good reputation and certainly don't warrant your comments. May we suggest that if you prefer to eat at times outside the usual parameters, that you visit your local Wetherspoons pub, where i am sure they will gladly oblige.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Shame this pub food is getting tired, I say pub because it isn't a restaurant and it's either pretty good or sometimes over cooked. It's the third time we've eaten here and overall it doesn't live up to some of the previous reviews. Maybe we get the chef who scrimps to save food and overcooks the rest. The Chicken with bacon and brie was tough and the chips appeared to be reheated to save cooking a fresh batch. They were not "chunky chips" or words to that manor as described on the menu, but were dry and tasted re cooked and not very appetizing. If I want the chips I had with my chicken, I may as well go to a burger van! We also had the salmon and it must've been on a diet or it was a child's portion, but it was, quite tasty. The previous meal I had was over cooked liver and bacon - not good, but we thought, give them another try. Maybe the chef a year ago had left, because my meal back then was very good.

The trouble is, that when a pub is doing well, it thinks it will always do well and then starts to get complacent. By the way, the staff are very good and friendly but apart from that, the food took forever to arrive, hence, over hungry and not in the mood for much else after.

It will be a long while untill I go back unless I have to - Shame - nice looking boozer with decent ale and cider, better to keep it that way and let the chip kiosks thrive!

Room Tip: This is not a hotel, but a B&B pub at a seaside location. We did not stay but just came to eat h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

A party of 5 spent 2 nights at The George Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A lovely setting near the harbour. Chris, Kim and the staff were most helpful all the time. We ate in the bar one night and the restaurant the following night and on each occasion the meals were very generous and reasonably priced, The Riverside restaurant is close by but I would suggest trying The George first if you like value for money. The hotel has been recently refurbished, ignore the photo on the website, and my room was better than that I had at The Grand Hotel, Brighton at Christmas.
Only slight cons: the internet connection was erratic, although they were planning to upgrade the system, the restaurant service was slightly haohazard, may be because early season and extremely busy.

Room Tip: The family room not only has a large double bed room but also a similar size twin bedded room, the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wonderful weekend we stayed in the most comfortable room, best sleep ever, shower room and it was a shower room! Food very good and priced, hosts and staff very welcoming. When asked what we would like for breakfast we asked for a full English .... Massive well presented, nothing was to much to ask for, on our second day we ask for half an English breakfast, and it was perfect. The evening meals were wonderful took awhile to chose so much choice. Mal and Keith Bertenshaw

Room Tip: If all the rooms were as good as ours which our friends was as well any of the rooms would suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Our first visit, although our friends had visited before and enjoyed the food. The place was very busy when we arrived but we had made a reservation. Ordered food at which point the person taking the order requested that we handed over a credit card for them to keep until the end of the meal. That request was declined. ( Never comply with this request, it is a gateway to fraudulent activity, although I'm sure that would not have been the case here). The food arrived an hour later. Upon arrival the food was lukewarm (other than the chips ordered by some of us). Our friends had to leave 2 hours after arrival and, because of the late arrival of the main course, missed dessert. We stayed as the grandchildren wanted ice cream. Thirty five minutes after being told that someone would come and take our order we were still waiting. It became necessary to 'have a few words' after which we received apologies and the children received their ice cream on the house. Overall the visit was very disappointing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Frenchysfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe D, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you firstly for coming to visit us, and secondly your feedback. As you quite rightly mentioned we were in the middle of the busiest service the George has seen in a long time. We acknowledge that you had a reservation, which of course secured your table during that busy service. Unfortunately that does not guarantee your order at a specific time. When you were shown to your table it was explained to you that there were a considerable amount of tables in front of you and that there would be a considerable wait. As explained in other responses all of our food is cooked fresh to order and is not fast food, you were a party of 6 with various options, and under normal circumstances your food would have taken approximately 30 mins to prepare and cook. With every table in both bars and the restaurant full, the timings we feel although not ideal are acceptable. I am puzzled as to your comment regarding luke warm food, the fact that you were waiting so long would indicate that your food would have been delivered as soon as it was ready, and also if it was left for any period the chips would have been cold too!

With regard to the credit card, this is a completely normal practice in today's society and we have very little resistance to this from our clients. The cards are kept securely out of reach behind the bar and to be honest, you are far more likely to be cloned whilst shopping in the high street than you are in our pub. We are not a restaurant, we are a pub that serves good food and we too have to safeguard our livelihood from unscrupulous people that think it is acceptable to abscond without paying. The majority of our customers are honest but unfortunately there are a few that spoil it for the rest. Most Gastro pubs these days make you pay in advance, however we feel that our practise is a fair compromise and are sorry if this offends.

The only part of your review that we cannot defend is that of the sweets being delayed, as I explained to you at the time, the order was mislaid and this caused the delay until our attention was drawn to the fact. We apologise again for the mistake and hope that the desserts given to you with our compliments went some way to making up for your waiting time.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback, and we hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Chris & Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had Mothering Sunday meal at The George Hotel. Excellent carvery: homemade, freshly cooked, great vegetables and lovely touch of a box of chocolates for Mums. Great childrens selection of homemade food as well. Enjoyed it so much we went back for another meal later in the week. The landlord was very welcoming and remembered us from Sunday. Steak and Ale pie was excellent. The only thing that was not great was the gormet burger. A nice atmosphere with young children welcome and a wide selection on the menu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went here for a late'ish meal on a Thursday night. It was quite busy which is always a good sign for a Thursday. I had a pint (Palmer's 200) which was really well kept and we both really enjoyed our meals. The service was really efficient and above all, friendly, which was really refreshing. I'd thoroughly recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.1 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
926 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Bridport
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bridport Arms Hotel
Bridport Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Bay
279 reviews
5.9 mi away
Newlands Holidays
Newlands Holidays
#4 of 5 in Charmouth
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: 18 George Street, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Bay
Price Range: £78 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Hotel set right in the heart of West Bay Harbour. Serving great food and local ales. If you are visiting Dorset there is no better location than the Gateway to the Jurassic Coast and home of ITV's Broadchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel West Bay
The George West Bay, Bridport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing