We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way.”

The Station Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £7 - £30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Our cute little station house & WW1 train carriage situated in the heart of West Bay serves only the best local and fresh produce, all created by our talented Executive head chef Claire. We pride ourselves on our customer service along with well presented, flavorsome but plentiful plates. Our menu changes weekly and has a strong selection of seasonal dishes. We believe there is something for every palate. From locally caught seafood to locally farmed organic meats and a wide variety of vegetarian and gluten-free dishes, Executive Head Chef Claire is always happy to create something to suit your requirements. Claire and her team, create a stir in the kitchen, creating some of the best desserts known to man! As Virginia Woolf once said "One can not think well, love well, sleep well if one has not dined well" We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 28 August 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful evening at the Station Kitchen. Couldn't fault anything about it. Food, staff and the atmosphere in the carriage were all fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank encn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 431 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

Everything about this restaurant is fabulous. The food is tasty, well prepared and beautifully presented. Pleasant surprise to find a range of mocktails on offer for us non-drinkers. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the overall ambience and decor is fab!
Highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

A huge thank you to the Station Kitchen team for an outstanding night for our special family celebration.
The food was delicious and we were extremely well looked after as usual. 5 stars all round.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank garybriggs151
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Wow, what a cool place! Definitely worth a visit.

We ordered a chicken Caesar salad, flat mushroom burger and a tradition burger, for dessert we had a creme brûlée and a 3 piece cheese board.

We arrived with a fussy Pre teen that "didn't like anything on the menu" (sorry) the waitresses & chef couldn't have been more helpful with making our child's meal boring for us but great for her. Nothing was to much trouble and our meals were delicious! I didn't think a flat mushroom burger could pack so much flavour but it really did! My husband had the traditional burger which didn't seem to touch the sides so must have been good.
The drinks arrived promptly and were really quirky, my daughter had a mock tail that arrived in a tall tiki cup, mine arrived in a pretty glass goblet with petals floating, they tasted delicious and really looked the part.

We were seated in the carriage, it has so many pretty and quirky things to look at. It's got a great feel about it. When we return south we shall rebook to eat at this establishment.

Thank you for a great evening of good food and drink.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 123CloD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

We had a reservation which was booked well in advance, it was large party to celebrate a milestone Birthday.
The evening, unfortunately was not the best experience, drinks took a while to be ordered, food was pre ordered which came quite efficiently but the service was a little slack and customer service wasn't the best I have had.

We were offered puddings but it was with some reluctance that they wanted us to have any and it was said to our table "I assume no puddings here then" ( even though my wife didn't even get to see the pudding menu)
When it came to paying.....we were rushed and was told to step onto the platform to pay as the tables were needed. This only gave us 2 hours to eat bearing in mind we were a party of 13.
It was diificult to work the bill out and not much assistance was being offered from the waitress.
Checking our emails there was no mention of only being able to stay for 2 hours, when spending a lot of money and celebrating a special birthday you don't want to feel rushed.
A disappointing experience and with that in mind we will not be returning which is unfortunate as we frequent the area quite a lot.
Fortunately our evening wasn't dampened by this experience as we have an amazing family and group of friends so we still had a great time together.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Smudge230364
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Station Kitchen also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to The Station Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.