We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday party on friday”

The Station Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £7 - £30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Our cute little station house & WW1 train carriage situated in the heart of West Bay serves only the best local and fresh produce, all created by our talented Executive head chef Claire. We pride ourselves on our customer service along with well presented, flavorsome but plentiful plates. Our menu changes weekly and has a strong selection of seasonal dishes. We believe there is something for every palate. From locally caught seafood to locally farmed organic meats and a wide variety of vegetarian and gluten-free dishes, Executive Head Chef Claire is always happy to create something to suit your requirements. Claire and her team, create a stir in the kitchen, creating some of the best desserts known to man! As Virginia Woolf once said "One can not think well, love well, sleep well if one has not dined well" We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked for a family 40th on last Friday. The whole experience was amazing . From the moment we had a cocktail, in the cocktail carriage, decor was quirky and cocktails tasty! We was taken to the first world War carriage and sat at the head, again decor stunning, service wonderful, Sophie and her team mase the birthday girl special and ensured we had every thing we required. The food was delicious and plentiful . Thank you truelly for making her 40th very special

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Station Kitchen, Owner at The Station Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear D3721NCkarinl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again soon.

We are very glad that you enjoyed being served by Sophie and that she and the team made the Birthday so special. We are very proud of our team.

Warmest regards,
The Station Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the SK on a Thursday evening when it was a particularly busy with a murder mystery event taking place in the next dining room/carriage.

Being in full holiday mindset, I totally mixed up our arrival time. However, they were super accommodating and slotted us in later that evening, which we were very grateful for.

The menu had a good variety of dishes, with meat also featuring, which as a very limited fish eater, can be a challenge when on the coast. My partner and I had starters and mains that were all delicious and very well presented.

Our server Sophie was super friendly and efficient, and enjoyed a good chat with us and other diners. Her manager was also super friendly.

The venue is something quite special with the old Bridport Harbour station and 2 vintage railway carriages all tastefully decorated, making up the bar and dining rooms.

The venue is also dog friendly, which is helpful when we take the pooch on holiday.

We had a fantastic time at the SK, a true First Class evening!

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank Oxonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Station Kitchen, Owner at The Station Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Oxonmark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again soon. We are very glad that you enjoyed being served by Sophie. We are very proud of our team.

Warmest regards,
The Station Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2024

it was my birthday so a very special occasion
the food was terrible the meat was full of fat and chewy and not cooked properly
the owners were away at a wedding and it showed
the staff were very good though and genuinely disappointed the the standard of food they had to serve was poor

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 790johnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2024

Great resturant with a wonderful atmosphere. The staff were in credibly helpful attentive & friendly we were served by the lovely Kate but we also were seen to by two young men & another young lady all were very kind & attentive to our needs. We went for Sunday lunch. My husbnd went for the fish of the day which he said was magnificent. I had roast beef & the trimings followed by cheese cake desert for me & the cheese board for my husband which was equally as good. We both enjoyed the experience. The ambience was quite charming.
Thanks to all at Sation Kitchen.

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank harry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Station Kitchen, Owner at The Station Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear , thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again soon.

We are glad that you enjoyed being served by Kate and the team, we are very proud of them.

Warmest regards,
The Station Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2024 via mobile

An absolutely lovely venue steeped in history which was lovely to learn about. However we were disappointed with the food and the service. Unfortunately they were short staffed, which can't be helped, but it did dampen our experience. A lot of people were complaining, and understable with the amount of waiting. One group had to cancel their final drinks order as they had a taxi waiting and they took too long to fulfil the order, we ourselves had to move our car (while waiting for dessert) to a different car park so it didn't get locked in overnight! Staff were clearly rushed off their feet but were polite and friendly. It was a shame.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Station Kitchen also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to The Station Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.