We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendiferous surroundings.”
Review of Antico Moro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antico Moro Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zelarino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I managed to book this on a deal and was uncertain what to expect.On first viewing of outside of hotel it seemed small but ok. On entering my eyes lit up to marvellous paintings scattered around the walls and a cabinet with jewellery which you could purchase ,problem was i fell in love with an ornate mask and it wasnt for sale! Manuel on reception greeted us, he spoke very good English and was very informative .Our room was a twin as requested, really nice and clean and a spacious bathroom, the room keys were shaped like bells so easy to find. We had endless coffee from downstairs as im a coffeeaholic!! thing was the price changed dependent who was on reception !!The 1st night we decided to eat next door in a resteraunt and we sat outside as it was really hot, we waited and waited and werent seen to ,when we finally got their attention it turned out it was a meal with just meat ,no veg or salad ,you had to order those extra so it came to rather a lot of euros!! The staff were dismissive of us and favoured locals over us.You find that a lot in Italy.Beds were comfortable and after having a good nights sleep we were ready to see Venice.we got the bus as per instruction of receptionist and found ourselves going in completely the opposite directon!! in sweltering heat we finally got correct bus and it took us to near water taxis. Got off and saw some incredible sights, well worth going to see, My top tips; 1)go for3 days min ,2) buy meals on side streets,3)avoid going on sundays ,nowhere is open!! ,4}try not to get taxis, too expensive. If i ever return i would make sure it was in Nov, Dec time as the heat was humid, no breeze, as for hotel i would stay again, lady receptionist obviously prefers men as she was rude and abrupt to me yet my partner didnt have this problem!!

Room Tip: This is a very quiet hotel, suited us as we like sleep!!Therfore all rooms are equally as good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindagaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for Antico Moro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent 5 days with with our family and some friends ( 4 adults, 5 teenagers and 2 kids ) in Venice and used this hotel as our base. The rooms are great, large with good beds and air conditioning.. The commute to Venice is very easy ( a bus leaves every 15 min just outside the hotel ) and you can buy passes ( one, 3 or 5 days ) that gives you free rides on all buses and vaporettos in Venice. The restaurant next door is very good and convenient for late dinner on the way back from a long day in Venice.. Overall great value for money... J M (London)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jean-marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in Aug. 2012. Wanted somewhere near to Venice islands but not on. This was a good choice. We stayed in room 14 which is a family room for 5. 2 x double beds and 1 x single spread over 2 rooms.

Rooms are decent size. Breakfast was pretty good and varied. Bus into Piazzale Roma is 20m from hotel door and runs every 15 mins. Hotel sells bus & boat tickets which is convenient .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had the jumior suite for 3 nights. It was a nice room, spacious and clean. The only slight gripe being the air con could have been better. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is about 20-30 mins on the bus from Venice, its a lot better value than hotels on the islands but there is nothing to do around it in the evenings. The buses are excellent though and run until 11pm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roommove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The response to the booking we received immediately, they sent us a description of the way, we can choose a room, it was large and spacious and beautiful decorated, with air condition,fridge, all the windows have mosquito nets and you can sleep without worrying about meeting with mosquitoes. Bus ticket you can buy at the reception, bus stands in front of the hotel, in Venice runs every 15 minutes. The smell of freshly baked croissant and bread wake you up in the morning. Internet is free; you can leave the car in their free parking. They are very friendly and helpful. Near is also a large shopping center, across the street are small shops where you can find everything you need. Near hotel is also a small excellent restaurant.
We would definitely recommend this charming family hotel Antico Moro, if it is not too significant for your stay the distance from the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StankaMaribor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you dont feel the pressure of being near to the crowds all the time in Venice, then Antico Moro will be a safe bet. It is very clean, very friendly and had the undoubtedly best breakfast buffet we have encountered in Italy. they have been very responsive to our questions during and after the reservation. Also have a great Italian restaurant just next door. We had one dinner there and loved it as well.
Congratulations all the people in Antico Moro, well done!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just spent the weekend at the charming Antico Moro Hotel and couldn't be happier about our choice. The hotel responded immediately to my email inquiry and sent along a map which was a big help as we were driving from Bergamo.. We arrived rather late and was relieved to find that there was a wonderful restaurant adjoining the property which was still open. What a great little place! The food was excellent and the wait staff wonderful! We loved it so much we ate there both nights. The room was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. By booking directly on the hotel's website, breakfast was included (not the case if you book on say,Expedia) which was very nice and beautifully presented. The hotel sells tickets for the buses (water buses as well) and offer combo tickets for 12 hr, 24, hr, 36 hr and so on.The bus stop to Venice is only a few steps from the hotel. Also, there is a supermarket within walking distance and the rooms have mini-fridges. Everyone at the hotel were friendly, helpful and spoke very good English. If you have a car, you will be glad to know there is plenty of free parking (not like some places that advertise free parking and then you find there are only four allocated spaces!) There is internet in your rm. for a small charge or you are welcome to use the hotel's computer free of charge. I would happily recommend the Antico Moro to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the back of the hotel or overlooking the parking lot
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jeanne_DeMello_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zelarino
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
762 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Quid Hotel Venice Airport
2.2 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#27 of 58 in Mestre
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Venezia Marghera hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#10 of 58 in Mestre
445 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#14 of 58 in Mestre
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Moro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Moro Hotel

Address: Via Castellana 149, 30174 Zelarino, Mestre, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Mestre > Zelarino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zelarino
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Moro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antico Moro is a very very pretty superior 3stars. Bus stop to Venice is at 20mt. and every 15 minutes there is a run to go and come back. We have a private parking included and we serve a good buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Antico Moro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Moro Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing