We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and clean hotel.”
Review of Vigla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vigla Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I liked the service,the staff's gentleness, the location over the mountain and the view of the mountain from the pool, restaurant and the balcony of our room,the feeling of safeness and the interest of the owners on our needs and the feeling that at any time there is someone near to help you! It is good that they change towels every day,which is important and almost indispensable for this island due to the high humidity. I had greater expectations from the room which is small with an old decoration and furniture. I also had greater expectations from the jacuzzi which was simple like a small pool and I think the breakfast was a bit boring except from local options (homemade tartes, Riz si lait, fruits).

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meditarenean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

The panoramic view of this hotel is wonderful. It is really special experience to have our breakfast, our lunch and dinner in a restaurant providing this fantastic view. Mrs Irene cooks perfect, so I didn’t hesitate to ask her the recipe of "kolokythoanthous"(courgette flowers). Our room was cleaning and smelling fresh and nice every day. It was our first time in Amorgos and each one of them gave us important information about the island which, actually, helps our tour. The bus stop is just outside the hotel, very comfortable for us who hadn't got car/scooter. We believe that in this place everyone will have a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGGELOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Tucked in the lovely village of Tholaria and overlooking Aegiali bay, this family run hotel is a real gem... Wonderful staff, the food always fresh, homemade and very good value for money, the modern pool is very enjoyable and the cleaning service spotless. We were sad to say goodbye, as we felt like home... Probably the best place to visit the island. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelphineCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

In this hotel we enjoyed the great view from the terrace or the restaurant and the pool. The rooms were clean, the family and the staff very friendly and helpful that we felt them as friends and we became very sad when we must say “goodbye”. All the meals in the restaurant were specially well-cooked. We’ll come back next year and one more reason will be to taste again “patatato”. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhmhtra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

During our 3 day stay on the island Amorgos, we stayed in hotel Vigla in Tholaria. A nice hotel with a amazing view at the port of Aigiali. The ideal place to discover the whole island.
The family that runs this hotel is very friendly and helpful and making you feel at home.

Great views, nice hotel, good food, warm people,... Everything you need for an unforgettable holiday!
I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annelies D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We went to Vigla Hotel in Amorgos as the last stop of our three-island honeymoon, and stayed for a week. It was the best of the three (the other Santorini and Naxos), much because of the warm and friendly atmosphere, and the great family who runs this hotel. Right from the start we were made to feel very welcome, and were given a thorough introduction to the island by the lovely receptionist Eleni.
What to say about a hotel, where you don't just feel like you've been welcomed to a hotel, rather than welcomed into an actual family? This is not a five star luxury hotel, but it's much better than any other hotel I've set foot in, for the warmth and genuine hospitality.
I was completely blown away by the Vigla girls, Popi, Despina and Eleni, who made a surprise party, complete with cake, champagne and present, on my birthday!
The service and food in the Vigla restaurant is great, actually more than great, we didnt find this quality of food anywhere else on Amorgos, so in the end we ate most of our meals in the hotel, on the lovely pool deck. The meals are cooked by the mother in the house, and she cooks up a storm - we've gained several kilos in just one week, from her amazing food!

The pool area is fantastic, and very clean and well maintained. The rooms are fairly spacious, nice and clean. The bathrooms are clean and well equipped. Our balcony had a great view of the hills and the beautiful church of Tholaria.
Theres no super market in the village, but several restaurants, and a great little bar called Seladi. The bus goes to Aigiali three times a day, or you can easily walk in half an hour.

For anyone who is enthusiastic about Greece - I mean the real Greece, not the charter kind - we would recommend Amorgos as a holiday destination, it has everything you can wish for. And still you can see the everyday life go on, where it's business as usual: Roosters screaming at all hours, old men on donkeys, priests in their long black robes, goats sleeping in the roads.
We travelled around on the island a bit, and found out that while the Katapola area is nice, there's no place like home, and that home is Vigla Hotel in Tholaria.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kjerstika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I was there for a week in June 2012 and I highly recommend this place. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious and very clean. From my balcony I had a beautiful view over the landscape and the sea. The staff is very helpful and very kind. The hotel is located in a very charming village with nice local people. The closest beach (accessible by feet) is also a nice place. I was delighted and would gladly go back.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank ell_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholaria
0.8 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
694 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
98 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#11 of 12 in Amorgos
9 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#5 of 12 in Amorgos
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yperia Hotel
Yperia Hotel
#4 of 41 in Amorgos
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigla Hotel

Address: Tholaria 840 08, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Tholaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vigla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigla Hotel is situated at the traditional village Tholaria, overlooking the bay of Aegiali and the mountainous landscapes. It is perched at a high altitude (170 meters high), offering incomparable views to the guests. From above, you are invited to indulge in gazing down upon the magnificent view of the port of Aegiali, the fierce beauty of Kroukelos, the eye catching village of Lagada as the white little houses spread like a veil on the mountainside and the first houses of Tholaria rising from above like white pearls, with the church of Agioi Anargyroi standing out like a proper jewel. From the back side of the hotel, the view looks like a painting that has come out of the bold imagination of some talented artist. Breathtaking views to the enchanting ancient Aegiali on Mount Vigla, are standing proud guard for centuries. On one of the hills, the beautiful chapel of St. Dimitrios is perched, soothing the soul and forming the absolute serenity, as the sun goes down and beautiful colors overwhelm the sky and the hills. You will need just a few minutes’ drive from the port of Aegiali to reach Tholaria. If you wish to walk, it will take you about 30 minutes on foot from the old path. Besides the port of Aegiali, Vigla Hotel offers easy and prompt access to Katapola and Chora, the capital of the island. From the hotel, you can take the bus and reach all these destinations in minutes. If you have your own vehicle, ample parking space is offered outside the hotel and facilitates your stay. Combining panoramic views to the Aegean and the stunning mountainous landscapes with smooth access to all the sights and attractions of the island, Vigla Hotel welcomes you to Amorgos for unique holidays in Greece! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vigla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigla Hotel Amorgos/Tholaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing