We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacations destination”
Review of Vigla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vigla Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A beautiful hotel with wonderful service. The view from the village is also great, and the whole atmosphere is fantastic. We enjoyed our vacations a lot, and the personnel was very helpful with different tips and directions about the island!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisovyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent 10 days at the Vigla in August 2013. Being up in the mountains in Tholaria makes for stunning 3 way views over the sea, the mountains and the lovely fertile valley. There is a regular bus service from Tholaria to Aegali, Agios Pavlos, Chora and the monastery, so although we did not have a car we had no problem getting around the island. There are also fine walks-I would recommend the easy one hour stroll to Langada using the old stony path, the views are incredible.

As for the hotel, with 3 active young boys, the unusually good pool was ideal, with a large pool for confident swimmers and a shallow pool for tiny tots, plus Jacuzzi. The food is good home cooking-particularly the fava and the delicious cake at breakfast. The cocktails at the bar are also better than you get elsewhere and our children loved the milkshakes. The impressive Popi runs a tight ship and the family are charming. The rooms were very comfortable and clean-like others, I disliked the experience of being wrapped in the shower curtain in the tiny shower but what does it matter when you step out afterwards onto a beautiful terrace with lavish and well-maintained flowers?

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We had a wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is very much a family affair. From the father overseeing from a distance, to the mother who does the cooking (presumably not on her own) to the little boy who helps in the restaurant and the sisters who run the place everyone clearly has pride in what they do. And so they should. This is a well run, friendly, comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting.
It took us 24 hours to get here from door to door (we live in the UK) but it was well worth it. Amorgos is a delight and Vigla reflects that perfectly. The natural alarm clocks (donkeys braying and cockerels crowing) are about all that disturb the peace in this lovely, unspoilt place.
Just one gripe (and it has been mentioned in previous posts); the shower cubicle is so small that the shower curtain embraces you. However, after a couple of days you stop caring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baah-humbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A wonderful smell is coming from the kitchen every morning, you need to know that food is a matter of proud here, and we had all the reason to fall in love with it. Bottom line the hotel, rooms, pool and surrounding are near perfection. The owner's family are nice people, they seem to remain superficial with their customers when one may expect a deeper relationship, but they are very busy so I guess it is the way it is and once you are back home you remember only the very good moments. The view is exceptional and the place is as quiet as you dreamed it. After two days we rent a car, otherwise transportation is uneasy plus the bus is really overpriced for a 5 minutes drive down the port. Here is the island of the Big Blue so run to the Amorgos Diving Center and keep feeding your dreams...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanpierree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in Vigla Hotel in August. They were very helpful from the beginning of our communication. We made a directly request for availability through email and the replied kindly and immediately giving information and details about the accommodation, the transportation etc that help us to organize our trip. The hotel is a beautiful ornament in a beautiful village where the owners and the staff make more than their best for us to feel free and welcome. In the restaurant we tasted the most delicious staffed goat (local meat) and home-made apple pie!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stavroula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've visited Vigla with my wife for a couple of days in July and have left with very good impressions. Although the hotel is a family run business, it operates with very high standards of professionalism.

The rooms are very clean and the staff always keen to help and assist in every problem. The food served in the restaurant is very good (prepared by the mother) so there is no need to make the effort to go down to Aegiali for better restaurants. There is a also a nice swimming pool and bar to relax and have a drink.

You need a car however to explore the island and go out for dinner or drinks as the the hotel is located in Tholaria which is close to Aegiali but quite far from Katapola and Hora. Overall a good experience so would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here in July 2013. We were happy to experience the personal atmosphere created by the family.
Vigla is located very beautiful in the small village Tholaria, make sure to ask for sea view when booking so you really can experience the amazing views of Amorgos.
Rooms are of classic Greek standard, cleaned everyday.
Breakfast and dinner are cooked by the mother and is to compare with any of the restaurants of the island.
Pool and pool area is very clean and nice to have since it can be very warm in the mountains.
We would recommend to spend a couple of nights here, it's great to combine with a couple of nights in Aegili or Katapola.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholaria
0.8 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
690 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
98 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#5 of 12 in Amorgos
54 reviews
9.1 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#11 of 12 in Amorgos
9 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yperia Hotel
Yperia Hotel
#4 of 41 in Amorgos
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigla Hotel

Address: Tholaria 840 08, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Tholaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Price Range: £64 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vigla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigla Hotel is situated at the traditional village Tholaria, overlooking the bay of Aegiali and the mountainous landscapes. It is perched at a high altitude (170 meters high), offering incomparable views to the guests. From above, you are invited to indulge in gazing down upon the magnificent view of the port of Aegiali, the fierce beauty of Kroukelos, the eye catching village of Lagada as the white little houses spread like a veil on the mountainside and the first houses of Tholaria rising from above like white pearls, with the church of Agioi Anargyroi standing out like a proper jewel. From the back side of the hotel, the view looks like a painting that has come out of the bold imagination of some talented artist. Breathtaking views to the enchanting ancient Aegiali on Mount Vigla, are standing proud guard for centuries. On one of the hills, the beautiful chapel of St. Dimitrios is perched, soothing the soul and forming the absolute serenity, as the sun goes down and beautiful colors overwhelm the sky and the hills. You will need just a few minutes’ drive from the port of Aegiali to reach Tholaria. If you wish to walk, it will take you about 30 minutes on foot from the old path. Besides the port of Aegiali, Vigla Hotel offers easy and prompt access to Katapola and Chora, the capital of the island. From the hotel, you can take the bus and reach all these destinations in minutes. If you have your own vehicle, ample parking space is offered outside the hotel and facilitates your stay. Combining panoramic views to the Aegean and the stunning mountainous landscapes with smooth access to all the sights and attractions of the island, Vigla Hotel welcomes you to Amorgos for unique holidays in Greece! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vigla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigla Hotel Amorgos/Tholaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing