We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional, classic and friendly - fantastic breakfast!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vigla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vigla Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Professional, classic and friendly - fantastic breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Vigla hotel more than two years ago, in July 2012, but I still remember it very fondly - and we will definitely go back, to this lovely hotel and amazing Amorgos.

The surroundings of Tholaria village are perfect for shorter and longer nature walks. Bits of the track to Hozoviotissa can be challenging - we went out on a very hot and windy day, almost got lost at half way where goats have destroyed the path, and I was almost shocked at the very ending which is a true test of your faith!... if you have ever suffered from vertigo: try to find an alternative route to the last kilometer or so closest to the sea.

We spent one super lazy day at the impeccable and interestingly laid out pool, complete with a "moorish" round tower-hut with bubble pool. Lying back in that "jacuzzi" looking up into the clear blue sky is one of my most peaceful memories of our Greek holiday...

The family that owns and runs Vigla is just great. Perfectly balancing friendliness with discreet hospitality. And the food. OMG the food.

From the terrace restaurant the view is jawdropping. Get up for breakfast early, because you will want to stuff yourself, and the sunrise behind the mountain can be amazing. Some mornings the mist rolled over the mountain top in a spectacular way.

The town of Aegiali/ Egiali is right at the foot of the mountain on which Vigla sits, as an eagle nest with great views of the mountain and Aegiali town and beach. From Tholaria and Vigla you can walk down to shops and beach and restaurants in Aegiali in some 15 minutes (if my memory serves me right - you will want to leave your watch behind on Amorgos!) and take the bus back up in the evening.

I rated Rooms with 4 out of 5, due to the not-so-functional shower room, but from other more recent guests' reviews I gather that the bathrooms are being updated. Our problem with the bath in 2012 was that after a shower EVERYTHING was soaked...

Meanwhile we had a huge terrace complete with cikadas (but some nice lounge furniture other from two super-basic plastic chairs would be great) and an extremely comfortable bed. Decor is traditional and tasteful. Complimentary small bottle of local herb liqueur made us very happy :)

Amorgos and Vigla are just fantastic for nature lovers and anybody looking for a tranquil and sunny holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanjaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    69
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
160
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel Vigla is a family owned and operated hotel in the traditional Greek village of Tholaria, on the island of Amorgos. The owner lived in the USA for some years, so the hotel is a blend of traditional Greek culture and hospitality with western professionalism and standards.

Our room (no 13) had wonderful views over the valley , down to the port of Aegali and across to the neighbouring village. It was simply decorated, but spotlessly clean. The bathroom was brand new and very nice.

The hotel has a lovely pool.

The food is cooked by the owners wife and most of the staff are family. The food is wonderful, many of the ingredients coming from the family farm; it can t get any fresher or tastier !

We felt like we were part of the family, the hospitality was so warm and friendly.

Amorgos is a very traditional island, and Tholaria is a traditional village. Dont come here if you want a Mykonos or Ios experience. Do come here if you want to taste what Greece is really about and do stay at Vigla Hotel for great service, great food and VERY friendly atmosphere

Room Tip: Suggest rooms 12, 13, 14 and 15 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Panoramic view from room 15.Beautiful room with newly renovated bathroom ,and large balcony.Got all the information we needed on arrival and a welcome drink,very welcoming and appreciated the guests.Food was very tasty,with local specialty cooked by Mother each night.Great value too.We really enjoyed the walks through the mountains on the donkey trails.Do wear sturdy footwear,and a stick was invaluable for that uphill climb from the cove behind the hotel.Amorgos is a really stunning ,unspoilt island.We loved it,would return,and definitely to the Vigla.Thank you for the memories .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnes o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed a few days in this familial hotel up the hill in a small village with a wonderful view. The room was beautiful, clean and tidy. The family who runs the hotel is warmfull, helpful and professionnal. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cousin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed four nights in this wonderful hotel on Amorgos. This island is off of the beaten path and not over run by tourists and this beautiful hotel is up the hill in a charming small village. The views down to the sea are terrific. It is a family run place and the staff are wonderful. This is a wonderful place to visit if your looking to enjoy the peace and quiet of a beautiful Greek Island.

Room Tip: As for an upstairs room with a balcony and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codogno, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent our honeymoon in the month of September in the beautiful room No. 36, everything was magical, and spotlessly clean and tidy. the family that runs the hotel is fantastic, and it is not only kind to the business, but it is truly a wonderful family, always polite and professional, we are very affezzionati to them, and when we left it was very triste.si eat great time, the rooms were spotless, you wake up with donkeys, what more do you want from life? Vigla in your heart forever. remember that you are in a Greek island, and not in New York, so relax and enjoy the simplicity of the place and the wonderful people who live in that beautiful fairytale village. I know very well I have visited many islands in Greece, but the standard of Vigla makes the difference, because the people who live there love their job. PS: Amorgos is beautiful although very windy and I mean very windy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A beautiful hotel with wonderful service. The view from the village is also great, and the whole atmosphere is fantastic. We enjoyed our vacations a lot, and the personnel was very helpful with different tips and directions about the island!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisovyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholaria
0.8 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
9.1 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#10 of 12 in Amorgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#7 of 12 in Amorgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
8.4 mi away
Amorgion Hotel
Amorgion Hotel
#2 of 13 in Katapola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigla Hotel

Property: Vigla Hotel
Address: Tholaria 840 08, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Tholaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vigla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigla Hotel is situated at the traditional village Tholaria, overlooking the bay of Aegiali and the mountainous landscapes. It is perched at a high altitude (170 meters high), offering incomparable views to the guests. From above, you are invited to indulge in gazing down upon the magnificent view of the port of Aegiali, the fierce beauty of Kroukelos, the eye catching village of Lagada as the white little houses spread like a veil on the mountainside and the first houses of Tholaria rising from above like white pearls, with the church of Agioi Anargyroi standing out like a proper jewel.  From the back side of the hotel, the view looks like a painting that has come out of the bold imagination of some talented artist. Breathtaking views to the enchanting ancient Aegiali on Mount Vigla, are standing proud guard for centuries. On one of the hills, the beautiful chapel of St. Dimitrios is perched, soothing the soul and forming the absolute serenity, as the sun goes down and beautiful colors overwhelm the sky and the hills. You will need just a few minutes’ drive from the port of Aegiali to reach Tholaria. If you wish to walk, it will take you about 30 minutes on foot from the old path. Besides the port of Aegiali, Vigla Hotel offers easy and prompt access to Katapola and Chora, the capital of the island. From the hotel, you can take the bus and reach all these destinations in minutes. If you have your own vehicle, ample parking space is offered outside the hotel and facilitates your stay.  Combining panoramic views to the Aegean and the stunning mountainous landscapes with smooth access to all the sights and attractions of the island, Vigla Hotel welcomes you to Amorgos for unique holidays in Greece! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Vigla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigla Hotel Amorgos/Tholaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing