We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great British Pub ”
Review of Clifford Arms

Clifford Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Clifford Arms in Great Haywood is a traditional country pub offering a fine selection of cask-conditioned ales and guest beers together with a wide choice of freshly prepared meals and snacks. The pub has been a popular stopping-off point for boaters for many years - come along and find out why for yourself. We are perfectly located to the Trent and Mersey canal, canal bridge number 73, Shugborough Hall, Cannock Chase.Should you also wish to bring your dog into our pub then that is not a problem as we are dog-friendly!We are also proud to have received the Cask Marque accreditation - awarded to licensees for excellence in the service of cask ale and to be listed in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2016. Food served 12-2pm and 6-9pm daily.
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We charged into the Clifford Arms after a long day boating and were able to order food just before 9pm.

This is a proper pub, a bit rough round the edges, noisy, lively etc just as it should be.

It had the feel that most people in there knew each other and cared about each other, a pub in the heart of a strong community.

The food came quickly, was plentiful and very tasty. Puddings were delicious.

I loved this place, it's special just the way it is, I'm sure we'll be back.

Thank MrsFaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordArms, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

What a fabulous review (as much for our customers as for ourselves) - thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Didn't know places like this still existed. Turned up after 9pm with teenager and 11 year old on a rainy night to been told after finding a table and going to the bar to order that children aren't welcome after 9pm !! As others have said definitely a local pub for local people. No sign to this effect on their website or notice outside.. So have to assume it was a made up rule, guess we sat at some locals table ;-) .

So if you have children then best avoid at all cost.

Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordArms, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
In some ways you are right – the 9pm cut off time (or watershed) is a made up rule, although we prefer to call it a policy decision, and there are reasons for it.
While some customers may not approve – I’ve put links to a couple of articles below - children (accompanied by an adult) are welcome for 75% of our opening hours, i.e. between 12 noon and 9pm (9pm is stated on our website).
Given that one of the objectives of the Licensing Act 2003 is the protection of children from harm we have made a policy decision to designate the remaining 25% of opening hours as being an adult only environment. This is because food service finishes at 9pm and the premises can then be considered to fall into the category of one used “exclusively or primarily for the sale of alcohol for consumption on the premises”.
Whilst we do not consider the Clifford Arms to be a dangerous environment, we do not have the luxury of sufficient space to provide a separate family area, and cannot ensure that children do not overhear adult language or conversations on adult themes.

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2015/sep/03/pub-goers-children-badly-behaved-complaint-good-pub-guide
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddrink/pubs/11842516/Theres-only-one-solution-to-noisy-children-in-pubs.html

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Ten of us stopped in for a meal,food was great and the service you could not fault. Staff go out of their way to help you. Would recommend here.

Thank JCSPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordArms, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

We couldn't ask for a better review - and I have to say it was a pleasure to serve 28, 100, 101 and 102 :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Had a drink here on the way south on the canal last week - July 2016, and thought the food looked and smelt very good. So on the way back up north a few days later, we moored for the night at Great Haywood and ate there in the garden - it was a Wednesday so the Cap'n took advantage of a special offer including beer and I stuck to the white wine with my meal. Food was good and arrived quite quickly. Another good stop near the canal!

Thank garethgliderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordArms, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

First and probably the last visit for me. Food was okay but the service left a lot to be desired. Only benefit was it was within walking distance of where I was staying.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffordArms, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

I am sorry to hear that you visit was not such a good experience for you - but thank for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clifford Arms also viewed

 
Great Haywood, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Little Haywood, Stafford
 

Been to Clifford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing