We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fido is welcoe.”
Review of Clifford Arms

Clifford Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Clifford Arms in Great Haywood is a traditional country pub offering a fine selection of cask-conditioned ales and guest beers together with a wide choice of freshly prepared meals and snacks. The pub has been a popular stopping-off point for boaters for many years - come along and find out why for yourself. We are perfectly located to the Trent and Mersey canal, canal bridge number 73, Shugborough Hall, Cannock Chase.Should you also wish to bring your dog into our pub then that is not a problem as we are dog-friendly!We are also proud to have received the Cask Marque accreditation - awarded to licensees for excellence in the service of cask ale and to be listed in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2016. Food served 12-2pm and 6-9pm daily.
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Called for a lunch on Friday. Always a good sign when locals are present. Our dog thought it was her birthday; so many treats offered (after seeking permission}.There was a wonderful fire replenished often in the bar. The staff were so friendly, and our meals arrived quickly. We will be going again, and taking other to appreciate this comfy old pub.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

My apologies for not responding to your lovely review sooner - thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Not the usual standard, in fact it was poor. The evening was topped off by the rudeness of the manager.
To begin l ordered the burger with cheesy chips, l got plain chips, when l pointed this out that l ordered cheesy chips the waitress said "oh yeh my mistake," she went away and came back with a bowl of grated cheese? Not what l imagined cheesy chips to be.
To end the night we ordered 2 liquor coffees quote "served in a glass topped with whipped cream and accompanied by mint chocolates. When they arrived there was no whipped cream so l asked where is my cream. The young waiter said we haven't got any cream!! Not really good enough if you are advertising liquor coffees with whipped cream.
When l went to pay the bill l again pointed out what was on the menu and what we received, the lady went and told the manager he replied a liquor coffee is £4 with or without cream. I pointed out that the menu says with cream it says nothing about without cream.
He using bad language said how much is whipped cream then said its about £0.05p. He told the waitress to knock £0.10p off the bill. To save him losing any profit for the evening l told the waitress to charge the full amount. He missed the fact that that is not the point his menu says whipped cream.
We have been regular customers for over two years to the bar and restraunt spending on average £48 to £50 a time in the restraunt, but due to the managers total lack of politness and understanding of customer service and his rudeness, we will be looking elsewhere for our evenings out.

1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

I have been struggling for words to respond to your review. We clearly let ourselves down on this occasion and can only apologise for the chain of events which led to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Called in after an absence of 2+ years : very clean and tidy: dog friendly Menu choice good : portions extensive : extremely good value : recommend starter and sweet or just main! Staff friendly and welcoming ! a

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

After walking down the canal,we decided to lave lunch on the way home, looked nice out side and called in. Real pub good draft real ales, food menu was good also, only had sandwiches and a bowl of chips but hand cut thick bread, brown crispy chips and a fresh salad.
We we'll definitely be back

1  Thank nickfairclough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We had a meal here midday on Sept 1st and to be honest it was not as good as I'd expected.
Nothing major wrong but I think the ingredients used were not the best and that showed in the taste.
Sorry to say this as the setting in Great Haywood is second to none and the staff were very helpful - we'll give it another try as I'm sure it was just a one off.

Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

So sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal. Perhaps you would be kind enough to get in touch via e-mail (cliffordarms@gmail.com) and give me some additional information. It would be helpful to know which meals you had so we can look to making improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clifford Arms also viewed

 
Great Haywood, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
Little Haywood, Stafford
 

Been to Clifford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing