We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub by the river and canal”
Review of Clifford Arms

Clifford Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Clifford Arms in Great Haywood is a traditional country pub offering a fine selection of cask-conditioned ales and guest beers together with a wide choice of freshly prepared meals and snacks. The pub has been a popular stopping-off point for boaters for many years - come along and find out why for yourself. We are perfectly located to the Trent and Mersey canal, canal bridge number 73, Shugborough Hall, Cannock Chase.Should you also wish to bring your dog into our pub then that is not a problem as we are dog-friendly!We are also proud to have received the Cask Marque accreditation - awarded to licensees for excellence in the service of cask ale and to be listed in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2016. Food served 12-2pm and 6-9pm daily.
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Called in for lunch while walking the dog...great bitter...the food was very good and the atmosphere was of a friendly, village pub. There's a canal and river a short walk away as well as the Shugborough Estate. There's a nice beer garden and the place is well worth a visit. The food is very reasonably priced.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank jonnylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2017

The food was OK and portion size not bad but the service is so slow. We waited over an hour for a sandwiich... not enough staff for the amount of customers.... poor service.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank welovefood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

We are sorry you had a long wait - if this was the day that I think it was, we were rather taken by surprise by the number of people brought out by the sunshine. We are already reviewing our staffing arrangements in an effort to resolve this problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

I love the Clifford Arms. I visit once a month and the food is always delicious. The young waiter was very polite and helpful. Looking forward to my next visit

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Lalage T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

What a lovely review - thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Love going to this pub, the food is tasty and very generous portions. We always have a great time and get great service from the staff. It's a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

What a lovely review - thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Called for a lunch on Friday. Always a good sign when locals are present. Our dog thought it was her birthday; so many treats offered (after seeking permission}.There was a wonderful fire replenished often in the bar. The staff were so friendly, and our meals arrived quickly. We will be going again, and taking other to appreciate this comfy old pub.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy R, Public Relations Manager at Clifford Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

My apologies for not responding to your lovely review sooner - thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clifford Arms also viewed

Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Great Haywood, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Clifford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing