We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change of menu has brought this pub back to be an also ran.”
Review of The Old Quay Inn

The Old Quay Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devoran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Quay Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Devoran B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A change of menu has brought this pub back to be an also ran. No longer a place to be sought out. Whereas the menu used to be imaginative and interesting it is now the standard fare that is available virtually anywhere. Great shame.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Called in here for dinner...left soon after we ordered drinks. Brandy and half a beer. £9. How ridiculous. Locals all standing and sitting around the bar making it almost impossible to get any attention for drinks, menus etc. A couple left after walking in and seeing the 'arrangement' at the bar. Made to feel very uncomfortable. A pub for locals only!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frannyloustaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

In early May I had arranged to meet my wife here for lunch after a nice long walk and we were not disappointed. The pub interior was charming and the staff friendly and helpful. The lunch menu was varied and a good selection of dishes. The food was also excellent....... Definitely one to go back to!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Breakfast and dinner in the Inn's restaurant. Breakfast was a feast with so much to eat that the need for lunch evaporated. The mushrooms were particularly delicious and mountains of toast challenged the heartiest of our party. Dinner was equally great and the fish was fresh and tasty washed down with a very respectable white wine. Next time I intend to make use of the limited accommodation, just two double rooms.
On my priority list to visit again very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My father and I had lunch here and were really pleasantly surprised. I had the crab bisque to start with a garlic aioli and then steak and kidney pudding. Dad had the Fish and chips.

The bisque was stunning, with actually quite a lot of crab meat in it and was seasoned to perfection. The steak and kidney pudding was devine, Thing the size of a huge single ravioli and that was the size. The meat and kidney was compacted in the pastry with a highly reduced sauce to boot. Very good.

Fish and chips were great with very light, almost tempura light batter and home made tartare sauce. and the fish was very fresh indeed. We are going their soon for a Sunday lunch as they sell sirloin and not topside which most pubs sell these days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie543210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay Inn

Address: Saint John's Terrace, Devoran, Feock TR3 6ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Feock > Devoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Devoran
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing