We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An authentic Italian village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Filadelfia
windsor
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An authentic Italian village”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here in February for 4 days and loved our experience of being immersed in a real Italian hilltop village. The hotel was like a mini castle and had a great atmosphere. The nights were so quiet we slept really well and woke in the morning to the sound of bells and birdsong. We thoroughly enjoyed the plentiful continental breakfast with fresh croissants and cappuccinos, fruit and cereals. In the evenings we spent time in the snug reception lounge next to the logburning stove.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 with delightful views from a round window over the rooftops to the sea in the dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Windsormiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    41
    22
    9
    14
See reviews for
32
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

When our 5 were traveling around southern Italy we stopped and stayed in two rooms here in Filadelfia. I thought my husband would love it since he's from just outside Phila, Pa. What a nice place. We loved our stay here and were so happy to have friendly, helpful staff. They made us a delicious lunch and wow, just walking through the place was a pleasure. What a lovely little town. We only stayed one night on our way from Tropea to the airport which was perfect distance for a easy arrival for our flights. Thank you to everyone there!

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay, not too far from the airport. Wonderful hidden gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovinLifesJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

During a recent tour of Italy, my wife and I added three extra days in the Calabria region to visit the area in and around where my father was born (Maida, Italy). Being from the Philadelphia region of Pennsylvania I thought it would be interesting to stay Filadelfia, Italy while we explored. I came across the Residenza L'Antico Borgo Hotel on the internet and took a chance. In a word WOW. This is a GREAT place to stay and even better make new friends and become family members.

Go on their web site and see the photos. THEY DON'T DO JUSTICE!!! The decor is fabulous. With every turn, there is more and more to see. Lobby, breakfast room, dining room and guest quarters are terrific. Equally great is the food served. Breakfast is varied and fresh. Dinners were out of this world good. Portions, quality and service is second to none. Price is very reasonable and I can say we were more than pleased to dine at the hotel each night.

Now to the staff. Hotel manager Francesco was a real pleasure and I count him as a family member. We met his brother (don't remember his name) on our last night and and I felt truly among long lost family. These brothers are genuine and caring. I can't say enough how welcomed we were made to feel. The only thing disappointing about our stay was having to leave.

In every aspect, this is a GREAT place to stay and become family. If you're traveling to the region I cannot imagine finding a more warm, welcoming place to call a temporary home. Although satisfied with visiting the hometown of my father and his family, I'm sure I'll be longing for quite some time for a return visit to the charming village of Filadelfia and even more so to Residenza L'Antico Borgo Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxony-Anhalt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We spent one week before in a terrible hotel. This hotel now was what we expected. It is in an old house in a small city (15 min to sea by car). Rooms were clean and silent - at least in September. We were living at the upper floor. I heard the rooms located lower are not as nice. The best was the restaurant (we had half-board) - typical Italian food and an excellent ambient. Parking you can find easily in the streets around. Main square with some coffee shops is nearby. What we feel was missing - a veranda to sit there in the evening. This possible in the reception hall but there people were smoking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lutz-WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I found this hotel through Tripadvisor and the other reviewers were correct, it is a lovely quiet hotel 200mtrs off of the main street. The centre of the hotel is the reception and dining room with the bedrooms off in all directions, apart from the dining room you felt as if you had entered someones home. The staff were helpful and efficient but also creating a relaxed atmosphere, we felt at home straight away. The breakfast was to die for, whilst keeping all of the simple elements of a continental breakfast, every morning was different and fresh. To get the most out of staying here you really do need to hire a car. The hotel can arrange transport to and from the station.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laser8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Residenza l'Antico Borgo was our choice of hotel based on its proximity to the airport in Lamezia Terme and the descriptions we read on its website. We saw this as a great location for our return to the area after a visit to Sicily and Puglia and before catching our flight home from Lamezia.

I must admit that when we first started the drive up the secondary road to the hilltop, we had our reservations! However, once we arrived, any doubts about our choice were immediately eliminated. The town is as charming as can be with beautiful views as far as the sea. Moreover, the hotel was a total surprise, being much more attractive than as depicted in the website photos.

We were greeted by Francesco, one of the owners' sons, who treated us to an apéritif before taking us to our room. When his father arrived, he brought us Calabrian delicacies to munch on as he told us a little about the history of his family in the area. The family still produces olive oil and, at the end of our stay, we were given a litre to take home with us!

The rooms are quiet, comfortable and well-appointed with beautiful bathrooms. A most copious breakfast is included. In fact, when Francesco announced that "round four" was on its way, we had to tell him: "no more, please!"

There is also a gorgeous dining room where we had an excellent Calabrian meal (all food is prepared by Francesco's mother.)

The price we paid was only $60 for bed and breakfast - unbelievable value for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderlust50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filadelfia
7.8 mi away
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Piccolo Grand Hotel
#1 of 11 in Pizzo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Gullo
Hotel Gullo
#1 of 2 in Acconia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Antica
Hotel Villa Antica
#18 of 21 in Tropea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Residence La Giungla
Residence La Giungla
#2 of 5 in Falerna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
24.8 mi away
Grand Hotel La Tonnara
Grand Hotel La Tonnara
#4 of 8 in Amantea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Barbieri
Hotel Barbieri
#7 of 9 in Vibo Valentia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza L'Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza L'Antico Borgo

Property: Residenza L'Antico Borgo
Address: Via G.A. Vallone 15, 89814 Filadelfia, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Filadelfia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Filadelfia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza L'Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is an exclusive meeting point for every important occasion, in a smart atmosphere of elegance and nicety which underlines and enriches every event and holiday. Historical traditions respect and owners authenticity make this place unique. You can spend your holidays in a beautiful place, absorbed in a landscape which merges sea and mountains, with vast amusement opportunities, peace and entertainment. You can enjoy naturalist excursions in the surroundings, or cultural visits of absolute interest to Castelmonardo ruins and Serra San Bruno Carthusian monastery, along with wine and food tours discovering a region distinguished by its history and charm. Top quality services make particularly tempting various sport activities: trekking, mountain bike, trips and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Residenza L'Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing