We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Casali di Colle San Paolo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
I Casali di Colle San Paolo
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I Casali di Colle San Paolo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

One of my favorite places in Italy, I Casali di Colle San Paolo is magical spot tucked in the hills of Umbria near the town of Tavernelle. I stayed for two weeks in the recently remodeled stone farmhouse of Molinella. Our apartment had all the conveniences of the modern world--dishwasher, washing machine, air conditioning, and beautiful bathrooms, plus endless Italian charms that you can't find anywhere else. (Americans be prepared to hang your clothes to dry--you might actually find yourself enjoying this method as I did!) The kitchen is well appointed and I enjoyed cooking meals. The apartment comfortably slept five of us. With three hamlets on the property, there are a variety of different options to accommodate families and groups of different sizes. The hamlets are spaced out enough to feel remote while still remaining close to town. The surrounding area is stunning, with views of wooded hillsides, olive trees, and vineyards in every direction. Be sure to stop by the cheese maker's for fresh pecorino and yogurt on your way up the hill. You may even catch a glimpse of the shepherdess grazing through with her flock. There are gorgeous pools for sunbathing and swimming and patios equipped with BBQ's and tables for outdoor cooking and dining. The wooded area is full of hiking and mountain biking trails. The location is perfect for day trips to Panicale and other nearby fortified cities. One of the best things about Colle is the family that owns the property. They go above and beyond to ensure the comfort of their guests, and to make sure your experience is unforgettable. They are an excellent source of recommendations for local dinning and attractions, and happily coordinate outings from truffle hunting and wine tasting to visiting the local chocolate factory and ancient Etruscan ruins. I give Colle my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
37
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I read the great reviews but didn't think I would be so bowled over by this place. It was more than good - it was extraordinary.

First let's get some basics out of the way. The setting is gorgeous, as I expected from the photos. Our apartment in Fontanelle was clean and practical, nothing too fancy.

What makes this place special are its proprietors. Without them we never would have attended the local church fundraising dinner, where our kids played soccer with the locals on the square. We never would have gone truffle hunting with a count, quite an experience. We never would have had that private wine tasting dinner on a beautiful estate. My kids wouldn't have been able to attend an excellent week long art camp, where they made close friends and enjoyed the now rare freedom of playing outdoors, unattended, for hours.

Monika and Sabine do more than go out of their way to help you. They make you, for a brief time, part of their lives. My daughter was nearly devastated to go.

To be honest, I wondered a little about this place because it is, relatively speaking, considerably less expensive than hotels we had stayed at in the past. I would never have guessed our experience would end up being so rich, particularly for our kids. Just go.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2andthrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay; I Casali di Colle San Paolo is magical. Monica, one of the owners, was very helpful. She emailed us 14 pages of information about what to do in the area. She speaks English and so was very helpful when we had questions or problems. I am only frustrated that we couldn't stay longer than one week to do and see more! Our family (me, my husband and 4 children - ages 19-6) were enchanted with the natural beauty - no car sounds, no plane sounds, no sirens. We went out at night to just look at the stars! You are on top of a mountain and it's breathtaking. It was so restful and peaceful. The apartment we stayed in "Il Frontoio" in the Farmhouse Fontanelle was a perfect size for the 6 of us. It was very clean; had a kitchen so we could have a few breakfasts and lunches. Monica prepared breakfast for us the first morning for a small few and I would highly suggest adding this to your stay! I am also sad that I am no longer in Italy for the wonderful food and breakfasts! I Casali is a great location for a "home base". You can take day trips and return at night. I think when you are traveling with younger children it's important to be in one place for their comfort. We really enjoyed the following day trips: Sienna; Pisa (just to see it); Firenze (Florence, but if you want to see David, please get tickets well in advance; we took a two hour train and were not able to see Michelangelo's David; after a brief cry on my part, we walked to the Ponte Vecchio and all was well!); Assisi, Castiglione del Lago; San Feliciano and the ferry to Isola Polvese. The pool is fabulous; although the air temperature did not warm up for us to swim alot - because we are American!!! Please be aware that the driveway is long and steep-again, we are American's and had to drive a manual transmission!!! I would absolutely go back and stay at I Casali!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed for a week in La Rovarella, a one bedroom villa.
The villa was very large, with a large grassed area, BBQ, & shared pool.
The villa is very comfortable, with everything you could need
We were lucky, as the other 2 apartments were empty while we were there, but the way they are placed, I think you would still have plenty of privacy and quiet, even if they were both occupied.
The area is close to Tavernelle, for supplies and restaurants.
It is an easy drive to Assisi, Perugia, Spoleto, and the list goes on.
The local cheese and yoghurts are excellent as well.
Monica was an excellent host.
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Beautiful retreat in the Umbrian hills. You are very well looked after and the facilities are excellent. Plenty to do and see in the locality; nicest of all was to relax by the "pool with a view" or to go for a walk on the estate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had a wonderful 8 day stay at this beautiful villa in the hills of Umbria. The setting was very peaceful and the view was fantastic. The apartment we stayed in had 2 very spacious bedrooms, one of which was on the second floor; 2 bathrooms - one with shower & one with bathtub; a good sized living room with a huge fireplace and comfortable seating; and a good sized, eat-in kitchen with a cook top, oven, dishwasher and full sized refrigerator. Screens on the windows are a real plus. Monica was a wonderful host who was on site most days to check on how things were going. She arranged to have a very tasty meal brought in for our first night, suggested a very good cooking school and a wine tasting experience for us.The villa has a large pool although the water temperature was fairly cool with a large pool deck with plenty of seating. Also a huge common room with a large kitchen, comfortable seating around a large fireplace and plenty of tables to serve food to a larger group. The WiFi was accessible only in the common room although we found that we could also access it from the pool deck if we positioned ourselves in the right spot. We used the apartment as a base for day trips to communities in Umbria and Tuscany so its location worked well for our purposes. The nearby community of Tavernelle has a very good supermarcato (Conad), onteca and fresh pasta shop. The only downside to the villa is that the apartment has only one bathroom with a shower and that bathroom was accessed through the adjoining bedroom on the second floor.The villa is located up a fairly long, steep drive on a gravel road so that can be an initial challenge to those not used to a manual transmission. Gets easier after you do it once or twice. The beds were pretty firm as well. However those few issues did not significantly interfere with our enjoyment of the villa.

Room Tip: Upstairs bedroom in the 2 bedroom apartment at Fontanelle has the adjoining bathroom with shower whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This summer we stayed a week at Colle San Paolo. The way we were received was very warm and we felt immediately welcome. The appartment, the surroundings, the pool it was all excellent. Very clean, outstanding facilities, for example free WIFI at the pool: very nice when you have a daughter of 14 years old!
The final 500 meters of the road to our appartment was perhaps a little bit challenging, the stay made a very worth wile.

We will be back some time, that is for sure!

Hans, Irene, Céline and Esmée

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernelle di Panicale
0.5 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
4.1 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country House Montali
Country House Montali
#2 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Al Giardino degli Etruschi
18.9 mi away
Ripa Relais
Ripa Relais
#2 of 112 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
6.1 mi away
Il Cantico della Natura
Il Cantico della Natura
#1 of 32 in Magione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Casali di Colle San Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Casali di Colle San Paolo

Property: I Casali di Colle San Paolo
Address: Loc. Muserale 8 Colle San Paolo | Panicale, PG, 06068 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three 17th-century farmhouses on an olive-oil producing estate on the hills surrounding Lake Trasimeno (Umbria). Totally immersed in nature, surrounded by old olive trees and oak woods. Beautiful, unspoilt views of countryside and rolling hills. The farmhouses are a few minutes by car one from the other, and about 10 minutes by car to the closest village. They have been divided into 9 apartments, 2 cottages and a 3-floor villa, for a total of about 55 guests. Two of them have panoramic pools and terraces with barbecue;several apartments have their own private terrace or garden equipped for eating outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your I Casali di Colle San Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Casali Di Colle San Paolo Italy/Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing