We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa di Monte Solare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

A beautiful Country residence brought lovingly up to date with spacious elegant bedrooms complete with individually choosen furnishings. We arrived to meet up with friends who had already been there for one week, Rosi went out of her way to ensure we were in rooms close together. We stayed in the main villa which made us feel as if we were staying as special friends of hers. All the staff seemed to just want you to enjoy your stay with them. Excellent food and service, breakfast outdoors in the sun was definitely the way to start each glorious day we spent there. Very special cookery classes, we made (with a little help from chef) a five course meal and then with the chef and Rosi Iannarone sat down to enjoy the meal together -wonderful.
The only drawback was we could only stay for 7 days, next time will be longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

My husband and I spent two miraculous nights in this family-owned hotel-villa. We travel a lot, and this was the most refine and charming hotel we've experienced in Italy.

This ancient villa is in a beautiful setting, on the top of a hill ("Monte Solare"), with a view all around on the gentle hills of Umbria, surrounded by its private gardens and olive groves, very romantic! The villa itself was renovated to the highest standards, and is so elegant and beautiful in all its details. Our room was large and comfortable, with a separate walk-in closet and marble bathroom.
The villa is so full of character and charme, thanks to the presence of the couple who own the hotel. The staff was very friendly and efficient, and helped us organizing our day trips to nearby Perugia and the famous Cashmere stores. A real highlight were the dinners in the restaurant of the Villa: the wonderful food and wines, the fireplace and the soft classical music.

We warmly recommend everyone who wishes to have a taste of Umbria at its best. We know for sure that we'll return, at the latest in spring to try the pool in the garden.

Elisabeth Kanitz and Uri Harash

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

On our recent trip to Italy we had occassion to stay at this wonderful hotel. Our room was in a separate house from the main building. The room was large and comfortable with all the amenities one would need. It was a quite location among the Olive Trees with a patio. The owners make their guests feel very much at home and welcomed. The restaurant is 5 star in our book. The meals are creative, delicious and beautifully serviced by a caring and fun staff that simply want to please. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in this area as among the best.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My boyfriend and I, with the company of our dog and hamster, have spent a wonderful weekend in this amazing place! The whole staff is extremely helpful, friendly and kind. Our special thanks go to all of them: the owner, that helped us with directions on the way there and that gave us a lovely welcome; to his wife that always asked how we were (including the dog :) ); to Jennifer, who gave us all the information we needed before booking and during our stay; to Silvia, who, with great and infinite patience helped me choosing the right spa treatment; to Mirko and the waiters (sorry we don't know their names) that served us at breakfaat and dinner always with a big smile on their faces; to the ladies that came to clean our room, trying to fit in with our routine; to the girls at the spa, that made that experience even more relaxing and pleasant; to all the rest of the staff that made us feel like at home.
Because we have a dog, we were given a spacious room in the 'Limonaia' building: a place surrounded by lemon trees and rosemary plants separated from the villa. Outside the room door there was a little garden with a table and chairs, lovely place to enjoy the view. The bathroom had both shower and tub (but no bidet, in case you mind) and was really big. Of course bath soap, cream and shampoo were given but what we really liked was a little box with little accessories in: from a little sponge to the sowing kit. Fresh juices were served every day for breakfast, along with coffee and teas and few selections of hams, cheeses, cereals and cakes. Dinners were every night a delicious experience. Despite we had to choose for three nights from the same menu (an extra day-dish off the list was proposed on two nights) we had always something different and we had never been disappointed with the choices we made and the portions were just the right amount.
At reception they gave us a couple of walk tracks during which we could admire a nice view of the lake Trasimeno and the hills around enjoying the peace and the quitness around us.
The spa experience was good as well, and since it's necessary to book the treatment in advance you get the place with sauna, steam room and shower all for yourself, which makes it even more relaxing and private.
The grounds were well kept and clean, with lots of different kinds of plants, two open swimming pool and a tennis court! The location is quite good, both if you want to spend a relaxing and quite weekend using the hotel amenities and walking around, and if you want to use it as a starting point to visit Perugia, the lake Trasimeno and other parts of Umbria and south Tuscany.
Hope to have mentioned everything. We are already suggesting the place to everyone we talk to and we hope we'll be able to go back during next spring/summer.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocherMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We just arrived home from a 3 week trip through Firenze, Tuscany and Umbria. The Villa di Monte Solare was one of our top two favourite stays throughout our journey. Everything was as advertised. The ambience, service and food were excellent. Our favourite touch was the wood burning fire that was lit each evening in the dining room. This is a lovely villa.
The Demeyeres

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here for a week and we would like to say how much we enjoyed our stay, a really friendly welcome, all the staff were lovely and nothing was to much trouble. We took advantage of the cooking class on offer where we had a wonderful lunch eating what the chef and ourselves had prepared. The room was large with great views, plenty of local walks and we were happy to stay in the hotel all day or quite happy exploring the local area. We would love to return, and would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dylanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We spent a week in July on this property. We usually stay in SLH (Europe) during our holidays, so we have accumulated some expectations after several previous experiences.

First of all, we came by car. I don't think there is any other way to come to villa di monte solare, unless you want to spend all your days on the property. It is totally remote.
This can be very charming to some, but for us it had some drawbacks.
When we wanted to dine in some local restaurants we are familiar with, we had to return a long end uphill in the dark, street lights are very scarse and the narrow roads are rural and steep.
So indeed, once you did get up there: views are stunning (if you ignore two radioactive plants nearby [nonactive (yet?)]).

The hotel managment is what you would expect; they are friendly and helpfull. The hotel manager is ready to welcome you and tell you all about the property and surroundings.

The room (classic double) was average, it had all we needed; but it was not luxurious. It was clean and had a good shower. When you turned on the TV, it always displayed as a first option paychannels or movies. To us, this felt a bit like a trap. In the bathroom there was a little message saying not to spoil a lot of "precious water from the wells". The price was totally overrated, even if you consider we got last minute price.

Breakfast was absolutely perfect, it was definetely above average. I also think the staff serving breakfast were genuinly friendly and trying to make it a pleasant experience.
Even when the coffee machine broke down, they did all they could to provide coffee.

A few days we were unlucky to have rainy weather. We decided to stay in the room and watch tv. Suddenly, a member of the personnel just entered our room with a key without knocking the door. He said he came to replace a coke in the fridge (but we hadn't drunk anything from the minibar our entire stay!). This is really unacceptable.

Another disturbing fact was the letter that was hanging on our minibar door because we had put some drinks and food in the fridge. These were leftovers from our car trip, we didn't want to spoil this food/drinks. This was all taken away = gone = not in the room anymore. We had to go to the reception to be "lectured". Really the way this was dealt with and the way the message was written was discomforting. It made me want to leave. From that time on, I didn't feel like I was on a holiday, I felt somewhat controlled and checked by the owner.

We didn't use the wellness, maybe we would have if the prices were acceptable.
We took a look at the restaurant menu, there were some good dishes.
But because we were so annoyed by the fact they had 'lectured us', we chose not to eat there.
The swimming pool was good.

Conclusion: we would not go back. In the end the price is too high for what you get.
It is too remote and we were bothered a lot by the message on the minibar door.
We think the hotel is suited for people wanting to stay at the hotel property and are willing to spend a lot of money for this.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gentilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernelle di Panicale
12.9 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
663 reviews
3.6 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
502 reviews
23.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
1,744 reviews
19.7 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
681 reviews
24.6 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Monte Solare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Monte Solare

Address: Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06064 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range: £87 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Monte Solare 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a remote hillside above Lake Trasimeno, Villa di Monte Solare nestles in gorgeous grounds punctuated by cypress trees and fountains a few miles from Perugia. An enchanting villa, that for centuries was home to an aristocratic family, it is now a delightful boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant, two swimming pools, a tennis court and a pampering spa.Rooms and suites at Villa di Monte Solare are distributed between the villa, complete with marble fireplaces, terracotta floors and antique furniture, or in one of the 350-year-old farmhouses on the estate, also beautifully furnished but with a more rustic feel. Wander around the walled Italian garden and discover the chapel. Then, head to the pool and take in the sweeping views of the Muserale Valley and the Mongiovino hills.Take a cooking class with the chef to learn authentic Italian cuisine and then try to match a wine to your dish with a wine tasting session. In between swimming, relaxing, spa treatments and tennis find some time to visit some of the nearby villages for a feel of Umbrian life. End your day with delicious Italian cuisine in Villa di Monte Solare’s restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa di Monte Solare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Monte Solare Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Hotel Di Monte Solare
Di Monte Solare Hotel
Villa Di Monte Solare Italy/Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing