We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting by the river!”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed two nights. Arrived on Friday night - service was good but the food was not great.
It was an ok hotel for stopping by as we were going to a wedding but nothing special!

Lovely walk by the river though and a nice bistro close by serving cakes and nice coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we will use your feedback to help improve the service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Had a lovely time at the Unicorn. Staff friendly and helpful.10 of us for the evening meal.Very good service not waiting long for the meals and good value.The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable plenty of room.The breakfast was cooked fresh .Very good value for money would stop here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

A lovely review, thank you. We are really pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your reunion visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed on Saturday night, it was our second visit, lovely clean roon, modern bathroom, comfortable bed. Breakfast was freshly cooked , good quality, yes the service was a little slow, because the one girl on duty seemed to be doing everything. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your kind comments its always nice to see our repeat customers. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just stayed the 1 night after a days shopping in Nottingham ,lovely setting by the river with riverside walks down to he locks and beyond . lovely pub with reasonably priced menu , a bit short on staff and had run out of a couple of things we had chosen of the menu.. bedroom was clean with a modern bathroom ...had a good nights sleep breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order ... an enjoyable stay ...would happily recommend it .

Room Tip: room 4 looked over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were a group that met at the Unicorn on a Friday evening. The bar staff had little knowledge of the wine list and after a rather long delay ascertained that a lot of the wine list wasn't available. The first waitress had an incredible attitude and was openly hostile. The replacement service staff tried hard to recover the situation but were very busy with a lot of other customers. The food was variable but the biggest negative was the service attitude. I would think very carefully about returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W0rldTraveller_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations this time. I will use your feedback to assist in ongoing staff training with my team. In respect of limited wines on offer during your visit, this unfortunately was due to a pending menu change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Staff were friendly, couldn't do enough for us especially Melanie. Evening meal was good quality and very reasonably priced, atmosphere was lovely. We stayed in room 14 the bed was luxurious with lovely fresh bedding. room was very clean and modern bathroom. Breakfast was all freshly cooked, would happily recommend it. Surroundings were stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your kind review we hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Gorgeous fresh hot food quick service value for money. I was gonna have a hot chocolate but spotted one of the girls licking her fingers after dipping into the Marshmallow jar yuk yuk apart from that lovely evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
7.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#19 of 41 in Nottingham
1,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Bridgford Hill
East Bridgford Hill
#4 of 26 in Nottingham
68 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#2 of 4 in Lowdham
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bingham Townhouse
The Bingham Townhouse
#1 of 1 in Bingham
418 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe NG14 7FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range: £50 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Gunthorpe/Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing