We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, wonderful position”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunthorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed in the Unicorn Hotel on our way to Centre Parc, what can I say, it is in a wonderful position over looking the River Trent. The hotel itself, was very clean and the staff most helpful , room 7 is overlooking the river and very comfortable, breakfast was freshly cooked and very plentiful. We had an evening meal which was also very nice, all in all a very nice place to stay

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 186460Taffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

we stayed at the unicorn hotel as we were down from Edinburgh for 2 nights as our horse was racing at southwell , I cant thank the staff enough as from when we booked in till we left they looked after us very well, the hotel was very clean , breakfast was excellent ,evening meal we had was very good as was the service, what a change to have a decent shower in the room, all in all a very good hotel to stay at and very well priced at £50 per night for b&b for 2 people, thank you once again to all the staff for the service you gave us, we will use this hitel again if in the area.
.ps no our horse did not win.

Room Tip: we stayed on 1st floor rooms 1 to 10 to the rear of the hotel very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemount230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased your enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here with another family for two nights late December- rooms very clean, breakfasts fabulous! Really good location by the river with choice of venues nearby! Good value for money!! Particularly want to thank staff for finding and sending back lost property - very precious christmas present to Ireland- much appreciated! That sort of thing makes a big difference when travelling with kids!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janineb718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Our company of four adults and a child ate at the Unicorn again yesterday evening.
The food was good and well prepared and the service was both efficient and extremely polite.
Well done Dan,Joe and Sara.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the service and meals we offer and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

went to visit family and stayed at this hotel/pub, staff great couldnt do enough for you, dan great and rooms reasonably priced , would go again as great location next to the river and an ideal place to visit family

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilawalls57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night only when visiting Nottingham. Was reasonably priced so was not expecting anything brilliant. Was pleasantly surprised. The room was small but very clean and tidy. The breakfast was excellent. Had an evening meal that was very good considering this is a large pub chain restaurant.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Airliebirdhull1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed two nights. Arrived on Friday night - service was good but the food was not great.
It was an ok hotel for stopping by as we were going to a wedding but nothing special!

Lovely walk by the river though and a nice bistro close by serving cakes and nice coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we will use your feedback to help improve the service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe NG14 7FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Gunthorpe/Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing