We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Found the staff very friendly and accomodating. Rooms spacious and beds very comfortable. Nice location beside the river and lots of nice walks. Our visit was an emergency as our mother was very ill and passed away whilst there. The compassion and kindness shown us by the manageress and staff was exceptional helping our stay more bearable. We have visited this pub/hotel many times but never stayed there. We were very pleased to have been made so welcome. Breakfast was included and was a great meal to start off the day with lots of choices.

Thankyou to all the staff at the unicorn for all you did for us during a difficult time. We would love to visit you again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pockos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future under better circumstances. I will let the staff know how grateful you were too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    81
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
54
104
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Unicorn. The location is idyllic, with great walks along the river Trent. Quiet location, friendly staff, comfortable room. Although based in a busy pub, it was perfectly quiet in our room (17).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked this hotel as we were attending a wedding at Woodborugh Hall. The setting is lovely facing the river, with river cruises. The hotel and pub was very nice, the receptionist wasn't over friendly when we checked in but polite enough. Our room was lovely with a very comfy bed big fluffy pillows, very clean bright and quiet. Bathroom was on the small side but very adequate but the shower was fab. My only complaint was the size and lack of towels we just had one each and they were very small. When I asked for an extra towel for my hair I was told the house keeper was due to start in 10 mins and I could go look for her, not the answer I wanted to hear. The breaksfast was very good and a good choice with plenty of fruit juices, tea coffee. We didn't get to eat in the hotel but the menu looked very good, we did manage to have just a sweet one night and they both where very good. There is a big car park at the rear of the hotel. We will definitely be returning and try one of the river cruises and the pub food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy41black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel last Sunday with my son and his family en route from visiting family in Lincoln to CenterParcs in Nottingham and couldn't have picked a better location. Incredibly comfortable beds and large bedrooms. Best showers I have had in comparable hotels and modern fittings and tiles in the bathrooms. Extremely helpful staff and very child friendly. Ate in hotel - nothing fancy just typical pub food which was good value for money. There are other restaurants close by if something more "up market" is required. Would definitely stay again if in the area and would recommend.

Room Tip: If you are on the tall side ask for a room with a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorp861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects with your stay and we hope that you use us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just got back from another weekend at the Unicorn, stayed room 15 Sat & Sun. Had an evening meal on Sat, everything was excellent, the largest portion of scampi i have had anywhere. Must give our waitress Melanie a mention she was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Really can't fault the place, we will be back again in June or July. Linda & Andy Upton

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and i have passed on your comments to Mel, we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Unicorn "Hotel" is part of the Marston "Inns" chain. My wife and I had the mis-fortune to stay at this hotel after attending a friend's birthday party in Nottingham. Reception was hap-hazard, to say the least - an opening at the end of the bar and we were kept waiting whilst the bar staff served customers - no designated receptionist. Our room (room 5) was cramped, with an en-suite the size of a postage stamp. The heated towel rail didn't work, the television didn't work, the bedside clock didn't work. The room was furnished with cheap pine furniture and, as the floor wasn't level, the wardrobe doors were difficult to close. There was a dried-on stain on the wall by the full-length mirror and the flush light fitting overhead was full of dead gnats and moths. The net curtains were badly in need of a wash and we only had one flat pillow each to sleep on. The cooked breakfast was of a greasy spoon cafe standard and I had to ask for a cracked cup to be changed.

This is not a hotel, it's a waterside pub serving pub grub. Never again.

Room Tip: Can't think of one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_mckenzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
Unfortunately on this occasion, we failed to deliver the standards we usually offer. Had you of mentioned any of the problems you encounted during your time with us then we would of been more than happy to of swapped your room for you and to of sorted out the problem you had with your television and towel rail.
If you wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We knew the Unicorn as we used to live nearby but it would not have been a place to stay then, (quite a few years ago). We stayed one night, the staff member gave a warm welcome. Our room was very dark as it had a small window overlooking air vents (I think they were). It was quite a large room with a bathroom which was also large with modern fittings and tiles. The drawback apart from the bedroom being dark was to access the bathroom you had to go up two steps, not a problem, apart from the spot light above the steps was not working and another bulb could not be found. My husband a typical electrician gave it a bang, we had a light for the steps and making our cuppa. We ate in the restaurant at night, the same lady served being more than helpful with my dietary needs. We will probably stay again if we are in the area as we found it to be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jccj49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad your enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
5.8 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
7.4 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
11.5 mi away
Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Bingham Townhouse
The Bingham Townhouse
#1 of 1 in Bingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Property: Unicorn Hotel
Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Gunthorpe, Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing