We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked a one night stay at the Unicorn whilst visiting family nearby. It's part of the Marstons Inn chain and so is a pub/restaurant with rooms above. The location is nice as it is right by the river with plenty of parking to the front and rear though it was busy when we arrived on a sunny Saturday. Check in was with cheerful staff and we were allowed to put our luggage in the room even though we arrived a little bit early and the room wasn't ready.
After changing we popped into the pub for a quick pint before attending the family event. The pub and restaurant seem to be popular with the locals and as mentioned was quite busy with a lot of diners and families enjoying the open spaces outside.
On returning to the hotel in the evening ( though having a nightmare getting a taxi from Bingham to Gunthorpe. ) the room was clean and tidy and of a decent size. The furniture was a bit tired being 70's stained pine but everything was serviceable with plenty of storage. Fluffy towels and tea /coffee making facilities were supplied.
Being an old building and on the river does have a bit of a drawback as we spent the first part of the evening getting rid of many spiders hanging around the ceiling and a lot of insects flying around. You can't prevent insects getting in if it is a hot day and the window is open but the spider webs looked like they had been there a while so maybe the vacuum cleaner needs to be put around the ceiling and walls as well as the floor.
It was also a little noisy at the front on Sunday morning as people were meeting up with friends in the car park opposite to go off somewhere for the day. It is popular so be aware.
Breakfast in the morning was a decent selection of juices and cereals and a choice of hot food. We returned a couple of hard fried eggs with no problem and received freshly cooked ones as soon as they could do them.
Overall it was a good stay a with a comfy bed, good location and not bad value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobilemess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to the staff members to make them aware. If you book with us again then we are more than happy for guests to request rooms at the back of the hotel that are more quiet. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Unicorn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Four of us recently had the undoubted pleasure of staying at this hotel. The welcome was great, the rooms were really comfortable and the showers were absolutely fantastic. We arrived at about 3pm, and after booking in decided to have a cold drink in the bar, well set out as although a huge room it is broken up into smaller areas by judicious placing of walls.

Nothing too much trouble for the staff and when we decided to eat earlier rather than later, the staff automatically asked if we wished to put the meal and further drinks onto the rooms, for us it was very convenient to do this rather than pay for each round separately.

A short walk across a very quiet road (it's a no through road) and a car park and you are at the riverside - very pleasant to sit here on a warm summer evening after a stroll to the lock and back.

All in all, a really lovely place to stay, and we will most certainly be doing this when we are in the vicinity again.

Room Tip: We only had rooms at front but did not notice any undue noise, so rooms at back would be even quiete...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and you found the staff helpful and friendly. I will pass your comments on so that the staff are aware how happy you were. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at the unicorn for 2 nights and all I can say is I cannot fault the place at all. It was extremely busy on both nights - Friday and Saturday and the staff coped very well considering the amount of people in the place and the wedding party that seemed to be staying. I would highly recommend this hotel as the staff are all very friendly and helpful, rooms spotless and the evening meals we had were superb. And the breakfast, you don't go to many places that cook to order these days. We will definitely stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidG_1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a hotel that is an add on to a popular riverside pub nicely located for seeing Nottingham and the Ale of Belvoir. There is a number of steps to get to the rooms which are spacious and clean. Breakfast which was included was very good and the pub does reasonable meals in the evening. Large car parks front and rear of the pub.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulb1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

visiting family stayed here for 2 nights in May and found accommodation fine. Two lots of stairs to negotiate to bedrooms. Not suitable for people with disabilities as no lift. Clean and neat rooms. Prices seem variable and breakfast was good and included in price. Located on the River Trent at Gunthorpe with ample parking. Restaurant meals only average and seem to be preprepared.

Room Tip: have a room overlooking then River
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dowerinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

If you decide to use us again, for a better rate visit the marstons website where we can guarantee that this will be cheaper for you.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just needed a one night stay close to the National Watersport centre. The Unicorn was perfect for our needs, but would actually be a really great base for a longer stay.
Check-in was friendly and efficient, the room was really large and a nice little touch of some bottles of water provided. We ate in the restaurant, food was lovely and service was great. The restaurant was busy but quietened down later on, so there was no problem with noise. A short stroll along the banks of the river finished off the evening perfectly.

It was only after our stay though that I really appreciated the staff's efficiency. I was stupid enough to leave my coat behind and they very kindly posted it back to me, free of charge. Well done the Unicorn!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeuluJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

Here at The Unicorn we aim to be a class above the rest, so it was our pleasure in making sure you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

KInd Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Decided to stay here due to its proximity to Gunthorpe Leisure boats, we had organised a rental for the day with friends...wish we had driven home instead...our copy of the email sent to the Unicorn Inn....awaiting a reply

Dear Sir/Madam

Further to my conversation with L***a (DM) on the morning of Sunday 18th May I write to make an official complaint regarding our stay and the completely unacceptable level of safety and duty of care afforded to your guests.

The facts are as follows;

At 6.30am we were awoken by the hotel fire alarm (Room 07) and after a few moments of realising what the noise was, made our way downstairs to find approximately 10-15 other guests outside having been woken by the same alarm. Some guests were leaving at that stage but our friends were also outside along with guests from Room 8 & 12. It quickly became clear that there was no member of staff on site despite the increasing noise (or so we thought). We telephoned the emergency numbers (see attached photo) with no response. Rooms 8 & 15 also did this from various locations within the hotel. Uncertain as to what was happening, one of the guests rang the fire brigade who duly arrived at 7.10am.

The alarm eventually switched itself off at 7.05am, some 35 minutes after it started. Two fire engines arrived and the firemen inspected the property thoroughly for about 15/20 minutes and could also not locate any staff member or evidence of a fire. As the fire crew were informing us that they thought it was safe, we saw somebody smoking (STOOD INSIDE THE HOTEL, WHICH IS TECHNICALLY ILLEGAL I BELIEVE) by the rear upstairs fire door. The fire crew shouted up to her (who we now know is called *********) and she asked "is there a problem?". With two fire engines outside the hotel, 3-5 firemen and a group of guests stood in the car park and her smoking by a fire escape you could not script it!!

******* told the fire service that she had not heard the alarm and that the alarm had not gone off. She also said that nobody had rang the emergency lines. THESE ARE BOTH BLATANT LIES. The guests in Room 8 recorded the alarm on their telephone if you really need proof.

I really have no need to express how I feel, to be stood outside a hotel with very young children on a Sunday morning at 6:30am, for one hour whilst your staff did not answer the phone but lie in bed, then have the audacity to lie to the emergency services about what was happening. Words simply fail me and it's an absolute disgrace that this should be allowed to happen in your hotel.

Fortunately, as the DM, L**** realised this was very serious and her apology seemed sincere and whilst the gesture to cover our bill was appreciated, the point here is far more serious than a few pound notes, we could be discussing something far more sinister.

I do hope that you have a good look at your policy and procedures following this incident as clearly your current standards fall well short of what is required and as a family, rest assured we will never use Marstons Inns again.

In addition, leaving my wallet on the dinner table on the evening prior and having the money taken out of it, and also after booking a family room which we were told then on check in was not available capped off my stay at your establishment.

I have also sent the same e-mail to Marston's Inns head office, which I am sure they will be pleased to see on Monday morning.

Best regards

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nesfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K R, General Manager at Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Mr Feeney,

Can I just start by again apologising for the unacceptable outcomes that occured on the morning of Sunday 19th May. Thou never perfect this is not, in any way, a true indication of how the business at the Unicorn Hotel is normally run.

I will also point out again that the alarm you heard, was not the fire alarm but the intruder alarm set off by one of our guests, BUT, this does not lessen the anxiousness and stress that this event caused you and your family.

Our investigation has shown that mistakes were made that are not acceptable and a formal action plan has now been put into placer to ensure that this course of events do not happen again.

I can only apologise for the event that happened during your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
5.8 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#5 of 48 in Nottingham
666 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#20 of 48 in Nottingham
1,182 reviews
9.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 48 in Nottingham
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#2 of 4 in Lowdham
56 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mama's Inn Boutique Guest House
0.6 mi away
East Bridgford Hill
East Bridgford Hill
#5 of 40 in Nottingham
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Gunthorpe, Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing