We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B ever!”
Review of Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unicorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Gunthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever!”
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Remarkable value for money, food excellent, service excellent, especially Kirsty (manager) who was very pleasant and professional. Warm comfy room, spacious spotless bathroom, luxury toiletries, soft towels...I could go on and on! Hearty well cooked breakfast. Delightful location despite the weather! Truly excellent value for money especially as they are currently running a promotion offering the second night free! Also worth a mention, if you eat there, you receive a 20% discount off the cost of food. (which was also excellent in both quality and price!)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy-ronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    81
    34
    14
    13
See reviews for
54
105
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed for one night and found this hotel excellent value .Easily found location by the River Trent with ample car parking .Quick and efficient check-in, included showing to the room, which was found to be beamed ceiling and very olde worlde, just what we were looking for. Good size room with an en-suite of matching size, clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV, hair drier in the room and the linen was pristine white and the array of pillows and cushions coupled with the beds comfort meant a good nights sleep was inevitable ! The bar area was busy with meals and drinks but efficiently run and the staff all seemed to enjoy working there. The inclusive breakfast the next morning was buffet style cereals and juice,together with full cooked breakfast if required brought to your table by an enthusiastic and bubbly young waitress. Check out was a pleasing time of 11 a.m. and was as efficient as the check-in. Overall, first class accomodation in this catagory and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thechiefYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Booked this last minute on laterooms and got an excellent deal; we live in the nottingham area and fancied a night away from the kids so booked a double room. When we arrived we were allocated a twin as it was all they had; a bit disappointed as we had specifically wanted a double. The room was lovely though and the beds were really, really comfortable with crisp white linen, deep mattresses and comfy pillows, everything was spotless... couple of minor critisisms; room 10 was quite noisey with an air conditioning unit outside (although I did get used to the constant hum and they do provide complimentary ear plugs) and the outlook is a brick wall. The room was also very, very warm even with the heating off and window open. Having said that the shower was excellent and there was plenty of hot water.
We didn't eat at the hotel as there are 2 excellent restaurants next door; we ate at the Italian and, although, not cheap it was very nice.
Overall it was a really lovely night out in an exceptional hotel for the money and I loved it all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dippydired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Me and my husband stayed over at this hotel and simply booked on price via laterooms.com - I have to say this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

Room 15 - a large room with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The sheets were crisp white cotton as were the towels and the bathroom was quite luxurious. The pub serves a large selection of food ranging from dinners to snacks - sadly no home cooked chips!

The staff were extremely helpful and happy and the place was immaculate.

The hotel is a stone's throw from Nottingham city centre but is in a lovely small riverside village - adjacent is Tom Brown's contemporary restaurant with a lovely Italian next to that.

We will definately be returning for a weekend break!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I have stayed in a number of hotels in the Nottingham area. While this is the furthest from the city, it is by far the best in which I have stayed. It is very clean and comfortable and I will most definitely return.
I would also add that while I was on my own on a business trip, I will have no hesitation in returning with my wife. I cannot say that about some of the other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobW_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed at the Unicorn for two nights while attending a family wedding in the area. We had one of the family rooms as my wife and I were travelling with our two children aged 7 & 11. The room was and bathroom were clean and tidy, if not overly large. The staff were excellent very friendly and helpful. The food was surprisingly good for 'pub grub'. It was a pretty standard pub style menu, but the food was cooked superbly, both the one eveninng meal and two breakfasts we had there. The Unicorn has a pleasant location looking out on to the river Trent. A pleasant stroll along the river takes you to the nearby Gunthorpe lock.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunthorpe
5.8 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#9 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
7.4 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 50 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 50 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
11.5 mi away
Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Bingham Townhouse
The Bingham Townhouse
#1 of 1 in Bingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Hotel

Property: Unicorn Hotel
Address: Trentside, Gunthorpe, Nottingham NG14 7FB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Gunthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Gunthorpe, Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing