We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning setting, beautful home, welcoming hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyons Cove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lyons Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Canning B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, beautful home, welcoming hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at Lyons Cove because it was one of the few B&B's in the area with availability over the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend - and we were glad we did! The weather was perfect allowing for long walks on the extensive beach (bring shoes that you don't mind getting muddy) accompanied by "Zor" the enthusiastic and friendly retriever. We stayed in the Amethyst room which was luxurious, complete with Jacuzzi tub and balcony with a view. Breakfast and coffee were delicious, made when you want and to suit your tastes. The B&B is located about 20 minutes from the nearest "major" towns of Wolfville and Kentville, which is also where the closest gas stations are located. So if you plan to explore the region by car (highly recommended), fill up when you can so you aren't searching for a gas station. We have fond memories of the Lyons Cove B&B and would stay again if the opportunity ever presents itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a beautiful spot for a weekend get away. We stayed in the Amethyst suite which is lovely and spacious. WE didn't get to use the balcony because it was raining but the view was amazing.The host was very friendly and did his best to make you feel at home. Breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennykv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
445 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed her on our anniversary after hearing about the B & B from our niece who loved it. Ir is a spacious new house with large well appointed rooms with a beautiful view of the Minas Basin. We stayed in the Amethyst suite which has a balcony overlooking the Basis. We watched the eagles flying from their nest along the cove. The host is a wonderful man who could not do enough for us, discussing breakfast choices and showing us around his house. He made a delicious breakfast for us in the morning, chatting about recipes and ingredients as he cooked. What a pleasant way to start the day. The house is well off the road and has no signage or marking so get good directions. After a wonderful meal in Wolfville, we came back and sat out on the balcony watching the evening grow dark - a wonderful relaxing way to spend a day.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but the ones with balconies overlooking the Basin off great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Pros: The Amethyst Suite has a jacuzzi tub, a spacious room and a fantastic private balcony overlooking the Minas Basin of the Bay of Fundy. The B&B is a 20 minute drive from Wolfville and close to the Blomidon Park. It was a quiet and peaceful getaway in a luxurious setting. Comfortable bed and free internet. The host was gracious in bringing our bags to our room and down to our vehicle, which was not necessary, but very sweet.
The Cons: There was no sign at the entrance, which was at the apex of a curve. I did have directions emailed from the hosts, so that was helpful. Using a GPS is a good idea, but they need a sign.
I'm frequently at B&B's, so was taken aback when no coffee was ready to be served when we got there at the predetermined time. After the meal, coffee arrived but only skim milk and sweetener was provided. Although I did let him know we preferred unflavoured coffee, it was, nonetheless, served the second day as well. We were the only guests at the time and non-flavoured coffee seems like a basic. My overall impression was that they were taking baby steps into learning the art of being a B&B, and that time and experience would iron out these kinks.
Neutral territory: They do have a wonderful dog, but travelers should be aware. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed omelets the first morning and pancakes the second morning. They were delicious.

Room Tip: The Amethyst Suite is the only one with a private bathroom. No accommodations on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Danerwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The room was lovely, with a view of the Bay of Fundy. The owner made a delicious breakfast, but it was poorly organized, we had to wait 40 minutes after the appointed breakfast time. We were only given hazelnut coffee, despite telling the host that we do not like flavored coffee. The room Itself was clean, but the towels smelled as though they had been damp and had soured. They have a dog, who is a delight, but travelers with allergies should know.

The owners are very new at this endeavor, and need some polish. We liked the space very much, but would have liked a few more efforts to accommodate our needs. We wish them the best of luck.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvmyredmiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a wonderful find! I came here with my two kids for two nights for a March break getaway and the hosts were amazing! The house and property are gorgeous and the accommodations left nothing to be desired. I would highly recommend this place for couples for a romantic getaway. It is very peaceful and picturesque. The breakfast was delicious and filling! The hosts are very down to earth and accommodating. Let them know ahead of time what sort of getaway you are looking for, and they will do their best to help you have a great stay. I will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a balcony and an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canning
11.8 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
6.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn Bed and Breakfast
7.5 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
11.1 mi away
Delft Haus
Delft Haus
#1 of 2 in Centreville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rayski Guest House
Rayski Guest House
#3 of 3 in Grand Pre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyons Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lyons Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2360 Pereau Rd | Lower Blomidon, Canning, Nova Scotia B0P 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Canning
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Canning
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast in a beautiful & restful country setting on twenty acres. Wooded paths along a brook that runs onto a private beach in a sheltered cove. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing