We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shhhh..it's a secret..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Waikato Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Waikato
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Waikato Holiday Park
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Shhhh..it's a secret..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked a cabin, had a double bed, a set of bunks, fridge, toaster, plates etc. Basic, but didn't need anything more.
The owners are very helpful. The communal areas are very clean and well kept.
Our kids loved the play area, and even got to watch TV when it got dark.
Very patchy cell phone coverage, and no where to buy wine or beer, so stock up.
The beach is nearby, and being a west coast one, it's a handful.

Being so close to Auckland, I don't think it will remain a secret long.

We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKiwiandACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    8
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We usually holiday on the East coast but fancied somewhere a little closer to Auckland. We were not disappointed. Lovely beach and fantastic scenery. The holiday park was basic but lovely and clean and well maintained. Plates and utensils etc in the kitchen so better than other Top 10 that we have visited. Great for a get away from it all weekend or to spend quality time with the children away from the gadgetry! We will be spending more time down here :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellyjoanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paeroa, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Owners of Port Waikato Holiday park go above and beyond. Booked a large group to camp there Saturday night and the owners were incredibly accommodating. They set up tarps as shelter, a light and got an outdoor fire going for us. Amazing place to stay, good atmosphere and really nice people running the place. Definitely coming back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Jess92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have stayed at the Port Waikato holiday park 3 times now. New owners took over in June 2013 and the place has significantly improved, with property being cleaned and tidied up and money being spent since they have been operating.
Port Waikato is a quiet holiday makers and beach or nature lovers paradise. It is a relaxed, coastal settlement on the West Coast where the Waikato river meets the Tasman sea.
This camp is a very family friendly holiday park. It is a perfect base to get away from the hustle and bustle of city or suburban life to relax and/or explore the surrounding area.
Sunset beach is a popular surf beach. All along the coast is popular for fishing, so is the river; and for whitebaiting too. There is a huge expansive area of sand dunes which are fun to play in and explore. If you don't have a 4X4 vehicle - highly recommend you book in for a "mule" ride at reception at the holiday park. You will get a personalised tour on a 4X4 ATV and make the most of seeing the length of the beach, the river mouth and riding through the dunes. We did this tour, loved it. Nice way to appreciate the area, you may not get to by foot. You get to take some nice photos along the way.
Within the community there is a dairy (convenience store) for essential supplies, and a takeaway cart for yummy burgers and chips in the evening.
There are all levels of accommodation at the holiday park. From tent sites, powered sites for campervans, cabins (retro or deluxe) and motel units too if you prefer "glamping" (Glamorous camping) :-)
On our most recent stay we went as a family group occupying 2 motel units (1 family room - 2 bedroom motel), 1 studio motel and 1 retro cabin. While we were self catering and self sufficient in our motel units - the holiday park has a communal kitchen, TV room, decking area with outdoor furniture, BBQ, laundry, childrens playground with jumping pillow etc etc.
Our check in experience was very fast and efficient. When we pulled up we just buzzed the intercom button and were seen to within 2 minutes. No issues here.
Only 1 hour from Auckland central and 45 mins from the Auckland international airport it is a short and pleasant rural drive to reach this little beach oasis where you can chill out and enjoy the NZ West Coast lifestyle.

Room Tip: Motel unit #3 is my favourite for a couple wishing to stay glamping style. Modern, trendy studio. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have a permanent unit at port Waikato and just love spending time there. My daughter and I stay there as often as we can - its a great spot for families with kids. The sand dunes are great for kids and adults alike - you just need a boogie board - exploring the rock pools is exciting for kids and adults - large crabs, star fish, and collecting shells - all just simple pleasures but very relaxing for those just wanting to get away from the real world. Playground and bouncy pillow at the camp,,Theres also play areas for the kids and a flying fox just down the road. You cant expect someone to sit at reception 24/7, but theres always someone available if you ring the intercom. A great place to stay if you have kids. We cannot fault it. Spend some time there, and don't be so quick to complain!!

Room Tip: no swimming pool but excellent patrolled swimming beach over the summer months. very peaceful holida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojo649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We checked into this holiday park as we thought being a Top 10, it would have good facilities. The drive out to Port Waikato was lovely but we were disappointed when arriving. There was nothing to do there and if it hadn't been late afternoon, we would have headed somewhere else. There was no-one at Reception and we had to buzz them to get them to come. It took them about 25 minutes for someone to show up. We were the only people using the powered sites for the night. The facilities are very tired and not to the usual standard of a Top 10 park. The dump station (if you could call it that) was in a poor location and I can imagine when the park gets busy, it would be a difficult spot to get your van to. Overall, we were really disappointed and would not recommend this park.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Waikato
15.5 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
24.4 mi away
Big Bay Holiday Park
Big Bay Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Waiuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
9.6 mi away
No photo provided
Waiuku Motel
#1 of 1 in Waiuku
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Castaways Resort
Castaways Resort
#1 of 2 in Waiuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Kentish Hotel
The Kentish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waiuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Waikato Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Waikato Holiday Park

Property: Port Waikato Holiday Park
Address: 115B Maunsell Road, Port Waikato, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Port Waikato
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Port Waikato
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Waikato Holiday Park 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing