We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good”
Review of The Loose Goose

The Loose Goose
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Tirau
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Don't be fooled by the modest look of this restaurant that looks like a cafe on Highway 1, it is really fantastic. A cafe by day, it becomes a fine dining restaurant at night. But fine dining is only the food. The place still has plain wooden tables and paper napkins. But the food could be from a much fancier venue in Auckland! The menu has so many delicious sounding meals on offer we had trouble deciding, but ended up ordering Chili Prawns as a starter, roast chicken and lamb shank mains. All were really excellent, no complaints at all. As for service, we arrived without reservations on a Saturday night and although the restaurant was full, with reservations still expected, the owner was very accommodating. After a short wait with a glass of wine, he found us a table, and the service was really excellent although the waitress, as the owner explained later, was brand new and he had a new chef also. Highly recommended if you happen to find yourself in the vicinity of Tirau at dinner time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsanna622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I visited this restaurant recently with some friends. We are all from different towns and it was the middle point on the map so we met up here for a meal and a catchup. I had the fish main and it was lovely. The service was good and the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be using this place again for our get togethers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janette555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“quality and service has gone down”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

this used to be our usual stop in Tirau, but the food has gone down, service has gone down and prices have gone up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“City prices, backcountry food”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Party of 4, we had Crispy Chicken - straight out of supermarket packet & fried up with chips and small salad, Lamb Rack - 2 small pieces boiled brocilli, cold potates(described as smashed potates) and a puddle of pesto beside 2 lamb loin chops, Crispy Duck, small breast on mashed potatoe and salad, hmm all $35 a main. Perhaps the chef as having a bad night but value for money was poor as it is just a eatery in a small rural town. I don't mind paying for a gourmet meal but this was over prepared and not enjoyable at all although the waitress was nice. We won't be back !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DyanneHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great breakfast - great humour”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Having decided to do some Christmas shopping in Tirau, we kicked the day off with breakfast at the Loose Goose. Great food, beautifully served, piping hot. It was good to be able to read the papers and feel quite leisurely whilst we waited. Two ladies called in whilst we were there and looked at the menu but left - their loss I feel. We actually complimented the cook as we left on how tasty the food was.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loose Goose also viewed

Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 

Been to The Loose Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing