We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent kids plate ... But otherwise a bit ordinary”
Review of Alley Cats

Alley Cats
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Tirau
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent kids plate ... But otherwise a bit ordinary”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Great little spot tucked away with great ambience and as I pondered yet another nuggets and chips for the kids I spotted e cheaper option with a bun, ham, fruit, and a treat. brilliant concept and well executed. But aside from that it was a little bit of a let down. Adult food was okay, but pretty expensive for what it was. And we were accidentally overcharged - that happens, but when we cleared that up at the end and I got an espresso to go, they might have pondered whether it could have been on the house after overcharging me $15. Even With lots of cafés around to try, I would probably give it another go for the kids plate.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJH_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    9
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Secret tucked away gem, now just needs some smiles with the service”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Great little spot. Coffee is hot and well made. Discovered this spot last month while passing through with work. Cool spot, service from cashier was lacking a smile but thought maybe it was just a ruff morning. Stopped for
Breakfast this morning. Food, coffee and spot is faultless but once again, cashier not really friendly. Felt like we were a bit of an interruption when ordering....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExploreNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We found this cute, quirky café at the back of a gift shop - its a really cute café and the food was really yummy and well priced. the coffee was great too. We frequently travel down the North Island and this is our new favourite place to stop :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Morning Tea”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

First rate baked on the premises, Savoury Blue cheese & Broccoli Muffin; Date scone with lots of dates & good coffee beside a log fire. The approach down the Alley is not enticing but the aymosphere and food are worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch, thank you”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Had lunch today at Alley Cats with the family, second time for us. Will go back next time in Tirau. Kids lunch plate was good mix for them, very nice food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alley Cats also viewed

Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 
Tirau, Waikato Region
Tirau, Waikato Region
 

Been to Alley Cats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing