We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly remote, breath taking area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Shore Lodge & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We´ve seen plenty of places in Tanzania during our 4 weeks stay. Finest one on the whole trip: Lake Shore Lodge from Louise and Chris. Its a completly stunning and amazing place. It´s not only the beauty of the area and all the little details they take care about. It´s also about sustainabilty and the social care they take for the whole area of kipili.

The food they serve is absolutly delicious and outstanding plus all the incredients are coming from the surrounding area if Chris and Louise can´t grow them in their garden.

The varity of leisure activities is brilliant. The equipment they offer you for scuba diving, kayaking, mountain biking etc. is in perfect conditions.

If your trip is not taking you to that place, man, you have to change your plans to get there.

And i really love the concept. You can either camp, sleep in beautiful bandas or stay in gorgeous chalets. So they have something to offer for every budget. This is something really rare in Africa. I love this place a lot.

Thank you Louise, thank you Chris!

Room Tip: Doesnt matter, all are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenSen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

A mate and I are driving in a Landrover from London to Cape Town, and were recommended this place by a couple of guys who're doing the same journey on motorbikes. As we drove south through Tanzania we met a number of locals who had either heard about the lodge or knew Chris and Louise, and everyone spoke very highly of the place. We were not disappointed when we arrived on Christmas Eve 2013, and even stayed longer than we had intended, in a campsite under mango trees. The location is beautiful, the whole site is clean and well kept, the staff are very friendly, and Chris and Louise are brilliant. There are numerous activities from diving to quad biking available, or you can just chill on the beach and swim in the crystal clear and warm water of Lake Tanganyika. Utterly recommend this place. Oh yeah, and the food's delicious, the bar's open late, and you don't want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idrthrbskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We spent three wonderful nights camped under a mango tree at this amazing property. We felt as if we were at a tropical resort in Hawaii instead of on the shore of Lake Tanganyika. It was definitely worth the drive to get here. The masters of hospitality, owners Louise and Chris, have thought of everything to insure a comfortable stay. The design of the chalets and the decor is really lovely and there is accommodation for every budget. We camped (five star ablutions) under a mango tree and enjoyed a white tablecloth dinner one night on the beach. The food was plentiful and very delicious. (Risotto starter was a favorite!) The bar is well stocked and convivial. We joined in on a sundowner boat trip where we viewed hippos and my husband was able to go line fishing with a local fisherman early one morning and they caught over 40 fish! Lots of other activities are on offer including paddling proper sea kayaks out in the lake.
A great stay for a group or family and it is a very romantic stay for a couple.

Scott and Teresa in a Land Rover named Ndoto.

Room Tip: Lake Shore offers Bandas, Chalets and camping - Great accomodation for every budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fosterkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Two of us are travelling through Africa on motorbikes, and had been told we must take the detour to Lakeshore Lodge. We thought we might spoil ourselves to a full day off the bikes, but the place is so special we took four days off!

The place beautiful. Every detail of the place is done well (e.g. small lanterns we placed next to our tents so we could find them after a few beers at their great bar). The hosts Chris and Louise are so hospitable, that I now consider them friends. We went scuba diving. The food is incredible. The staff are local and very helpful and friendly.

If you spend the money on a Banda or Chalet you will not regret it, they are amazing.

Ummm, the place is amazing, GO THERE!!

Mat

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

"Come as guests, leave as friends" is the first impression you get, when you arrive at the Lake Shore Lodge. It is not just a fancy slogan but it is real.
We are a big family with 8 people and everyone enjoyed the place a lot. Living on the beach, looking at beautiful sunsets in the horisont, enjoying the lovely water and eating three wonderful dishes at every meal. Last but not least the service was amazing: The waiters were friendly and smiling all the time, and they sang a birthdaysong for our brother. The owners and host couple were incredible, thoughtfull and carrying. All this confirmed the slogan.
Everything was just so beautiful, relaxing and all right.
- The Peter Andersen family from Denmark.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We camped here after a long dusty drive from Katavi NP and were not disappointed. The lodge has a good reputation and the campsite was excellent. Well spaced pitches under big shady mango trees and simple and stylish ablutions. The lodge has been beautifully designed with stylish comfortable touches- beach loungers, hammocks and bandas. We were made very welcome and enjoyed a tasty three course dinner at the lodge for $20pp. Breakfasts were also very good, fresh tea, coffee, fruit, homemade muesli, toast and eggs for $10pp. A great place to relax for a few days.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Lake Shore Lodge for 3 days last week, and what a fantastic experience it was. Chris and Lou go above and beyond the call of measure to make sure that everyone is happy, what a great couple they are too. The trips are great, the facilities were fantastic and don't get me started on the food. We were shocked at our bill at the end of the 3 days, fantastic value for money! We will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Shore Lodge & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Lodge & Campsite

Address: Lake Tanganyika, Kipili, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Rukwa Region > Kipili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kipili
Price Range: £127 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Shore Lodge is an owner-run lodge located on the banks of Lake Tanganyika in western Tanzania, near the village of Kipili. We wanted to share this incredible place with all sorts of people and so have tried with our different types of accommodation, to cater for everyone. We have 6 luxury chalets built at the water’s edge, 8 lawn bandas for the more budget traveler and 4 private campsites. With sunny days and star studded nights, your time here at Lake Shore Lodge can be as relaxed or as action-packed as you would like it to be. We offer scuba diving, snorkeling, kayaking, fishing, sunset sundowner cruises, massages, jacuzzi, a yoga deck, quad biking, mountain biking and walks to the monastery, one of the oldest churches in Tanzania. We would love to show you our piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake Shore Lodge & Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Lodge & Campsite Tanzania/Kipili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing