We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and affordable”
Review of Oakura Beach Motel

Oakura Beach Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakura Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakura
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and affordable”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed here over Queens birthday weekend - found this place by just driving by. Stayed in a studio room, very clean and comfortable with a full kitchen. Nice new bedspreads. Shower (no bath). Quiet and a 2 minute walk to Oakura surf beach. Walking distance to a Four Square, Fish n Chip shop, restaurant, sports bar, chemist. 10 min drive to New Plymouth central. A place to go when you want to totally relax and get back to basics. Really nice hosts who just left us to it (exactly what we wanted).

Not the Hilton but fantastic value for money and a very good three star option.

2 x heaters, electric blankets AND hot water bottles - well equipped for cold winter nights.

Only downside was there was meant to be Sky TV but couldn't get Sport or movies (I don't mind but other people may do) .. and shower isn't the greatest pressure, but does the trick.

Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Only a small motel so you would be fine in any location of the property - on a very quiet street any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Had a nice stay with our small family here. Welcoming hosts, comfortable and basic rooms, quiet location. Our bed was a bit too soft, and it was a bit cramped sometimes. But the hosts were accommodating and quick to respond to any requests. Plus just a few min walk to beach. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelpanda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Spent two days there in April , so peaceful and relaxing , just walking along the beach ,( a renowned surfing beach ) such great hosts so laid back , this is definitely where you come if you want to chill out , not the Hilton but a good clean comfortable motel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Thank you to the very helpful owner. We had a great week and enjoyed the peace and quiet but also easy access to the beach and local village as well as a short drive into New Plymouth. Our unit was spacious, clean and well equipped. Also enjoyed the barbecue area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 393lucy393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a great little motel not that far by car out from New Plymouth's CBD. The new owners were friendly and very helpful. (We hope they have success.) The motel is close to the beach and only a short trip to beautiful public gardens of New Plymouth. We only stayed a night due to our timetable but would have enjoyed a longer stay to see the sites of New Plymouth and the local area. It is not a large motel, but it is this quiet environment that made it feel homely. We would return here on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug-Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I spent 5 days at the Oakura Beach Motel with my Lesbian partner her sister and brother in law. We had a great time! the motel is not the biggest or the newest but ideal for a quiet retreat in a great setting close to the beach and a short drive from New Plymouth.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable, ultra clean and had all the amenities that we needed for a good self catering holiday. The owners gave us a welcome pack, and fresh fruit straight from the trees in their garden. Diane (one of the owners) serves a great breakfast, and we were lucky enough to experience some of her home baking. Derek's extensive DVD library is made available to guest ideal for a chill out on a rainy day.
We were made to feel extremely welcome during our stay, and the owners are a mine of information about the local (and surrounding) area.
We will DEFINATELY be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamparapoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This is a basic motel, but is really well equipped and the owners are super-helpful and happy to go the extra mile for service (if not maybe a little too chatty at times...)

Seemed to not be gay-friendly, as we were travelling with a group of friends and the owners politely suggested we stay somewhere else when they found out two men were to share a bed.

However... the perfect location in a classic NZ surf town. The town is small but has everything, it's close to New Plymouth and the beach is lovely. The motel is very close to the beach. The motel owners are extremely knowlegeable about local attractions etc, very helpful, and even brought over a BBQ to our unit complete with all the extras for our comfort and enjoyment. The kitchen was really well stocked with new pots and pans, utensils, and everything we needed to cook with.

We went for a gig at Butlers Reef, it's about a 10minute walk- but a really easy walk.

It's a quiet motel in a quiet spot. Great place to spend a chilled out few days at the beach, will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiaorabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakura
7.1 mi away
Egmont Eco Lodge
Egmont Eco Lodge
#27 of 30 in New Plymouth
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 42 in Taranaki Region
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
#1 of 16 in New Plymouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakura Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakura Beach Motel

Property: Oakura Beach Motel
Address: 53 Wairau Road, Oakura 4314, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Oakura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakura Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP **Oakura, 12 kms west of New Plymouth on Surf Highway 45, is a popular holiday destination in Taranaki. Oakura Beach Motel is 300m from the main surfing/swimming beach which is patrolled during summer. The Oakura river is very popular with young families and some good fishing spots are to be found at the river mouth. There are numerous local walks, golfing, and gardens of national significance nearby. A number of artists and craftspeople exhibit locally. A few minutes walk takes you to restaurants and cafes in the main shopping area. Oakura Beach Motel is ideally situated for a relaxing holiday or visit to Taranaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Oakura Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing