We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, great host, great time!...”

My Salerno Apartment
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marini
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
My Salerno Apartment
Ranked #1 of 1 Marini B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We recently stayed at the new location which was outside Salerno city and in a village 'Benincasa' overlooking the Amalfi Coast. We got good directions and we had no problem getting the bus there, it taking about 20minutes or so. The apartment has a very nice view of the sea and and lots of sun as we were lucky enough to get 3 sunny days while we were visiting the area. It's a nice quiet area, there was a small supermarket and coffee bar nearby, it was accessible to connection transit stops for the Amalfi Coast, and very close to Vietri sul mare where the Italian ceramics are made. We also spent an enjoyable hike in the hills with our host exploring neighboring villages. We got lots of info and maps, and it was nice to have such access to someone that speaks native English and knows everything and had good suggestions for us. The price was reasonable, comfortable and and we loved the 'host-dogs!'

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trixxieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

We found Dianne's apartment clean, cosy, simple and comfortable. Dianne is an excellent host and has very good local knowledge which we made good use of, visiting some of the places she recommended including her favourite town of Kava up in the hills - a 30 minute bus ride.

Dianne is very helpful, articulate, has a kind heart and a great sense of humour and it was a bit like staying with a friend. Her animals are great and gave her apartment even more of a homely feel. If you are tired of staying in very touristy places, then this will be a good contrast - and we really like to mix it up and this made for a more memorable holiday for us.

The beach is five minutes walk from her apartment, the bus is right there (you don't need a car in this city), restaurants are all around and the city centre is ten minutes by bus. The shopping is great and an evening stroll through the city with all the residents shows you the real side of Italian life. Its great!

I would recommend Dianne's Salerno Apartment highly. Have a great stay and enjoy this simple base in an interesting and surprisingly tourist free city with lots to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Dianne was an excellent host. Travelling throughout Italy was so very touristy but this place is not. Like other travellers have stated, Salerno is the real deal. Dianne was so informative. It was so nice to be able to speak to a local who knows English since our Italian isn't that great. She answered so many questions we had about the local culture and recommended some great places to eat and drink. Do go to the gelato place she recommends, I think it's Gerry's Gelato. All locals and the cheapest Gelato by far in Italy. Remember to pay first and then give receipt to the person serving the gelato. The cocnut flavor was amazing. Following her directions from the TRAIN STATION was very easy, we did exactly as written with no problem.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjkristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

I loved staying in Dianne's Salerno B&B because I felt somewhat integrated into a slice of southern Italian life. Her cozy apartment in a real Salerno neighbourhood in the midst of the comings and goings of urban Italian life with the shops, cafes, bars, restos, pasticcerie, cheese and fish shops, young and old, chic and not was absolutely authentic and exciting. The Xmas atmosphere helped for sure but I can only image what sultry vibe summer brings to this little sea-side city.

Dianne and her Italian friend Giuseppe helped with planning day trips to places like the Amalfi Coast, Napoli, Pompei, and Paestum. A real plus is that Salerno is so close to all this without the expense of those other more touristy places. I felt completely safe at any hour in Salerno too.

Dianne's place itself is cozy, clean, and convenient, what a deal! There were answers to all my questions and a genuine willingness to help make the most of my vacation ... not something you find in all Italian pensions or budget accommodations (and I've stayed in many).

I'll definitely be back. Thanks Dianne!

Deni

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DeniToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

This was an authentic Italian experience. The hosts, Dianne and Giuseppe, were very hospitable and helpful. They showed us around this beautiful part of Italy and we shared great moments together. We discovered off the path towns and villages and the food was incredible and also affordable, unlike Northern Italy.
The apartment is very clean and beautifully decorated. It is located in Salerno, a nice 30 min walk from the central train station, in a busy residential area full of pastry shops, caffes, boutiques, bussling with life and character.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank ivanimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We just finished our stay in Salerno and really appreciated the 'homey' and friendly feel at the apartment and the freedom we had there (ie. kitchen use). We got all the information we needed in English to get around easily and had the nicest experience possible. The area was really convenient and we had everything we needed outside the door or within a very short distance. Salerno in general is also cheap if you like to eat out, and eat out well!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VancouverKaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2008

We had so much fun staying here. Diane and Giuseppe were great guides and wonderful hosts. They let us know where to eat and what to see. We did not have any trouble finding it with Diane's directions. It was such a great deal. Some of my fondest memories of my trip to Europe was sitting having some wine and talking with Giuseppe and Diane. The apartment is in a great area, and Salerno is central to Naples, Pompei, Amalfi, and Positano. It is really easy and cheap to get to all of the places from the bus. I would love to make it back to Salerno someday. Thank you for such a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v4switchstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to My Salerno Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Salerno Apartment

Address: Via Selce | Vietri sul Mare, 84019 Marini, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Marini
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marini
Price Range: £15 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'My Salerno Apartment' is located In a lovely, quiet village called MARINI near the city of Cava dei Tirreni (15-20 minutes from Salerno, and Amalfi Coast transit). The Amalif Coast is easily reachable by local transit or less than 10 minutes by car (to Vietri sul Mare the start of the coast)Escape the chaos after a long day of sightseeing and relax in a tranquil country setting!The room is airy and spacious and there is a lovely view of the mountains and a balcony and terrace where you can sit out and relax in the sun. I have all the info and maps to get you there, and a FREE GUIDEBOOK with insider tips, info on transit, schedules, shopping, and the best of the best at affordable prices! This is a lovely spot if you are looking for peace and tranquility near nature, but still want to have access to tourism-hot spots and great places to eat.You can also enjoy excellent food from one of the restaurants near our village, within walking distance, We are a short distance away from a fine restaurant that serves traditional pizza from a wood-burning oven and regional cuisine, specialising in fish. Or buy local produce, use the kitchen and fix yourself a meal to eat on my sunny terrace.Our neighboring city of Cava dei Tirreni is a beautiful undiscovered gem and a short distance back from the Coast in the hills and virtually untouched by tourism, where you can people watch and enjoy a lovely afternoon watching the elegant locals and "La Dolce Vita" unfold from one of the many cafès or restaurant patios. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing