We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved the Place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mabula Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mabula Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We Loved the Place....”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Place is very well made, the ambience is lovely, we loved the rooms and the decor. The manager Mr. Abhishek was a nice guy and was helpful. The game drive was very nice with our Driver Mr. Okie made it more wonderful. Spotting animals was easy and we found Elephants, Rhino's, Giraffe's, Wild Buffaloes, Wild Pigs, Crocodile, Ostrich etc etc...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankit-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Pankit-Shah,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you had a good stay with us at Mabula. We hope to welcome you back to Mabula for another safari holiday.

Warm regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    199
    71
    20
    16
See reviews for
194
142
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had our first safari experience in May at Mabula. We spent 2 nights at Mabula with our 13 year old daughter. Not knowing anything about Mabula or game lodges in general, we didn't know what to expect. The nice welcome, followed immediately by a late afternoon game drive, was excellent. We were at Mabula for 2 hours and seeing lions, rhinos, giraffes, and lots of other game. Having our driver George join us for dinner afterwards was great. Dinner, with the good food, pleasant conversation, and lovely singing and dancing performance, made me quite emotional; I'd never thought I would get to experience anything as nice. The morning game drives were amazing as well, and George was a fantastic guide. My husband and daughter and I added a quad-bike safari too; it was loads of fun and we saw lots of animal tracks, plants, and other things not seen as easily in the jeeps. The rooms we had were very nice, and having warthogs and steenboks wandering outside the room was neat! We enjoyed the variety of foods, especially the kudu steaks. We dined with George a few times, and were joined by other guides as well. We loved this chance to get to know the guides, and had wonderful conversations with all of them. Everyone was very welcoming to us, and we had no problems the whole time we were at Mabula.

We would love to return to Mabula in the future. A friend of my husband's had arranged the trip for us, and we were delighted with everything. Great job Mabula, and special thanks to George for making our stay fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear BadgerCat73,

Thank you for your lovely review... we are delighted that you had a wonderful time with us! We hope to welcome you back to Mabula on your next trip to Africa.

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a great time at Mabula with my 9 year old son. We spend 3 nights at the game lodge and did 4 safari game drives and 1 horseback ride safari, it was an experience my son and i will never forget. The ranger told us a lot about all the animals and we almost saw all the animals except the lions.
The villa/room we stayed in was clean en very beautiful with a nice view, we even saw some monkeys and other animals playing behind our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leevdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Leevdm,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a memorable holiday with us at Mabula. We hope to welcome you back to Mabula Game Lodge on your next visit to South Africa.

Best regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the timeshare section of this reserve for a week.
The accommodation was good and the cleaning service excellent. That's all there is good to say about it.
We went on six game drives at different times of the day including night drives and saw very little. Firstly the grass is 2 m tall and secondly the common animals were seen only in ones and twos, even the impalas were in short supply.
We did see several rhinos including two youngsters on a night drive. But we did not see elephant, buffalo, cheetah or lion. We got the distinct impression that the rangers had been instructed to keep away from the cheetahs and the elephant and you had to pay extra to see lion.
The catering was something else - there is supposed to be an a la Carte restaurant but we never got to it - the management kept changing the venue for the meals to a distant dining room next to some dam or to the boma or even a bring your own braai. The meals in this case were a buffet which gets boring the second time around. Some of these changes are brought about by the hotel hosting bus loads of civil servants on a jolly (on our money) who have to be fed in large numbers. Having had your meal it was difficult to pay as there were no card facilities at the outlying dinning areas so the waitress had to accompany you in the truck to the reception at the hotel in order to pay.
Having driven up from the Cape we were not at all impressed with this place and will not do so again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 290Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear 290Andy,

Thank you for your review. We are distressed to read of your disappointing experience with us.

We would like to assure you that this is not our standard level of service, and we apologize for any inconvenience it has caused you. We make every effort to ensure that all of our guests have great experiences with us.

We can assure you that we have taken all your constructive feedback positively.

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went here for an overnight surprise birthday treat. The lodge has a grand entrance with the reception staff poised for service.

We went on 2 game drives and got to see the white rhino. As a regular Kruger Park visitor where one usually only see black rhino, this was a extraordinary. Did not get to see the lion, but the drive around to find them was good.

I was amazed by the separation of the meals / serving areas along vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Reminded me of resorts / hotels in India. The menu certainly has a very strong Indian influence. The meat dishes include exotic game and the eland was excellent.

To end the trip we spent a few hours at the spa. Pure Bliss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeets2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jeets2804,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us and saw the white rhino. We hope to welcome you back to Mabula again soon, for a longer stay next time!

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The minute you enter through the main gate you can see wild game including elephant, rhino and giraffe. The camp where we stayed was about 10 minutes drive from the hotel part of the complex and we had game walking past our chalet, fabulous. You get to go on 2 game drives, one in the early morning and one in the early evening

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Gordon5051,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your safari holiday with us! We hope to welcome you back to Mabula again soon.

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights But my suggestion is 3 nights.the location of camp is just in the center of Bushveld of south Africa(The Bushveld is a sub-tropical woodland ecoregion of Southern Africa) so you feel nature south Africa in this area.
Designs of Rooms are so nice .also lobby and Restaurants remind you that you are in Africa.
the rangers are knowledgeable and educated .
Staff are so helpful and kind.
Breakfast is complete and nice.also Dinner and Lunch.
Rooms are so nice but there were problem with internal telephone network . telephone is so important because of distance between rooms and reception desk .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drafrooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear iranianbackpacker,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us! We hope to welcome you back to the lodge soon.

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabula Private Game Reserve
87.5 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
#3 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
59 reviews
16.5 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#11 of 48 in Bela Bela
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
9.7 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 48 in Bela Bela
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
#6 of 48 in Bela Bela
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabula Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Property: Mabula Game Lodge
Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabula Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5." All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Dining venues, outdoor cocktail and whiskey bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre. Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities. Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms. The lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing