We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big five 2 hours from Gauteng”
Review of Mabula Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mabula Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Randburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Big five 2 hours from Gauteng”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Mabula is a private Game reserve only 2 hours drive from Gauteng in the Waterberg Mountains.
During our stay we spotted 4 of the big five, everything except the Leopards. At least we did come across some cheetah's,
Dinner in the Boma was a real African experience with the fires, "Sangoma", and African dancers.
Excellent food.
The rooms are well equipped with everything needed, Comfortable and big with a big Bath tab and shower.
The best of all is the price, excellent value for money
The Reptile park and show is worth the visit

Room Tip: Room 120 and 121 looks out over the swimming pool, bar and Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alwyn1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Alwyn1_12,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a good stay at Mabula Game Lodge, and that your experiences with the wildlife and food were memorable. We hope to welcome you back for another safari holiday soon.

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    214
    74
    23
    18
See reviews for
208
158
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

After a two hour drive form OR Tambo Airport to Mabula Lodge it was quite an experience to arrive at the Lodge.
The Conference facilities are great and very quiet with the required tea, coffee and eats.
We went for an afternoon Game Drive which was very disappointing. We saw, after driving around, a wild pig, one Zebra far of and an Egret!
Back at the Lodge we were received by a young school choir singing African songs and dance.
Dinner was very good (Standard Buffet)
In my room I had a problem when my shower outlet was blocked and the water ran into the bedroom.
Otherwise an good experience,

Room Tip: The rooms are like in the Kruger Park, away from the Main building. The closer to the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jansteve_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jansteve_12,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a good conference experience with us. The team at the lodge will look into your comments about the room. We hope to welcome you back to Mabula Game Lodge again soon.

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Place is very well made, the ambience is lovely, we loved the rooms and the decor. The manager Mr. Abhishek was a nice guy and was helpful. The game drive was very nice with our Driver Mr. Okie made it more wonderful. Spotting animals was easy and we found Elephants, Rhino's, Giraffe's, Wild Buffaloes, Wild Pigs, Crocodile, Ostrich etc etc...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankit-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Pankit-Shah,

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you had a good stay with us at Mabula. We hope to welcome you back to Mabula for another safari holiday.

Warm regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had our first safari experience in May at Mabula. We spent 2 nights at Mabula with our 13 year old daughter. Not knowing anything about Mabula or game lodges in general, we didn't know what to expect. The nice welcome, followed immediately by a late afternoon game drive, was excellent. We were at Mabula for 2 hours and seeing lions, rhinos, giraffes, and lots of other game. Having our driver George join us for dinner afterwards was great. Dinner, with the good food, pleasant conversation, and lovely singing and dancing performance, made me quite emotional; I'd never thought I would get to experience anything as nice. The morning game drives were amazing as well, and George was a fantastic guide. My husband and daughter and I added a quad-bike safari too; it was loads of fun and we saw lots of animal tracks, plants, and other things not seen as easily in the jeeps. The rooms we had were very nice, and having warthogs and steenboks wandering outside the room was neat! We enjoyed the variety of foods, especially the kudu steaks. We dined with George a few times, and were joined by other guides as well. We loved this chance to get to know the guides, and had wonderful conversations with all of them. Everyone was very welcoming to us, and we had no problems the whole time we were at Mabula.

We would love to return to Mabula in the future. A friend of my husband's had arranged the trip for us, and we were delighted with everything. Great job Mabula, and special thanks to George for making our stay fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear BadgerCat73,

Thank you for your lovely review... we are delighted that you had a wonderful time with us! We hope to welcome you back to Mabula on your next trip to Africa.

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a great time at Mabula with my 9 year old son. We spend 3 nights at the game lodge and did 4 safari game drives and 1 horseback ride safari, it was an experience my son and i will never forget. The ranger told us a lot about all the animals and we almost saw all the animals except the lions.
The villa/room we stayed in was clean en very beautiful with a nice view, we even saw some monkeys and other animals playing behind our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leevdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Leevdm,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a memorable holiday with us at Mabula. We hope to welcome you back to Mabula Game Lodge on your next visit to South Africa.

Best regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the timeshare section of this reserve for a week.
The accommodation was good and the cleaning service excellent. That's all there is good to say about it.
We went on six game drives at different times of the day including night drives and saw very little. Firstly the grass is 2 m tall and secondly the common animals were seen only in ones and twos, even the impalas were in short supply.
We did see several rhinos including two youngsters on a night drive. But we did not see elephant, buffalo, cheetah or lion. We got the distinct impression that the rangers had been instructed to keep away from the cheetahs and the elephant and you had to pay extra to see lion.
The catering was something else - there is supposed to be an a la Carte restaurant but we never got to it - the management kept changing the venue for the meals to a distant dining room next to some dam or to the boma or even a bring your own braai. The meals in this case were a buffet which gets boring the second time around. Some of these changes are brought about by the hotel hosting bus loads of civil servants on a jolly (on our money) who have to be fed in large numbers. Having had your meal it was difficult to pay as there were no card facilities at the outlying dinning areas so the waitress had to accompany you in the truck to the reception at the hotel in order to pay.
Having driven up from the Cape we were not at all impressed with this place and will not do so again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 290Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear 290Andy,

Thank you for your review. We are distressed to read of your disappointing experience with us.

We would like to assure you that this is not our standard level of service, and we apologize for any inconvenience it has caused you. We make every effort to ensure that all of our guests have great experiences with us.

We can assure you that we have taken all your constructive feedback positively.

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went here for an overnight surprise birthday treat. The lodge has a grand entrance with the reception staff poised for service.

We went on 2 game drives and got to see the white rhino. As a regular Kruger Park visitor where one usually only see black rhino, this was a extraordinary. Did not get to see the lion, but the drive around to find them was good.

I was amazed by the separation of the meals / serving areas along vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Reminded me of resorts / hotels in India. The menu certainly has a very strong Indian influence. The meat dishes include exotic game and the eland was excellent.

To end the trip we spent a few hours at the spa. Pure Bliss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeets2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jeets2804,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a good stay with us and saw the white rhino. We hope to welcome you back to Mabula again soon, for a longer stay next time!

Regards,
The Mabula team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabula Private Game Reserve
3.9 mi away
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
#3 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
54 reviews
9.7 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
16.5 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#11 of 51 in Bela Bela
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabula Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Property: Mabula Game Lodge
Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabula Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5." All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Dining venues, outdoor cocktail and whiskey bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre. Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities. Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms. The lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing