We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Finca El Otero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca El Otero
Ranked #1 of 3 Aigues B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Attracted by the great reviews we booked our stay at Finca El Otero in April. Well it nevertheless surpassed all our expectiations, this is definitely a place that we intend to visit again! The beautiful place with its wonderful view, the lovely rooms (perfect bed also for the tall people) nicely decorated, and last but not least the overwhelming hospitality of Ernest and Peter and their great cooking, all made this the best possible stay! We enjoyed every minute of it, starting with the daily breakfast which was really special until closing our eyes while resting between the Egyptian cotton sheets! Guys we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderfull and the same quality and great location. There is also an suite which is bi...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Finca El Otero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Peter and Ernest's professionalism is unquestionably 'par excellence' but it is further enhanced by a naturalness and genuineness which are most definitely wonderful talents and not something which can be learned. They are simply natural hosts. Their attention to detail is extraordinary and is reflected in the buildings, the rooms (and extremely comfortable beds), the tasteful furnishings and the overall ambience of Finca El Otero. Their thoughtfulness was like that of a dear friend rather than a hotel proprietor: Ernest told me on our second morning that he'd noticed I'd taken my tea bag out of the pot the day before, so he served it on the side from then on; and once they discovered that Mike was diabetic, they took exceptional care - and some great pains - to replace anything sugary with fresh fruit, or non-sugary substitute ... Have we mentioned the food? Each breakfast was a wonderful surprise as Peter spoiled us with a different and delicious array of fresh fruit salads, homemade muesli, savoury delicacies, fantastic banana bread - we could go on, but better yet would be to go there and try it all for yourself! We also had a wonderful dinner - beautifully cooked and presented by Peter and Ernest, who clearly enjoy seeing people relish the fruits of their labour, as we most certainly did. We'd read the reviews and - possibly like many seasoned travellers - thought it all sounded too good to be true and that there must be a drawback somewhere. There isn't. We do not frequently write reviews on places we've stayed; however, Peter and Ernest's Finca is so special - and Peter and Ernest are such special and talented hosts, not to mention just really nice guys - that it is almost a duty to let others know what a wonderful time is to be had at Finca El Otero. Mike and Jan, Scotland

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you're looking for a peaceful and restful hideaway then this Finca is perfect. Set up in the hills 30 mins from Alicante it has great views and providing you've got a car, it's a good base to explore the surrounding hills and coastline. Ernest and Peter are also excellent hosts, very attentive but the hi -light for us had to be the food! Wonderful breakfasts and dinners...,we're just waiting for the cookbook to be produced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kryssie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's difficult to say anything that hasn't already been said in the other rave reviews of Finca El Otero but it's still a pleasure to write a review in recognition of Peter and Ernest's hard work.
Ernest and Peter are the most thoughtful and attentive hosts you can imagine and their Finca is very well presented, beautifully located and away from the touristy parts of Costa Blanca. There are some good places to walk in the pine forest close to the Finca and it's about 15 minutes or so by car to get back to the AP7 motorway and the rest the world.
We had a downstairs room with views out over the garden and towards the sea, it was a nice size and the bed was large and comfortable with great pillows. We probably should have prepared better for being in late March, the nights were still quite cold but that just made the bed seem even more inviting.
The breakfasts were large, interesting and varied and Peter and Ernest are happy to provide dinner on request whenever they are able to. We took advantage of this on 5 of the 7 nights we were there and they were all excellent - it would have been 7 but Peter and Ernest were otherwise engaged.
There was some work underway in the garden while we were there but that didn't detract from our stay in anyway, Ernest and Peter had it all under control so that there was no inconvenience, it was interesting to be there whilst the next phase of their project was underway and seeing the garden when it is completed will give us yet another reason to go back. T&J

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T and J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked Finca El Otero after looking at the outstanding reviews, and almost wondered how a place could score so highly- now we know it is down to the unique hard work and dedication of Peter and Ernest, who are the most wonderful hosts, in a magical location. We awoke to the sounds of birds, the smell of the pine trees and the most stunning view out to the sea. We thought our 2 girls (10 and 8) would shatter the peace and tranquility but they played outside in the garden, and even tried the pool (rather chilly in early April). A real highlight was the food: the attention to detail, and quality of ingredients was superb - it was universally delicious, the kids ate everything (no mean feat!), the baked goods in the morning were amazing, great coffee, freshly squeezed OJ etc etc.... All in the most welcoming atmosphere, where nothing was too much trouble - we will be back!

Room Tip: Top floor suite perfect for families, as is separate from other rooms downstairs and has large doubl...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Outstanding, lovely finca with magnificant views, true hospitality and exquisite
food made by two outstanding cooks(to say the least!) Ernest and Peter get everything just right. Everything comes together in a higher unity - impossible not to feel good here. Price-quality relation excellent.

We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Kirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Peter and Ernest are the kindest and most caring hosts of this lovely Finca. We,ve spent a fantastic weekend at this beautiful site. It was fabulous how the hosts took care of us, every detail was carefully chosen and especially the food was excellent. Peter loves to cook and we have had some excellent dinners, and the breakfast was a special treat every morning. We can highly reccomend the Finca El Otero because the hosts love what they are doing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aigues
3.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Sierra de Alicante
5.6 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,461 reviews
5.2 mi away
Servigroup Montiboli
Servigroup Montiboli
#1 of 5 in Villajoyosa
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hospes Amerigo
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,498 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pueblo Acantilado Suites
11.8 mi away
Hotel La Escondida
Hotel La Escondida
#1 of 1 in Penaguila
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca El Otero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca El Otero

Address: Calle Atalaia 60, 03569 Aigues, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Aigues
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aigues
Price Range: £88 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Finca El Otero, a beautiful property set high on a terraced hillside above the village of Aigues on the Costa Blanca, Alicante, Spain. Our bed and breakfast offering is an elegant and comfortable 'get away' destination for peace and quiet, rest, solitude and time to read and relax. A dinner service is available to our guests by arrangement. Our promise is 'Feeling at ease, feel's like home!' For a large part of the year the weather is perfect for soaking up the sun and enjoying the swimming pool or nearby beaches. In the few winter months the fire places ensure warmth for memorable cosy fireside moments. For the more energetic guests, the immediate surrounds are perfect for cycling and walking or if preferred Aigues town is a mere stroll away in order to access the delights of a typical Spanish village. Venturing a little further provides access to the nearby centres for some retail therapy and entertainment. Although Aigues is conveniently located, car rental would be important for guests wanting to explore the area. Hosts Ernest and Peter from South Africa have settled in Spain for the wonderful weather and relaxed lifestyle. 'We love the fact that everything is so close here yet far enough too. It is only a short drive down to the seaside and nearby towns. It is equally wonderful to return to the peace and quiet. We hope to welcome you at this special destination, our haven on the Mediterranean.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finca El Otero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing