We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Priceline
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Booking.comUS$57
Trip.comUS$429
Expedia.comUS$61
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,189)
Filter reviews
3,189 results
Traveller rating
2,182
754
199
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,182
754
199
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zeus bar memories bar inclusive bar horizon bar mr golf buffet restaurant all inclusive guests khao lak elephant sanctuary the main hotel swim up room infinity pool all inclusive package james bond island deluxe room shuttle bus hermit crabs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,797 - 1,802 of 3,189 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My wife and I stayed from 4th January 2013 to 11th January 2013 at the Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa. First of all I want to remark we had booked the transferservice from Phuket Airport to the hotel, which the hotel offers for 1'700 Bath per way. We were picked up by a driver with a passenger car. Afterwards I can say this service was it worth. The distance from the airport to the hotel is roughly 100 kilometers. I think it's not realistic to find a taxidriver who will do the job for much less money.
The facility of the hotel ist mostly awesome. The lobby looks very clean and it's constantly engaged with a person from staff. Pedestrianways in the hotel area looks nice and are clean either. We didn't really use the pools but they seemed clean. The hotel owns two restaurants. We only tried the one at the beach. Quality of meal there it's ok, but nothing special. Otherwise it isn't a cheap decision to eat there. Because of this we often went to the beachrestaurant near the hotel. You only have to cross the little river to go there. In this restaurant you can find a basic dish for more or less 100 Bath. What I can recommend is the candle-light dinner who is held every wednesday. Another possibility to have meal outside of the hotel ist nearly 1 kilometer to the nord. If you walk along the beach-street, after passing two or three other hotels you will receive a cross-way. There you will find four restaurants where you can eat seafood or just local Thai food. In addition there is a little shop where you can buy water, cookies, bikins and other things you may need.
Unfortunately the beach in front of the hotel has been in a bad condition recently. I'm not a geographer but for me it looks like as the beach has eroded because of the tide. Likley the beach will become one day beautiful again. Another issue is the rubbish at the whole beach. I'm disappointed I never saw anybody from the staff cleaning the beach area. I saw the same piece of rubbish laying there during our whole stay and I guess the situation will not change. I hope the hotel managment will order his staff to clean the beach. I guess one hour a day by one employee would have a big effect.
Our room have delighted us very much. First of all we loved the bathroom, except the shower. However, I have to mention that the pressure of the waterpipe which supplies the shower sometimes was very low. The beds were huge and comfortable too.
People from staff were always polite and smile every time at you. I'm afraid to say that many times some of them were overextended with their tasks. Perhaps a reason is not all of them can speak English well enough to work in a international hotel. Otherwise it seems they really don't know, what they have to do. For example: At the breakfest a hostess with a pot of tea in her hand can pass over your table three times but she won't ask you if you want some tea. Everytime we wanted to have tea we had to go to the table on which tea and coffe were prepared and ask for service.
At our last days we enjoyed the spa in the hotel. We can absolutley recommend it. We had an aroma massage and it was a pleasure!
As a conclusion I can say about the Apsaras Beach Resort and Spa: It's a very nice hotel with sometimes overextended staff and a beach which has seen better days.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrDimSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I couldn't wait to get out of this hotel. The service was really bad - you had to wait a long time to get served both in the beach bar and also in reception. Reception was appalling actually. When I arrived (having just come from Bayfront Resort up the road, which was fantastic and would definitely go back there) there was no bell boy/ person to greet anyone and standing with all my luggage a taxi guy kindly helped me with my bags to reception where I stood for a long time before getting served. They seemed to be extremely busy but there were about 5 staff standing at reception busy doing nothing (lots of confused faces, shuffling papers etc). Others had been waiting a long time also. Many people had to virtually wave their hand in front of the staff to get any attention at all).

I was told the room was ready when it wasn't and in fact was missing any room service or food menu for the restaurants, any mention of activities and the mini bar was empty. I asked for it to be filled 3 times and every time I got 'ok' and then nothing happened. Eventually I went to reception and told them i had asked a number of times. Was expecting more from such an expensive hotel. Bayfront was half the price and so much better in terms of value.

The location (nice beach) is lovely although a fair way from town (15kms) and they don't offer a free shuttle service (its only 100 baht for a return trip), or free wi fi in rooms. They also don't do anything about people reserving chairs by the beach and pool and there is often no room.

The room itself was nice and very clean. The pool needs a thorough clean though - likened it to a public pool. Pretty dirty.

Would definitely not stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaursMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Met at the airport in Phuket and settled down for the two hour private car transfer.
Arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon and were greeted by the less than friendly lady-boy receptionist who's main interest it seemed was just to get a credit card imprint and send us on our way to the grand suite which we had booked. We were less than impressed when handed a key on a broken holder and taken to a room which was a little bit bigger than the hotel standard room,however the room did have a nice bath big enough for two as well as two showers one of them outside and one inside. The room itself was quite big but hardly meriting the title grand suite. The bathroom was well equipped but I was unhappy that every time one of us wanted to use the toilet we had to roll down the blinds from the bedroom so that you could at least have some privacy.We were booked in on all inclusive something quite new for Thailand and were quite pleased as we'd learned that costs had gone up in our resort. Breakfast restaurant was nice and airy outside but a bit stuffy inside it was out of season and the hotel has decided to forego its all inclusive buffet obligations in favour of choose something from the menu option something that ALL the guest were furious about as none of us had been told this in advance. Breakfast was identical every morning and this was the only buffet style meal offered. restaurant service varied from dreadful by a bad tempered waitress called Nong who would relish in slamming down cups of coffee spilling it that's if she even bothered to acknowledge you were in the restaurant and serve you the rest of the time she was scowling,she'd be great in the prison service. On the other hand Na (an absolute treasure)as well as most of the other staff gave great service and got to know us quite well as the hotel was not full . The drinks in the hotel were freely available until 11pm when you then had to pay for them,this kind of beats the meaning of all inclusive so at 1030 people would get a few drinks and drink them or take them to their rooms leaving the bar empty.
The hotel had a nice pool but as I mentioned to the hotel manager there were no rails and the steps into the pool were slippery and also the edge of the pool had a sharp edges which were quite dangerous especially to children. The hotel had free wifi only if you were in the reception area which was in the open and a haven for mosquito's, it was also not that great and so they would charge you for the privilege of using wifi in your room if you wanted to use it there.
The hotel was in a very isolated position but the hotel did have a bus into town which ran two or three times per day in either direction but you would have to buy a ticket,it was only after a lengthy conversation with the hotel manager that they agreed that guests staying the Grand Suite could use the bus for free.On day three of our stay I slipped on the tiles in the outside shower and hurt my back ruining the last few days of my holiday the hotel said that the hotel bus was not available but I could order a taxi to get me to the clinic in town , after I politely exploded they agreed the hotel driver would take me to the clinic at no cost.The day after they provided a slip mat and a get well soon card but still no grip rail, too little too late. If you did not stay at the Apsaras on All inclusive basis I understood food and drink to be quite pricey and so people took the last hotel bus to the town 20 minutes away and ate there and got a taxi back. We found the hotel to be too secluded and had some serious British standard health and safety issues I wonder if the hotel has a bulk stock of get well soon cards in case a balcony collapses.We considered using the spa at the hotel for massage etc but the cost was quite prohibitive so we used one of very many spas in tow which were a fraction of the cost. They have just built some new villas which were very hastily constructed,we were told we could have a special rate if we came back.....not even if was free.

Room tip: rooms are kept nice and clean nice views of the sea available in the grand suite and I use the term grand very loosely indeed. I really would not bother paying the supplement for the grand suite as it is just not worth the extra cost
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank famousactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The hotel is ok, food is good but the prices are at an European level. However, the corresponding cleanliness (rooms and restaurant) is not at the same level. An update of the rooms is needed. Free wifi is only available at the lobby and not in the rooms.

Room tip: The pool access is not worth the additional cost.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 497KevinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely location although a little bit out of the way if you like to get out and about. We were happy to get taxis from outside the hotel and then a local taxi back (around 300 thb) each way. There are some real value restaurants in Bang Niang and Khao Lak town Rusty Pelican and Viking were exceptional when you need a break from the lovely Thai cuisine!
Staff are so lovely and helpful although we felt hounded by the Bar Manager in the first week because be keeps trying to get you to go to his BBQs and seafood nights in the beach bar although they are not good value like restaurants outside of the hotel. He gave up in the second week when new people arrived and he could chase them around instead.
Breakfast got a bit repetitive after 2 weeks but it was fine, all the usual with a few Thai extras thrown in.
For chocoholics, no shops real close by and the minibar was only replenished for the first 2days and then nothing! So go up to 7 Eleven and buy your stash!
The big let down for me was allowing some nationalities to reserve sun beds early in the morning by just throwing a towel or scarf across 2 beds. The hotel guide says its not allowed but they do nothing about it. The last 2 days we went to the pool at 10 am and there were no beds free! but no one was there ! I asked reception if we could go and sit at the pool in the Apsaras Villas as it seems completely empty over there and a complete waste. So all in all a few improvements could be made but we still had a lovely time. Oh and the best find was Memories beach bar which is to the left of the hotel as you look out to sea. Ching the owner and his staff are so friendly and the food is such good value and gorgeous. The fruit shakes and cocktails are so good!

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LSWETTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews