We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Far East Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Masai
Vientiane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More than you expect”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have stayed in all levels of rooms at this hotel. All very good and great value .
The front desk people are very efficient and try to do as much as possible to help.
The hotel is overall very good value and is close to lots of places to eat and close to the commercial center.
There are all the shops one could want around and the hotel is in a very good position. I found it peaceful and safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foodie4sureVientiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husbands company put us in this hotel while he was on business for 8 days. The room size was good, tv was okay with about 15 working channels. Staff and housekeeping are very friendly and accommodating. Hotel is in a nice quaint location, opposite Tescos, Todays, McDonalds and Burger King. Its directly opposite the restaurant Usman which is very popular in the area and open 24 hours. Breakfast was good, usually a rice and noodle dish, toast, sometimes little sandwiches if you get there early enough. Our only complaint was that the wifi was very slow.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nmhatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Pay a little extra i got no comment. I booked the room with windows and is front-side facing car park. I slept well. Ya, internet sometimes LOW or Slow.... The cafe breakfast looks like is cutting cost ...... No more eggs, Fishballs, fried wanton, lontong..... Cafe staffs are friendly.... Front table reception are very helpful.

Room Tip: Front rooms with windows....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gagakhelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Room is small and reeks of cigarette smokes. Wifi is sometimes okay sometimes very weak. Receptionists are sometimes friendly, sometimes stiff. Buffet breakfast is provided with plain congee with 3 toppings, fried noodles, fried rice or nasi lemak, toasts, fried eggs and orange cordial. The housekeeping and cafe's staff are friendly though. The room rates are cheap but I can't stand the cigarette smokes. Avoid.

Room Tip: No tips, just avoid the hotel as they allow smoking in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickeechung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Masai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masai
3.4 mi away
De Sweet Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Peach Hill Hotel
Peach Hill Hotel
#2 of 9 in Masai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amansari Residence Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel De' Tees
Hotel De' Tees
#6 of 9 in Masai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Li Garden Hotel
#50 of 108 in Johor Bahru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swan Garden Hotel
Swan Garden Hotel
#64 of 108 in Johor Bahru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Far East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Far East Hotel

Property: Grand Far East Hotel
Address: No 10 Jalan Suria 9 | Bandar Seri Alam, Masai 81750, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Masai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Masai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Far East Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Far East Hotel is an established budget hotel in Bandar Seri Alam, Masai. We are just 5 mins drive from Pasir Gudang and 30 mins drive Johor Bahru city centre. Our hotel features 110 rooms from cozy standard rooms to large family suites that cater to the needs of our business and leisure travelers. We are conveniently located near various amenities such as banks, 7-Eleven, Tesco and many good eateries such KFC, McDonald. Burger King and Subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Far East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Far East Hotel Johor/Masai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing