We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamb Inn

The Lamb Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Chinley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A country pub in the Peak District serving hearty meals with real ales, continental lagers and great wines in a setting bestowing a 18th century inn now with en-suite bedrooms.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I know whenever I am going to eat at this restaurant the service and food will be second to none.
The Lamb Henry is superb and I must try other dishes!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    97
    32
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Homely, well cooked pub food. Wide choice of food on the menu, value for money and charming little pub, would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Poll8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, especially the steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We went on Friday night - a party of 8. All of us had starters and mains. The starters were very good, the lamb kofta's and prawn cocktail are highly recommended. The crab starter was the least enjoyed, but still worth a try. 4 of us had steak rossini, and all loved it. I had sirloin which was great. Others had fish and chips (huge portion of fish), venison and lamb Henry. All the main courses were fantastic. We had no room for deserts, so can't comment. The food is restaurant prices, but worth it because it's quality food. The service was good, very attentive, helpful and friendly. No complaints from our party and we would go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jobieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice pub very homely ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Myself and a couple of friends visited the lamb inn last Weekend, The menu is on the pricey side for a standard pub, I had the 'lamb inn burger' which was nice but took a good 40 minutes to arrive, overall the bill came to £38 for 4 mains and 3 sort drinks. The staff were nice and polite and I would probably return.

Helpful?
Thank CHARLIEA1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely country pub experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a gorgeous meal, we missed the starter and had a main course and dessert. Malayan beef was just fantastic, very tender couldn't fault it, the chicken breast was probably too much, can you every say that but one breast would have been sufficient. Desserts were also excellent point for choice, washed down with a bottle of Argentinian Malbec can recommend it. Friday was pub quiz too so all in all a brilliant night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnsam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lamb Inn also viewed

Chinley, Derbyshire
Chinley, Derbyshire
 
Hayfield, Peak District National Park
Hayfield, Peak District National Park
 
Birch Vale, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing