We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oak Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Rhyll B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Oak Tree Lodge. We were looking for a relaxing few days away and that's exactly what we got.

We stayed in the Oak Leaf apartment and it was gorgeous. So much thought has gone into every little detail, from the furnishings and the decor through to the heated bathroom tiles. The room has a full kitchen and dining area as well as a separate lounge room with a fireplace. I would highly recommend paying the extra $10 for a firewood pack, as although there are also 2 heaters in the apartment there is nothing quite like a warm fireplace on a cold night. You can also select to have breakfast included and the owners leave everything you need for a hot breakfast in the fridge (e.g. eggs, bacon, fresh tomatoes, bread, jam etc). The lodge is located right near the water in Rhyll and it's a quick drive to all the main attractions on Phillip Island. All in all, it was the perfect weekend away and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Oak Leaf apartment is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yenniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theforeshore, Owner at Oak Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed all the special touches we included in the rooms. we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
57
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent the weekend in the Gate House Cottage. It is beautifully decorated and we had a very comfortable stay. The spa bath and log fire made our stay perfect and we felt truly content. The food for breakfast is fresh and you have everything you need. The hosts were friendly and relaxed and didn't try to rush us out. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theforeshore, Owner at Oak Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review, glad too hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife & I have just returned from a long weekend at Oak Tree Lodge, staying in the Oak Leaf Suite.
As described on the website, this really is a luxury B&B with beautifully appointed suites. Our suite was very clean and modern with great finishes. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need. The fireplace & firewood kit came in very handy.
The fridge was very well stocked with all that you need to prepare a big breakfast. Eggs, bacon, tomatoes, muesli, yoghurt, milk, juice, tea, coffee pods.
Hosts Anthony & Sue we're very friendly & helpful, even coming to our rescue with candles during a short power blackout.
I'd definitely recommend Oak Tree Lodge, I'm already looking forward to another weekend away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JasonShack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theforeshore, Owner at Oak Tree Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review, Glad to hear you had a great time and we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I Had a lovely weekend here with my parter. I wanted self contained, quiet accommodation and the acorn apartment ticked all the box's. We loved the very comfortable king sized bed, resort style bathroom and cottage kitchen with everything you could need. We arrived to find breakfast ingredients in the fridge and enjoyed being able to cook for ourselves and eat in the sun room. The owners have paid great attention to detail, everything is good quality. The apartment and gardens are beautiful. It's walking distance to the beach and 10min drive to Cowes, the main town. 5mim drive to the Purple Hen winery. I highly recommend Oak Tree Lodge.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FreshWaterFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Have just spent a wonderful 2 nights in the Gate House Cottage at the Oak Tree Lodge In Rhyll. The wow factor hits you as soon as you open the door and step inside. It has been beautifully furnished and decorated with quality sheets and towels and big windows looking out onto the beautiful garden. There is also a wood fire for those chilly winter nights. Breakfast supplies of bacon and eggs, bread, cereal, jam, juice and a coffee machine for you to cook yourself. And just a short walk to the shop or restaurants overlooking the water. A great spot for couples or for a group to stay. Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassafras, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just spent two nights in the Gate House Cottage at this recently opened B&B and what a lovely surprise. The minute we walked in we knew this was somewhere special - interesting layout, quality furnishings and so comfortable and welcoming. Delicious breakfast provisions and a lovely little kitchen completed the experience. The hosts have done a brilliant job and are very enthusiastic about their new venture - we wish them well and would love to return for a longer stay. Thank you Anthony and Sue.

Room Tip: We loved the Gate House Cottage but we saw all of the suites and would be happy to stay in any one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Gayle_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Took a flyer on a brand new B&B, the Oak Tree Lodge, in Rhyll. We ended up spending one night in the Oak Leaf room which is the center area in the main house. It was a wonderful stay.

The Oak Leaf room has great attention to detail, with a beautiful kitchen and dining area that perfectly suited the "breakfast" portion of the B&B. The owners did not cook the breakfast, instead providing coffee, tea, bread, eggs, bacon, milk, and juice for us to use on our own. All the kitchen appliances (pots and pans, pod coffee machine, refrigerator) were new and in great working condition.

As for the bed part of the B&B, it was great. We had a quiet bedroom in the back, separated from the sitting room by french doors, which had an adjoining three-quarter bath with standup shower. There is a nice sitting room in the front that has a small television and ipod-enabled radio, along with a couch. We weren't sure if the wood-burning stove in the room was available to be used, which would have made a nice touch. Parking was on-property; a little tight squeeze but it worked.

We also had the pleasure of meeting the Lodge's owners, who were incredibly friendly and personable and understandably proud of their new digs. They explained how the Lodge had gone through substantial renovations, and the careful touches they've provided to make the place feel warm and comfortable yet modern and updated were well-thought out.

This is definitely a nice and convenient place to stay for access to the famous Penguin Parade and Nobbies of Phillip Island (which are clear on the other side of the island, but still relatively easy to access by car ride). It's also walkable to the small beachfront town of Rhyll, which has a couple of good restaurants for dining.

Only suggestion is that they add wifi access to the rooms. It's nice to come to Phillip Island and unplug...just not totally unplug!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladodgerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyll
3.4 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
3.4 mi away
Holmwood Guesthouse
Holmwood Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.1 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clifftop Boutique Accommodation
3.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
4.5 mi away
Glen Isla House
Glen Isla House
#1 of 10 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Lodge

Property: Oak Tree Lodge
Address: 32 - 34 Walton St, Rhyll, Phillip Island, Victoria 3923, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Rhyll
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Tree Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Tree Lodge luxury accommodation offering an unforgettable experience of self-contained, luxury indulgence, situated in the quiet little village of Rhyll, Phillip Island. This property has period elegance with a contemporary twist overlooking an oak tree in an English garden setting. Oak Tree Lodge is luxurious and spacious, offering 4 stunning suites all with their own lounging areas, kitchens, bathrooms and all offering outdoor seating areas in a magical garden setting. All suites have their own separate entrances making oak tree lodge both convivial for large groups of friend or families, yet enabling each guest to enjoy the privacy of their own suite. All suites have reversed cycle air-conditioning / heating units and 3 have their own wood burning fires for extra warmth in winter. All suites offer either king or queen luxury mattresses offering you a wonderful night sleep There is a separate communal laundry for guests use, with a washer & dryer as well as ironing boards and irons in the each room. Oak Tree Lodge is warm and inviting for a romantic getaway and stylish & sophisticated for groups of friends, business retreat and wedding accommodation or for family groups. Three of the self-contained suites can be opened up via interconnecting doorways to provide for group bookings or familyies to enjoy their stay. For brides, Oak Tree Lodge is the perfect place to prepare for that special day. Our beautiful gardens are the perfect place for the wedding party photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oak Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing