We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay ,great music ,great food”
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyvourney
derry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay ,great music ,great food”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I recently stayed in the Abbey Hotel on a saturday night there was great craic in the bar, with a traditional session which included the hotel owner and friends, really relaxed atmosphere. We also ate in the hotel on the saturday night from the bar menu which had a great choice, and on sunday from the Carvery lunch, both meals were fabulous with generous portions. I would recommend this hotel. It is only 20 min drive from Killarney and a good start to either touring Kerry or Cork

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, Calif. USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We had a great time at the Abby. Arrived on the 8th and stayed until the 16th...Very centeral for us visiting family and even some golf and shopping. The staff were wonderful and helped us in many ways. Michael and Mary were so helpful with booking hotels for us on the way to Dublin.. It is a very family orientated hotel and great with children. The food was very good and plentiful.. Thank you for making our stay so nice. We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singleton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

If you are ever hungry on the main road between Cork and Killarney , The A bbey Hotel, Ballyvourney , is the place to stop off at. The bar menu is very reasonably priced and the portions are huge. The food is alwyas very good and served as requested..I stopped on a Sunday recently and they had a buffet type lunch which was lovely. The place was packed and the queqe moved very fast.Lots of locals eat there which to me is a great sign of good food and friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bracken_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We stayed here in April, the hotel is smelly, the corridors leading to the bedrooms smell absolutely horrible. The bedroom itself smelled of smoke. I didn't enjoy breakfast at all and didn't think the staff were very friendly. I don't think this hotel has any value for money and you would be best advised to book a B&B rather than stay at this Hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank feline_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 May 2003

The staff were friendly and efficient. The bedrooms where comfortable and very clean. The food was great, very tasty generous portions and served in very efficient manner. All round great value for money.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Property: Abbey Hotel
Address: Ballyvourney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballyvourney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyvourney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing