We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for travellers with Dogs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballymacoda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballymacoda B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for travellers with Dogs”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Castle Farm B&B is surrounded by amazing views, It is off the beaten track, and will be popular with travellers looking for peace and quiet. A car is essential as any local sights are a good half an hour away, Rooms are clean, but in need of being updated. The owners are extremley welcoming, friendly, helpful and very knowlegable of the area. This is the place for you if you want lovely views, a hearty breakfast, quiet, friendly welcome and dont mind basic facilities.

However, I would strongly reccomend not staying here if you have a pet dog. The website advertises this B&B as pet friendly with an outside 'dog kennel and run'. In the back of the house there is an exclosed outside area, uncovered and with concrete flooring without any grass, The dog kennel is the width and depth of an 'out house' but only half the height, which really isnt suitable for a dog to be shut in, This is also the only roofed area for the dog. I'd imagine the dog would be cold. Im afraid after seeing this we were unable to stay as we feared for the welfare of our pet. But if you dont have a pet with you, it should not discourage you from staying,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tammela, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The owner family is the friendliest and so helpful! The breakfasts were so good and the view to the light house. For us it was so nice to escape from the city noise and this place was just the right place for that. Of course this location is not for party animals, but for the people in need of peace and quiet this is really best what they can get. Without hesitation, I could recommend Castle Farm to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

On a cold December night, we arrived late at Castle Farm. Margaret had our room ready and toasty warm. The room was neat and clean and most comfortable although not spacious or luxurious. Upon waking up in the morning you are greeted by an amazing view of the ocean and the lighthouse. Breakfast with Margaret was superb. She began preparing our breakfast the night before. We had porridge along with a full Irish breakfast. Margaret was just a wonderful hostess and we look forward to seeing her again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenmar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Nice, clean, friendly, and a great value. Location is a little out of the way; the closest restaurant is a 15 minute drive. Our room had a very interesting shower, but the ocean view more than made up for it. Margaret made some great suggestions for places to visit. Overall, I highly recommend and would definately stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natochia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I stayed for 1 night here at Castle Farm Ballycrenane.We arrived on a very cold, windy and wet day but our welcome was very warm.Our room had a spectacular view to the ocean Ballycotton, and was neat and clean.In room we had tea and coffee and some nice biscuits to go with it.Breakfast in the morning was great. My wife had salmon and eggs and i went the whole hog and had the full Irish breakfast. Margaret was a real card and we wanted to take her home with us or just take her out dancing.She gave us her secret recipe for her Irish soda bread.Some nice drives around this area for short trips out.
Her directions for the next day towards Cork and the Titanic exhabition came in very handy. I recomend "the Thatch" 20mins or so by car for a meal next to an open fire place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views towards Ballycotton Bay amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robspunkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Decided to stay at Castle Farm as we were at a wedding in castlemartyr and we were glad we did. The location is lovely, with views over looking the sea and it is peaceful and quiet. Its about a 30 minute drive from Cork centre. The Margaret and Tom are extremely kind, friendly and helpful and we were greeted upon arrival with tea and scones. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it was directions, advice on places to go or asking us what time we wanted breakfast...not stating we HAD to be down at such and such a time. All round lovely people.
This isnt the most modern and up to date place however, please do not let that stop you staying here and if you looking for great Irish hospitality, comfy surroundings and lovely settings then you really should look no further.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danrelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granville, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My husband and I stayed with Margaret and Tom at their beautiful sea view bed and breakfast for 6 nights. Everything was excellent. When we arrived, their daughter was on hand to offer scones with jam and coffee/tea. The room had a gorgeous view of Ballycotton Bay and was a perfect size for just my hubby and I. The breakfasts were the best. Margaret is an excellent cook and makes a really yummy soda bread! Each day Margaret would help us plan our adventures for the day and at the end of the day or the next morning showed interest in how our day had gone. A wireless internet connection is available in the breakfast room and is free for guest use. Over all, we had a wonderful time and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyofWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymacoda
1.5 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
2.5 mi away
Kilmahon House
Kilmahon House
#2 of 5 in Shanagarry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Schooner Tavern
The Schooner Tavern
#2 of 4 in Ballycotton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Ballycrenane, Ballymacoda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballymacoda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymacoda
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing