We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud music kept us awake until after 1am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dunseverick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Causeway Tavern website makes no mention of the fact that the tavern has a late night licence for live music each and every weekend. This pop music woke us up around 11pm and got louder and louder. Sleep was impossible. At breakfast the next morning we found out that we were not the only guests to have had a disturbed night, and that one lady had been driven to go down to the bar in her pyjamas at 12.45am to ask when the noise would cease. We mentioned our concerns to the landlady who tried to blame the noise on a marching band that had been outside the tavern for a while the previous evening. It was the noise INSIDE that kept us all awake. A second night had been booked, but, not surprisingly, we checked out and found a tranquil B and B in nearby Ballycastle.

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep, don't stay at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

A last minute decision to take advantage of the good weather and the "12th" holiday" had us trawling the internet looking for somewhere to stay. Most places on the North Antrim coast were booked up but we came across this Inn. What a find, as well as being great value for money the Causeway Tavern provides excellent accommodation, friendly hosts, superb breakfasts and great craic !
Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The B&B is near Giants causeway, Bushmills distillery and a lot of other attractions and nice places on the northern border on the coast of antrim. Also, the bartender / owner told us about a few of the filming locations of Game of Thrones that are near, like the harbour Ballintoy :D

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rggjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Very convenient for Giant's causeway, Bushmills, Antrim coast etc One of the best breakfasts ever in a hotel; large portions of quality ingredients, made to order. Sets you up for the whole day - just a pity they don't do any other meals. In a tiny hamlet that isn't particularly attractive. We had a double room which was a tad on the small side - should have gone for the twin which was much bigger. Very chatty owner and handyman/cook. Be aware the music on weekends goes on to about one o'clock.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

There is a B&B here, but we only went to the bar whilst staying in the village. Sadly there were not many customers in there, but we had a great night, great service from the bar, and a night on the pool table. Reasonable prices behind the bar too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

If you are looking for a charming/romantic B&B with elegant decor and modern fixtures, this isn't it. The rooms are not that attractive and the beds could use new mattresses, BUT, they are clean and relatively comfortable and if you just need a place to lay your head and shower in the morning, it's an ideal location for area attractions. My son wasn't all that impressed, but I have stayed in a lot worse. Charlie, the bartender, was very friendly and the pub attached is cozy and fun with live music the night we were there. The breakfast was lovely and I have no problem recommending them as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sseaton68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I've just stayed at the causeway b&b, and felt I owed it to the friendly owners to write a review, the room was of a decent size, clean, fresh and homely. The bathroom was adequate and the shower had fantastic pressure, the most impressive thing was the hosts knowledge of the local area and coastline, and their genuine friendliness. The breakfast was excellent, and the choice on offer quite extensive. From cereal, yogurt, fruit to a massive full Irish fry up. Fresh cafetiere coffee or tea, fresh fruit juice. At what time you wish. Overall a really homely friendly good place to stay that doesn't hit the wallet to much. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed, and quite of a night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunseverick
2.2 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
807 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,886 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
1.9 mi away
Smugglers Inn
Smugglers Inn
#10 of 27 in Bushmills
389 reviews
2.8 mi away
PortCaman House
PortCaman House
#13 of 27 in Bushmills
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast

Address: 241 Whitepark Road, Dunseverick, Bushmills BT57 8SP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Dunseverick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dunseverick
Price Range: £57 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Causeway Tavern B&B is a licensed establishment located at the heart of the causeway coast 2.5 miles from Bushmills. We have 6 rooms all ensuite we are family run and pride ourselves in trying to bring the best service to our customers. Ideally located for the exploring tourist, close to Giants Causeway, Bushmills whiskey distillery and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge and many more attractions.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast Bushmills/Dunseverick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing