We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dunseverick B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have just left this b&b and we really enjoyed our visit! The people who run the b&b are very helpful, friendly and nice people. We were travelling with a 20 month old and all her needs were catered for with a couple of really nice extra bits from the very thoughtful Michaela! Even though we arrived on a Saturday with live music in the evening downstairs, we could barely hear it from our room and had no issue getting bubs to sleep, or her staying that way. The breakfast is completely brilliant, on all 3 mornings:-) also, the location is excellent for the Giants Causeway, Dunluce Castle and the Rope Bridge. Our room was very clean on arrival and was cleaned to a very good standard every day we were there. I'd recommend this b&b, it was great value for money and perfect for our needs!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    33
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

went for weekend with friends, did not drive and unaware where it was, not on regular bus route and taxi's also very limited. Owners came to the rescue and drove us from A to B (Bushmills) both days ( 2 trips required as there were 8 of us). They also went and and got takeaway food for us on first evening which we will be eternally grateful for. Very friendly lovely people and great craic. It maybe an old pub/ B&B but rooms were spotless and breakfast awesome, best breakfast we ever had in our experience. The entertainment on the Saturday night was brilliant and we all agreed, the best weekend we have had in a long time. Will definitley go back but will drive next time as car is essential. Excellent value for money

Room Tip: family rooms supplied with 4 single beds so excellent for sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed one night, and thought it was expensive, although the area generally is expensive anyway, living off the world heritage status. This is a pub with rooms, it says bistro on the outside, but there was no food on offer in the evening, and very few customers in the pub, so suspect the bistro is no longer operating. The room was clean, although a bit stuffed with furniture, clearly a family room. The shower was temperamental, running hot and cold, but after we mentioned it, that seemed to get sorted out. The radiators were also temperamental, given that the one in the room could not be turned off, and the one in the bathroom could not be turned on. The room and bedding and bathroom were clean. There were some old magazines in a drawer left presumably by previous guests, which needed to be binned. We were a little surprised to be asked to order the next mornings breakfast in the evening, but breakfast is what redeemed this place in our opinion, because it was lovely, well cooked, plentiful, and tasty.

Room Tip: nice view from the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egyptians5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

wee stayed in this family run bed and breakfast for 10 days wee had a warm welcome from the moment wee arrived the family are very helpfull and offered to take us sightseeing no charge the rooms are cleaned to a high standered and breakfast was great am writing this in responce to valerie c aye would like to ask what kind of trip were you really on your comments are completly untrue and unfair and if you think the price was unfair there is other bnb in the area so why not leave straight away? wee did not want to leave wee loved every minuet at the causeway tavern and wee certainly will return if you want a warm friendly bnb then the causeway tavern is the place to be .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for the weekend in June as we were doing some walking around The Giants Causeway. The Tavern was easy to find (from space I would imagine with the colourful external decoration).
We were greeted and shown our room which was at the back of the hotel so all we faced were some trees. It was clean and compact but it had everything we needed and some things we didn't (there were some clothes and underwear in one of the drawers in the chest!). The en-suite shower room was small but again everything was there that we needed, even some shower gel that had been left behind (they have a table outside the rooms that has all the leftovers from people - nice touch that costs nothing). The towels were clean and soft and the bed was comfy and clean.
The Tavern is in need of a makeover, I appreciate it's an old pub but I don’t think what was there is really what the traveller wants, they at least want a comfortable Tavern that doesn’t look like it needs a makeover. Don't get me wrong it seemed clean and I don’t doubt that it gets busy but it just too cluttered. There were some previous comments about the noise from the live music at weekends. It does say on the website that this noise is there. If it bothers you that much then go down and join in then it won't keep you awake.
The breakfast was awesome. We had to walk a lot to walk off what we ate and the continental breakfast was really sweet and well thought out. There was a great choice of juices, yoghurts, preserves.
We had a really good time for the 2 days we were there. We only paid £27.50each per night and for that money it was exceptional. Next year, for the same time of year the charge is £40 each but still a more than fair charge for what you get and where you are.
Would I recommend the Inn to others - yes but remember what you are paying and and what you are getting, I think it is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roleb5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Enjoying a road trip with my family and visiting the Giants Causeway, we decided to stay overnight and booked into the Causeway Tavern.
My advice would be to keep driving!!!
Over priced and the room was horrible.
There were dirty towels in the wardrobe, the bin in the bathroom hadn't been emptied and I actually didn't even want to get in the bed.
The bathroom had an awful stench and if it wasn't so late and we weren't so tired from our days travelling we would have walked out.
The shower was clean and that's the only compliment I could give.
Breakfast was fine the next morning but the dining room was eerily quiet, all you could hear was the scraping of plates and the few guests chewing their food.
The only good thing I have to say is we had a great laugh after we left about what a disaster this place was.
It's safe to say I will never return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Reassuringly spotless and thoughtfully arranged the Tavern staff went out of their way to accommodate our group (which included three teenagers, mum, dad and granny!). Everyone enjoyed our stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgranemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunseverick
2.2 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
733 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,748 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
1.8 mi away
Carnside Guest House
Carnside Guest House
#10 of 27 in Bushmills
117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Causeway Lodge
Causeway Lodge
#1 of 2 in Dunseverick
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast

Property: Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast
Address: 241 Whitepark Road, Dunseverick, Bushmills BT57 8SP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Bushmills > Dunseverick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dunseverick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Causeway Tavern B&B is a licensed establishment located at the heart of the causeway coast 2.5 miles from Bushmills. We have 6 rooms all ensuite we are family run and pride ourselves in trying to bring the best service to our customers. Ideally located for the exploring tourist, close to Giants Causeway, Bushmills whiskey distillery and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge and many more attractions.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Tavern Bed & Breakfast Bushmills/Dunseverick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing