We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely comfy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Harbour at Ballintoy where much of Games of Thrones filming took place.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harbour at Ballintoy where much of Games of Thrones filming took place.
Kitchen with dining table. Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Harbour at Ballintoy where much of Games of Thrones filming took place.
Kitchen with dining table.
Cosy lounge
Causeway Coast Porthole Cottage in summer
Whitepark Beach
Giant's Causeway
Portrush Harbour
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Sunset - Whitepark Beach
Ideal photo opportunities
Mussenden Temple, Downhill. Favoured beauty spot for wedding photos.
Rock formations - Whitepark Beach
Beach is constantly changing
Porthole window which gives the cottage its name
National Trust, Whitepark Bay
Portbraddan - just around the corner from Whitepark Bay
Double bedroom
The neighbours!!
How to start the day!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunseverick, Bushmills, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kath t
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely comfy cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Four of us had a lovely week's stay in this comfy cottage. Situated off the road and in an ideal place for visiting all the visitor attractions along the Causeway coast and beyond. The cottage is spotlessly clean ,cosy ,roomy, and well equipped The beds are comfortable. Good shower over the bath which is very easy to use. There is a a large area outside the cottage for parking . Absolutely no comlaints about this lovely quiet cottage and we woud be happy to return again. Oh and the sofa in the living room has to be one of the comfiest I have ever sat on!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Kathleen, thank you for that very positive review on Porthole Cottage. I note you were very happy with our new shower which was fitted just a week or two before you arrived. From a hosts point of view you were the ideal guests, taking great care of cottage and leaving it in lovely order for the next party. Hope you will make it to N Ireland sometime again soon.
Take care,
Kind regards to all
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnieand...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent cottage”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

my wife and myself stayed in port hole cottage from the 9/7/16 to the 16/7/16. This is a nice cottage very comfortable and spacious it is very handy for all major tourist attractions and we will return at some stage for another stay. This cottage is highly recommended for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Ronnie, Thank you for that very positive review. We are delighted when guests enjoy their stay and let spread the word about Porthole Cottage. There is nothing better than personal recommendation. Look forward to having you back sometime in the near future.
Best regards
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
92heather
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideally situated for sightseeing and walks”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Comfortable, clean and cosy. We would recommend this cottage as a great stay.
Only slight drawback is the poor water pressure in the shower.
We loved our stay in Northern Ireland. Thank you Margaret.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Heather and Duncan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Porthole Cottage and also for taking such good care of the cottage. We note what you say about the shower and will have it attended to asap.
Best regards
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icookdvm
Barrie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base from which to explore the Causeway Coast”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Comfortable, clean, inviting cottage very well located walking distance from White Park Bay and a short drive to Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede. LOVED the sitting area with a beautiful real fire we used each night. Well equipped kitchen and nice rooms. Margaret met us at the cottage and was a delight

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: Lack of a view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Greetings Ian and Family,
Thank you for taking the time to review Porthole Cottage. We love our cottage and enjoy sharing it with others. After all the emails prior to your visit - meeting you was akin to welcoming an old friend!!! I wish you a safe journey back home to Canada. Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
Antrim
1 review
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at porthole cottage for weekend whilst attending a wedding in the area.
Margaret was lovely, even staying on to greet us when our arrival was delayed.
Beautiful Aga heating system and open fire made the house as cosy as could be hoped for.
Great accommodation and had a great stay. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Paul, Appreciate your kind comments. It was lovely to have such nice friendly guests come to stay. Hope to see you again sometime.
Best regards
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarke H
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a great weekend here, cottage very well equipped, cosy and comfortable. The aga is incredible! Thanks for a lovely time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Hi Clarke, Really appreciate you taking the time to comment on Porthole Cottage - we are always delighted when our guests enjoy their time with us. Sorry I didn't get to meet you, but perhaps I will on another occasion.
Best regards
Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanMac140...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful tidy cottage with Stunning Views”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Although a little difficult to find initially (a number 19 on the telegraph pole would help) this is a fantastic country cottage with a lovely host, Margaret. It is clean and tidy throughout with copious amounts of hot water for 4 - great kitchen to cook at home if you want to and a lovely atmosphere.

My kids aged 11 & 14 didn't miss the wifi at all as we were able to play cards and chat in the kitchen and the sleeping arrangements were great for 4.

We used the cottage as a base to visit family living in Coleraine and to see the usual tourist sites all around.

Many thanks for our stay - every day to see the stunning views made our holiday

Ian, Caelan, Briannah and Auntie Jenny

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the views
Liked least: The shower - i would put in a power shower (very minor issue)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Ian and Family
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful review on Porthole Cottage. We really appreciate feedback from our guests and it helps others make a decision and feel confident when booking.
Kind regards to all.
Margaret and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing