We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Slow Service”

The South American Grille and Wine Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Reflecting the classic elegance of a famed Great Lakes cruise ship, this lounge offers a variety of wines by the glass and classic cocktails.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food, Slow Service”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We took our two teenagers there for dinner. We found it to look nothing like the picture that is posted on Trip Advisor.It does look out over the bay and does have outside seating. Our waiter was very friendly and quickly took our drink and food order. He refilled out drinks several times. It took an extremely long time to receive our food. Our waiter apologized several times for the slowness. Once the food came, we all were delighted. The salads were fresh and the soup fantastic. The sandwiches which our kids ordered were also very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyoffourplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This also looks out over the lake and has a patio, the service was great, Adam's band is always a treat to listen to. Sports fans, they do have more than one large screen tv to get your fix.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank batesl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Class meets taste”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Finally! One of these yuppy centered resturants finally got it right! The food and atmosphere are both elegant. The lighting is perfect. Occasionally they have live entertainment like a piano bar. We have gone a few times and its out favorite date night dinner spot. Love the lamb lollipops, lobster flatbread, and seasonal salads. Sweet potato fries, and truffle oil fried fries are great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbommarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous view, great drinks, attentive staff, and wonderful food! I had the italian flatbread which was excellent, a must is the Michigan Bloody Mary! I will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaTrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great White North
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun & Good Food in a stuffy, pretentious LUXURY RESORT”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Bay Harbor LUXURY RESORT complex bespeaks EVERYTHING about the '90's Boom that fizzled so disasterously. The Sagamore Restaurant in the LUXURY Bay Harbor Inn (a direct rip-off of Disney's Grand Floridian Resort, which is itself a direct rip off of ...) but we must stay on point, no? So, the Sagamore is fairly priced to not, and so stuffy, .... ugh, we're supposed to be on vacation. But relief is at hand right across the lobby in the South American Grille and Wine Bar, which this year offers not only its own 'Pub' Menu but also that of Sagamore as well. The food is very good to (sometimes) excellent. The other night we enjoyed the burger w/swiss cheese and homemade saratoga chips cut two ways, a novel and thoughtful presentation, and the 4 cheese Italian grilled cheese sandwich with added-by-request Plath's bacon (Plath's is a Petoskey specialty charcuterie ... ok, they specialize in pork, but up here in the Great White North, what are ya' supposed to do?), a sandwich so generous i can always eat 1/2 and take 1/2 home for lunch another day. And so good! The name of the bar comes from the SS South American, a Great Lakes Tourist steamer that used to cruise from Chicago and stop at ports like Charlevoix, I remember it from when I was a little kid .... in the early 50's. There is a beautiful replica model of the ship above the always lit fireplace, there are beautiful views of Lake Michigan, the sunsets at night, and in season you can dine on the patio, enjoy the fresh breezes, people watch the 'swells' who can afford to and enjoy the luxury the hotel offers - we admit, we have stayed there, pretentious place, YES, enjoyable, YES, representatively priced, YES, not for us but nothing wrong with enjoying yourself, if this is your cup-of-tea, it is a marvelous place - and it is always a good time, with thoughtful, attentive service and a VERY GOOD TIME, for a price. A fair price, it's just pricey. Why didn't I rate it 5 stars? Not because it is not in fact excellent, and up here, in the GWN, it probably is 5 stars. But it's clearly not what it clearly would be if it were located in, say, Naples, FL or Del Mar, CA,; we're in the north woods up here, and the South American recognizes that to a point. Also, it's not like the St. Regis in Aspen, absolutely 6 or 7 stars on a 1-5 scale but which is also so over the top and a little bit a "fish-out-of-water" out there, in my opinion. You will be very comfortable and happy at the SS South American; we revisit time and time again. Go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank essexofwessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The South American Grille and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Bay Harbor, Petoskey
Bay Harbor, Petoskey
 
Bay Harbor, Petoskey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing