We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”

The South American Grille and Wine Bar
Cuisines: American
Description: Reflecting the classic elegance of a famed Great Lakes cruise ship, this lounge offers a variety of wines by the glass and classic cocktails.
Restaurant details
Description: Reflecting the classic elegance of a famed Great Lakes cruise ship, this lounge offers a variety of wines by the glass and classic cocktails.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good food and service at the Renaissance Hotel with a view of the lake. It was nice and convenient since we were staying at the hotel.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice patio, good choice of sandwiches.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good food considering the rest of the hotel. Good service and friendly staff; grab a table outside. Wife had grilled cheese and I had the burger.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Uraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We ate out on the patio and the view of the lake is wonderful. Menu was limited, but our sandwiches were good. The server did his best, but you could tell they were short staffed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“THE place to take out of town guests”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room and view are unmatched in Northern Michigan. Bring your friends from away and they will be awed by the sunset, grounds, and food. I used to go here a while back but found the food a little pricey. They have since changed the menu to more than small plates. Five of us loved our meals. The standout, however, was the whitefish. I am not a fan of whitefish. It is mushy and without flavor. This is how whitefish should be done. Don't order it anywhere else after eating here. You will be disappointed. Also, the chicken-chorizo nachos are great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wixom, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellant service and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We shared a bottle of wine outside and watched the sun fade over Lake Michigan. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly. We moved inside for dinner and again she really went out of her way to make us comfortable. The food was outstanding!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ssksburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The South American Grille and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Bay Harbor, Petoskey
Bay Harbor, Petoskey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing