We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many hreat choices and combo's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Magana - CLOSED

Cafe Magana
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So many hreat choices and combo's”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Love the decor, the consistancy and the food. You can mix and match anything, and the changing specials are always a good bet.
To die for milkshakes, onion rings and meatloaf. Extensive book,exchange so drop by a well read english title and take a new one home. One of my favorite go to places Lakeside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

First of all, I just love the small funky cafe vibe, feels like home. Best of all, I love the carrot ginger soup, so much that I tried to replicate it at home...epic fail. The roast beef is so tender and amazing, I don't know how Jeffrey does it. Ribs are very , very good...my pick for the best in town. Love all of the special sauces. Book exchange is a major bonus.
Jeffrey is charming , a bit of a character. This is one of my favorite restaurants in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Chapala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

If I had a restaurant, this would be it! The signs all over the place (and on the menus) telling people what the 'rules of the house' are, the lending library...it's wonderful, and I think a lot of fun. Jeffrey, the owner, is a delight, and every time we've gone there with a child, he treats the child as if they're the most important person at the table, even crouching down to their level.

Now all of this would be fine, but if the food was bad, we wouldn't go back. I love the hamburger...I would put it up against any hamburger in the area. Their pasta is awesome, and being from Kansas City, we're really barbeque snobs, and we really enjoy their barbeque and the selection of sauces they give us. The meat loaf is definitely a reminder of home. If they had mac & cheese, I would probably never eat anywhere else! It's down-home comfort food, and with all their little nooks and crannies, you can eat in quiet while you read one of their many books. But, don't forget, if you get a book, you better bring a book! Enjoy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyFeet_Ajijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and Jeffrey is the best!!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Everything on the menu is great. Jeffrey, the owner, is a hoot. There's always a soccer game on the TV.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emery o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
249 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best Meatloaf at Lakeside”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

If you like meatloaf, this is the place to go. The mashed potatoes are real and outstanding. Prices are reasonable. Service is good and a little funky. Magana has the largest lending library outside of LCS.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Magana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing