We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds and tables overlooking the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Iguana en la Piedra

La Iguana en la Piedra
Ranked #22 of 44 Restaurants in Chapala
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Zona llamada de la piedra barrenada, conocida por todo lugareño, se encuentra a la orilla del lago de Chapala en el tramo de Chapala a Jocotepec.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and tables overlooking the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This open-air restaurant is open from noon to 7:00, tends to be very crowded on the weekends, but almost empty during the week. The menu is largely fish and seafood with a few steak options and chicken fajitas. To start, we were served toasted tortillas with fresh salsa and a spicy second salsa as well. One of us ordered the fish Veracruzano style, with olives, onions, and tomato sauce. The firm white fish was very large and perfectly prepared, served with a very fresh salad made of various lettuces, tomato, carrot, and cucumber; the plate also had a large wedge of watermelon and a toasted bread slice. Some have commented that the prices seem high, but the portions are very large and the setting has to be worth something.

This place has an identical menu as Bambu, a few doors away.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    11
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Precious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very good place to hang out and have a good meal...the view is amazing and the food is pretty good...have to say is better with family

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank superapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My Favorite of the Piedra Restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

La Iguana has a charm that is lacking in some of the other "fish" restaurants located along this strip of Lakeside restaurants. The one thing I do not like is that one must pay for valet parking, it is not based on gratuity. The food is consistently good, it is a favorite of Guadalajara families who come here to celebrate special events. This is a seafood restaurant however, they do serve excellent chicken fajitas and the drinks are good. I come here with my Mexican "family" to celebrate birthdays and Christmas. There is always "almost" too much food. My particular favorites are shrimp and huachanango or red snapper. Often on weekends there are roaving mariachi bands.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank windsorcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Had lunch here on 07 April, 2013. We could not have been more disappointed. The staff was disinterested. The food was borderline horrible. The beer was served at almost room temperature. Our waiter had all the personality of a bar of soap. One of the worst meals I've had in a long time.

On the plus side... The restaurant is clean and the view is very nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The worst dinner in years for 6”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were a group 3 couples and the restaurant was recommended by one of the couples. The restaurant was very quiet and few customers. We ordered drinks initially, some having Margaritas and water. We ordered our main courses, two had a shrimp dish, one salmon, one chicken Fajita and I ordered the Sirloin steak medium rare, non were cheap meals. When my steak arrived, the steak was over cooked, tough and the whole meal was cold. I sent the steak back asking again for medium rare, this time it arrived very rare and with the same other cold vegetables etc. I did not eat the meal and just let it sit on the table. In discussion with the other attendees, they all had cold meals and very poorly cooked. This restaurant has no excuse for this extremely poor quality if meal and we will never visit it again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryrdBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Iguana en la Piedra also viewed

 

Been to La Iguana en la Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing